We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Banff Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Davis, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Banff Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

An excellent place to stay in Banff away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. The rooms were small but had many good features including lots of hooks to hang hats, coats, towels and robes. The Keg room restaurant was noisy but the service and food were top notch. A small negative was the
uncertain feeling in the elevators when they seemed to yoyo.

Room Tip: Room away from main drag quieter. Small negative, elevators tended to yoyo. Room most comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    746
    262
    103
    34
See reviews for
341
970
67
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights with my wife. The hotel provides free wi-fi and parking, and also free local calls. The hotel room was very modern, spacious and clean, and the decor was in keeping with the character of the hotel, although it did not have air conditioning. We booked a double room which had a very large and comfortable double bed, as well as a very handy fridge and seating area. The hotel also provides a laundry room with washing and drying facilities, the washing machine is $2 and the dryer is $1, there is also a vending machine selling washing powder at $2 for one wash. We found this very handy, especially as the machines were quick and efficient. We booked on a room-only basis, but we decided to have breakfast in the hotel on one of the mornings. The hotel provided an excellent buffet style breakfast with continental choices as well as bacon, sausages, scrambled egg, eggs Benedict, breakfast potatoes, french toast, pastries etc for $16, there was also an a la carte menu available for breakfast. The hotel restaurant, The Keg, was excellent. When we dined in the restaurant we were unaware that this is a chain of restaurants. I had a steak, which was cooked to perfection, whilst my wife chose the salmon, which was again cooked perfectly. The staff were very friendly and obliging, and nothing was too much trouble. Our waiter, Keith, could not have been more helpful, he was very knowledgeable, advising us about which steak to choose, as well as offering us tips and hints about the local sights and attractions. He even took me on a guided bike ride the following day, when he realised that I was a keen mountain biker! He greatly added to our experience and enjoyment of staying in this hotel. In general all of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyward76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
289 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights after getting off the Rocky Mountaineer train and picking up our rental car.

It is one of many hotels, some very similar in design (one day we drove into the underground car park of another similar hotel just down the road thinking it was ours!!), along the one main road in Banff.

It was a very nice room, the restaurant had a nice buffet breakfast, and we had one dinner there too. Staff were friendly and helpful. There are lovely early morning sunrise views of low clouds clinging to the mountains around you.

This was an enjoyable start to our driving tour of the Canadian Rockies.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

A cozy, luxurious spot to retreat to after a day of walking around downtown Banff. From the beautiful, peaceful to the extremely comfortable beds and spacious upscale bathrooms...this hotel delivers. I had mentioned that it was my birthday trip and they even surprised me with a handwritten card and complementary bottle of champagne. Wonderful huge hot tub attached to the nice gym/spa. Wonderful experience all around. I'll be back for SURE! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having read some bad reviews of this motel , we were a bit nervous of staying here. But our stay could not have been better. The lodge is situated about a 10 minute walk from Banff centre and as you walk into Banff you pass all the other motels which are situated all along the main street.
The motel staff were polite and very helpful and check in was really quick and efficient. The motel also has a Keg Steakhouse which looked nice and a large lobby which serves free coffee every morning which was a nice touch.
To be honest walking into Banff all the motels looked the same standard and Banff itself was very pretty and had a lot of shops and places to eat at. The motel rooms were very clean and had a lot of space. Would recommend staying here to anyone , but the main attraction are the Rocky Mountains and Banff itself which were simply stunning.
The only reason I didn't give the Lodge five stars is the noise some guests make in the early mornings when they are leaving the motel. Usually when you leave hotels early in the morning you try and be as quiet as possible , but for some reason guests were shouting at each other and laughing which you could hear really clearly. But you cannot hold the motel responsible for guests behaviour and apart from this our stay was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAFBS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here 4 times since 2002 for our annual ski vacation. The rooms are a good size and beds are comfy. Lovely reception area with seating and big log fire. The bar is a lovely place to unwind after a hard day skiing and the Keg restaurant is good with delicious food. Ski lockers are in the underground car park. There is a spa which is great. Ski bus stops right outside which whisks you off to the mountains in a jiffy. Banff town centre is about a 15 min walk. Loved the Irish pub and sat in here all day once when it was too cold to ski (-40!!!!). Stayed 4 times so yes, we'll recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CommandoandChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

we went as family trip , we enjoyed our stay there for 2 nights
hotel is nice , location is great and staff very friendly but only the bathroom was not clean when we check in
location is great but still not so close to the downtown shops

Room Tip: staff can book you for the activates with good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marwan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing