We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Going that extra Mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Bedford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Going that extra Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have recently returned from a holiday in Canada where we stayed for three nights at the Banff Caribou Lodge. We found it very comfortable and the service was very good and the hotel was in a good position and not too close to downtown Banff but near enough to enjoy a stroll to the shops etc. We really enjoyed the breakfast and dinner choices in the Keg in fact it suited us better than anywhere else we stayed in Canada.

After Banff we went on a Brewster tour and ended up in our next holiday destination Jasper. On the way I realised I had misplaced my mobile phone and wasn't sure whether I had left it behind or what I had done with it. We told the Brewster coach driver and he said that if it was at the Caribou Lodge it could be arranged for the following day's tour coach driver to pick it up and bring it to our hotel in Jasper.

We contacted the Caribou Lodge as soon as we got to Jasper and received a phone call a short while after to say that my phone had been found and they would take it to the bus depot in Banff so that it could be put on the right coach in the morning. My phone duly arrived in Jasper the following evening.

What can I say but a big Thank You to both the Caribou Lodge and Brewsters.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, and I am very pleased to hear that you were returned your mobile phone in a timely manner. I will be sure to forward your thanks to Brewster as well. In hopes of perhaps welcoming you back to our town in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    706
    242
    91
    31
See reviews for
320
907
64
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a fly-drive in Canada. Very comfortable and good service. Ideal for exploring Banff and its environs - although we did drive to get to downtown Banff. Watch the parking in Banff - I picked up a $50 ticket. Excellent steak in the Keg restaurant and handy free coffee in the lobby in the morning made it all seem very friendly. Did not have breakfast here but lots of diners in Banff serving good breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly99London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a room with two queen beds at the back of the hotel. It was nicely decorated and there was plenty of space. There wasn't a view but we weren't there to spend lots of time in the room! There is complementary access to the hot pool and sauna which was really appreciated after a long day hiking! The hotel is a fair walk to town - about 15 to 29 minutes I'd say, but the hotel gives you free bus passes so you can use the bus all over town. Breakfast and dinner were average, I'd choose to eat in town next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Caribou Lodge for 11 nights in July. The room was a reasonable size and equipped with a small refrigerator, kettle and coffee maker with daily complimentary coffee. More wardrobe space would have been good - there was no wardrobe, just a hanging rail about 30cm long for a room that sleeps four people. The housekeeping was of a good standard. The hotel has a beautiful spa; the spa staff were very professional and although the treatments were fairly pricey I found them to be of a good standard. A large hot tub is attached to the spa area, which is lovely for relaxing after a day of hiking, though there's no swimming pool. The Keg Restaurant is in the hotel and offers excellent steak and seafood as well as a nice buffet breakfast, there's also a bar attached and outdoor patio. The hotel is located on Banff Avenue, around a ten minute walk from downtown Banff; though guests are also provided with free passes for the local Roam bus that runs frequently around Banff. These passes expired every 3 days and were renewed at the reception desk. We found Banff to be an excellent base for exploring the national park, with lots to do day and night. We were amazed by the speed at which work had been carried out to repair damage to the highway and some trails after the recent floods and found Banff town to be very much business as usual.

Room Tip: Corner rooms appear to be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forty-somethingUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had originally booked in for 2 nights but as soon as we checked in we knew that this would be our one and only night. We got a balcony room with a serene view from the back of the building, but we had to open the balcony door as soon as we got in. The room was hot and stuffy (there was no air conditioning). The small fan offered some cooling but was noisy. We couldn't leave the door open when we left for dinner so we had to shut/lock the balcony door when we left.
Bathroom: although spacious and clean, the toilet was very slow to flush and a few times, we thought it may overflow. The temperature knob for the shower came off when my husband went to turn off the water! He managed to turn it off using the stem in the wall, but that was a bit of surprise.
Bedding: The comforter smelt stale and the pillows had the smell of sweaty heads. I think its time to retire them after this long hot summer.
I called the front desk that night before we retired to tell them we were checking out the next day and why. They offered to send up a maintenance man for the plumbing, but we had already had a long day and were leaving early, so we took a pass.
The Keg was the highlight, and our server Michelle was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Large hotel on main strip, a little distance from downtown but easily walkable or you can use the free bus pass issued by the hotel if you check the times carefully - get bus map and timetable from visitor centre and buses - we also used it to travel to Sulphur Mountain.

Hotel a bit impersonal as it was so big.The room was large, comfortable, clean and well-furnished. Plus points were a large bathroom and a table, chairs and armchair. Useful selection of books near laundry. Minus point was the lack of air-conditioning, they provided a small fan but we didn't use it as it was noisy. We had the window open on a lock all the time but as we were near the ground it didn't feel particularly secure. Also the TV had a poor quality picture. But free wifi good.

Would have been good to have a convenience store nearby, nearest one was at garage.
Banff very good for picturesque walks from the town - we were travelling without a car. Very impressed by Brewster Shuttle bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, and I am sorry if we missed an opportunity to make your stay better. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly if you should wish to discuss this further, we appreciate any feedback we can get as we strive constantly to improve where needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent three nights during our stay in Banff. The hotel is very comfortable and has the true mountain lodge feel. It is easily walkable to downtown but the the hotel offers free bus passes into town and also to the popular Banff gondola. If you have a car the hotel has free underground parking. The onsite Keg restaurant was very good for breakfast with both buffet and menu options. These were reasonably priced for Banff and the portions were huge! The hotel has a number of linked hotels and restaurants nearby. We ate at both Chilli's and The Meat Ball during our stay and had two excellent evening meals.

All in all a highly recommended hotel if staying in Banff. Would love to return in the winter to see it in all its glory in the snowy mountain setting.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing