We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Waihola, null, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Got in late to find the power out, impressed by how they got through the cue of check ins. Room was lovely bed very comfy, as was everything. Wee walk downtown to a restaurant but staff gave us a three day bus pass even though we were only there one night. When i asked if we could store our luggage while we waited for our washing to finish the very helpful young man on reception decided to give us a late check out instead which was great. Only neg would have been the fan which was noisy and pretty ineffective given how hot the room was.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    807
    285
    107
    39
See reviews for
372
1,037
74
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I (60+) had a very enjoyable 3 night stay in this hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff attentive and helpful. Whilst situated some 15 mins walk from the main centre, the hotel provided courtesy bus passes. The bus stop is just outside and you can get a bus to Tunnel Mountain, Sulphur Mountain and the Cave & Basin Historic Site, as well as down town. Very useful indeed. Buffet breakfast very good at 15.95CD. The hot pool was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights Banff very quiet due to the Calgary floods. but the hotel was quite busy with coach tours and people from the Rocky Mountaineer. We stayed in a 4th floor room which was adequate but a little on the small side due to the eaves, good clean bathroom with all the amemities. The hotel is a little way out of the main town but an easy stroll to the many shops and restaurants easier to walk than to find somewhere to park. The Keg restaurant is on site but make sure you get in there before the coach tours arrive. Would stay again if visiting Banff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuhiri_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great hotel had a really charming feel to the place. Rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Enjoyed the spa facilities and the reception staff were extremely helpful in advising us of places to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nectar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a modern lodge/hotel on the outer rim of Banff about 10 mins walk into the main town. They provide free bus tickets so you can explore Banff and the local attractions via the bus service. The Hotel is decorated as a Lodge right down to the fake deer heads. It is actually reasonably attractive but very masculine and our room was a little on the dark side. The large stone fireplace in the lobby hides the lifts and would be great to sit around in winter.

The in-house spa was handy but couldn't accommodate a same day booking so book ahead if you think you will use it. The large indoor hot pool looked great and had all the required amenities.

The Lodge has a Keg steak restaurant attached which also provides a limited room service menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albert
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

expedia quoted 129 they wanted 179 and as soon as we mentioned the internet we got the cheaper price but a room downstairs outside the spa. ok room but a tile floor outside the room makes lots of noise as suitcases start rollng by at 530 am you think they would have upgraded us since the entire town was empty due to the flood in calgary

Room Tip: no air so stay off the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StAlberttravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Banff Caribou Lodge and Spa during the flood in southern Alberta in June. The staff were very patient, kind, and helpful amidst the chaos. They allowed us to extend our stay for several nights due to the road closures and were helpful as we tried to decide how to alter our plans. The rooms are nice and clean, and the hotel felt like our home away from home during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing