We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice room, good amenities, decent location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Estevan, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice room, good amenities, decent location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed all weekend and had the chance to enjoy the spa, the restaurant, and many if the off site attractions. It's only a 15 minute walk to the heart of downtown. The room was clean and cozy with a comfortable king size bed. The spa was great, hot pool adequate, with a Keg restaurant attached. It's rustic feel and friendly staff were both appreciated. Overall, a little pricey but a relatively decent price when compared to other hotels of similar quality. Would stay again, even if its just to see the elk out front!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    705
    242
    91
    31
See reviews for
320
906
64
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
168 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late May when it was wet and cold (the weather not the hotel) and the hotel’s hot pool was extremely welcome. Bring your swimming costumes.
We liked the hotel very much. The staff were friendly and helpful., the room was nice with a comfortable king-size bed and a really nice bathroom, and everything was really clean. It was also very quiet. I don’t know if the rooms either side were occupied but if they were the walls are solid because we didn’t hear a thing.
We liked the location too. It’s easy to find, just on the left as you enter Banff from the Calgary direction. It’s a 10 minute stroll (or 2 minute walk) into town but we were glad we weren’t more central, especially Saturday night when the centre was quite noisy. The hotel has a free underground car-park and, very conveniently, there’s lift access directly from the car-park to your floor.
We didn’t eat in the restaurant but did have a drink and a light meal in the bar. We had veggie flatbreads (ok) and scallops with bacon (lovely) with a mega glass of a nice dry white plus a couple of excellent local beers.
Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A&A_F-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the hotel as part of a Canadian tour. We were there on a holiday weekend, so the town was full of hormonally charged youths, lounging about town in great drifts of affected ennui... but Banff is still a very pretty place, in a beautiful location. The hotel was a mixed experience for us, and we may well have had a different experience, at a quieter time - but here's what happened. We arrived late afternoon and checked in - the room was quite dark, but well furnished and equipped. We were tired , so decided to book a table for dinner in the hotel restaurant - which turned out to be part of a chain, rather than part of the hotel itself, although we didn't know that at the time. We asked at the reception, where the staff told us it was nothing to do with them and to ask at the restaurant ( just across the reception hall) We duly asked to book a table for dinner, and were told that the restaurant was fully booked for the evening - all night, apparently. We asked for any recommendation, not too far, since we had been travelling all day, and they simply shrugged their shoulders, and said that it was a holiday weekend.... We were a bit stunned at this, since we had never been in a hotel, where the staff didn't seem to care that you might have to go hungry all night. However, we eventually managed to get some food in the bar ( which is the nicest thing about the hotel - cosy and friendly) and took the precaution of reserving a table for breakfast the next morning,at a specified time. We watched a s the reservation was written into their book. We turned up at the restaurant in the morning, and joined a queue of people waiting to go into the ( very busy) restaurant for breakfast. As were waiting we chatted to a couple in front of us, who said they had just walked into the restaurant the previous evening and were seated, no reservation, nothing. ( Booked all evening...??) As we got nearer the top of the queue, we said that we had a reservation - assuming that we might not then have to queue much longer. The young woman in charge looked lost and then said that she couldn't see any reservation.... and proceeded to seat other people while we stood, feeling like second class citizens. When we finally got into the long awaited Nirvana of the restaurant, the food was fine, good quality. At no time during our stay were we made to feel that we were valued customers, or that our comfort was of any importance to them, so we wouldn't use this hotel again. The location is fine - a ten minute walk to the centre of town, which has a range of lovely walks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great Hotel on main road to Banff. Staff were very helpful on arrival. Had a really great evening meal in the Keg Restaurant though prices quite high compared to what we are used to in UK, Staff attentive. Buffet breakfast was very good and staff very attentive. Room very comfortable with two double beds. Had bag of dirty washing cleaned and returned to our room by 6.00 o'clock, must be down by 9.00 oclock. Great having underground carpark which was included in price.

Room Tip: Room overlooking side street quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed one night during our Ruby wedding tour. Hotel surprised us with a card and a bottle of champagne. We had 2 lovely lunches and the staff were all very efficient and friendly. Free bus passes and discount vouchers to lots of the shops also came in handy. 2 double beds in our room!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lovely Hotel on the main road into Banff , the lobby had a huge log fire to welcome you, on this cold day, the staff where most welcoming and as l arrived early graciously found me a room
straight away. The room was very comfortable, and included a set of antlers in the bathroom!
The restaurant/bar was also very relaxing with more open fires, and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Just enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived late in the evening without a reservation. The front desk staff was very accommodating and got us a room. The room was well appointed, clean and quiet. We received a package of coupons for activities and retail stores in the area. Underground parking was included in the room rate. The buffet breakfast in the Keg restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WTT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing