We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Cosy Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Value & Cosy Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 29, 2008

This is a great place that won't break the bank. Our room was very basic, but clean and all necessary items. It was Dec, there was snow on the ground (lots and lots) and the fire in the lobby made for a very cosy greeting. Plus there is ample underground heated parking, lockers for ski gear etc. We went to the Keg for supper, it was so inviting. The meal was excellent and the atmosphere very relaxing. The lights were twinkling and there were dear outside munching the trees!! Staff were very hospitable and it's an easy walk into town (even in -25)!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank GrantFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    819
    288
    108
    39
See reviews for
375
1,056
74
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed in the Caribou when on a skiing holiday but the main reason for us visiting Canada was to get married.
We were made to feel very welcome in the hotel and all the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful.
In the lobby to the hotel is a large open fire that filled the hotel with a wonderful smell and large sofa's in front of the fire for relaxing. There are also free warm drinks in the mornings in the lobby.
We had a room with 2 double beds that was very clean and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable and had very fluffy warm bedding on. There was tea and coffee making facilities with 'real' coffee in the room.
When the hotel realised that we were getting married whilst staying there they upgraded our room to a loft suite. This had 2 floors, 2 bathrooms, a super king size bed and fantastic skylight views.
The hotel has a fantastic Spa with a pool and spa that was the perfect way to end the day after a hard day skiing, we got complimentary dressing gowns in our loft room which were excellent for going to the spa with.
The hotel as a keg restaurant which does amazing food and my husband says that it is the best steak he has ever had. I am vegetarian so was a little worried when I first looked at the menu but after asking the staff the worries were over as basically they would make me/ adapt me whatever I wanted. We ate in the Keg for most of our breakfasts and evening meals and everyone was fantastic.
The ski storage lockers in the car park, which were again free, were really handy.
The hotel is around 10 mins from town centre and you can get a free bus pass from the reception. The walk to the town we feel was not a problem as it meant the hotel was in a quiet area but also in easy reach of town, the hotel was on the same main road that runs through the town and when it's not too cold it's a nice walk.
We experienced some extremely cold weather whilst on our visit and the ski slopes were all closed on one of the days because of this. The hotel staff were excellent in finding out all the information for us and keeping us informed on any skiing news.
Even when we had this extreme weather the hotel and our room were always cosy warm.

  • Liked — The Spa, The Keg resturant, very helpful friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anyrobinhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
close to london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We loved the homely atmosphere of this lodge. A large fire burning in the reception area,friendly staff and large comfortable rooms.

  • Liked — friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank noddyandbigears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it. A nice, warm and cosy hotel with a big fireplace in the lobby.

Our room was very small but ok. It was clean, had a good bathroom and was nicely furnished.

We also had a massage at the spa which was very nice!

The breakfast at the Kegg-restaurant is very nice. You can eat from the buffet or order from the menu. The buffet was very good!

Nice location. Ok in Banff everything is a nice location. Surrounded by beautiful mountains, what can you ask more? It's a ten minute walk to the town centre with nice shops and good restaurants.

Perfect place to be!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank reis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I would recommend this hotel.
My husband and i stayed during the May long weekend and we took advantage of the package being offered for one night accomodation, passes to the gondola, passes to the hot springs, and one hour horseback riding tour.
For the most part it all went smoothly except for a mix up as to who was to issue the passes to us. But the room was nice, i have to say the bed and pillows were amazing. I cant really say much about the service because we didnt really require staff help with anything. But clean, and we were told they won an award for being the cleanest hotel in all of Banff last year!
We didnt eat at the hotel Keg restaurant out of preference for other fair but it smelled great as we walked by.
Our room was right by the hot tub and fitness room and it was great!
We Found it to be one of the best vacas we have been on.
Banff is a wonderful place, and it really didnt matter to us where we stayed. But at 144 a night and the package it was a great price and great experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget.
We ate at the Grizzly house and strongly recommend that place its awesome!!!! But the Magpie and Stump left much to be desired....as in tums.
Loved the time spent there. Hotel perfect distance for a nice walk after a fulfilling dinner!!!

  • Liked — The bed was the best part for sure! nothing else was over the top or too special. But just right!
  • Disliked — Not really picky so i loved it all.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mami27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed at the caribou lodge for 11 nights for a snowboarding trip and we were not dissapointed. After arriving at the hotel after a long flight we were greeted at the door by the friendly porter, and we were checked in by the cheerful receptionist in front of the massive roaring fireplace, beautiful. Our room was large and spacious and very clean but lacking in storage! Some people moaned that their rooms were too hot which we found absurd as each room had its own personal thermostat so you could adjust the temperature accordingly.
We used the hot tub almost every night after a hard days snowboarding which again was spotless and very relaxing. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk to the centre of banff or a free bus ride from the stop 20 metres from the hotel.
We used the Keg restaurant most mornings for breakfast which was $13.99 from the help yourself buffet with an array of fruit, meat, cheese, bread, croissants,eggs bacon, sausage, hash browns and cereals to choose from.All of which was very good. We also had evening meal in the Keg on two occasions I had the fillet mignon on both occasions, possibly the best steak I have ever eaten and will ever eat.
All in all a great place to stay and we would reccomend this hotel to anybody.

  • Liked — The awesome hot tub, amogst other things
  • Disliked — The view from the room as we had a cheap room which faced into the court yard
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snoboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Stayed at the Caribou for a week during February 08 and loved every minute of it.
The hotel is located just on the outskirts of Banff town, we walked in most evenings and it took about 7-8 minutes, depending on how cold it was depended on how quick we walked. There is also a free bus which regulalry and frequently stops just outside the hotel and takes you to town and around, you get the free passes from reception.
The room was spacious with 2 queen sized beds, clean and tidy, the only downside was like others had mentioned and that was the lack of storage space, it did not ruin our experience but another drawer would have been nice.
We had breakfast at the hotel every morning which was superb, set you up for a full days skiing, most evenings we had a drink in the hotel bar and maybe some nachos which are a must after a full days on the slopes.
Would definitely stay at the Caribou again and would recommend to anyone.
Banff itself is picture postcard beautiful, it is geared up for tourists, loads of restaurants and bars all withing walking distance.

  • Liked — To difficult to pick just one thing
  • Disliked — Not enough storage space in the rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing