We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emergency ... What emergency!?!?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My daughter and her partner stayed here for three day two nights and whilst they were perfectly satisfied with the staff, hotel and amenities the main reason for writing this review is to bring attention to the appalling lack of direction, information and support during what could have been a serious emergency situation. The hotel fire alarm system was activated at 12.15 am some guests, including my daughter left their rooms and made their way to reception, according to in room emergency procedures but here is the REALLY disturbing part of this whole scenario there wasn't one member of staff to be found ..... anywhere!! They waited in reception eventually the alarm stopped and they returned to their room, still without having seen, been spoken to or been re-assured that nothing was wrong or that it was in fact SAFE to return to their room by any member of staff. Fortunately there was no fire or danger, they were not to know that and spent very restless and disturbed night. No apology or explanation was given the next day either. Safety and the well being of guests should be paramount at all times.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequentflier24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We apologise the activation of the fire alarm and this experience made your daughter and her partner feel uneasy, and we have contacted you personally to discuss this matter further.
We can confirm that the proper authorities and management were on-site and did try to communicate to all guests, as soon as possible, once it was deemed safe to return to their rooms.
Our guests’ safety and comfort is our primary concern, and we are 100% commited to ensuring our customer care is nothing short of excellent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 2,086 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Caribou #235 15/5/2013 for five nights. The hotel was clean, quiet and the bathroom facilities were all good. The décor was a little dark but we got used to that The staff were very friendly and keen to help and the restaurant which they call the Keg served good food which was quite expensive. The breakfast buffet was excellent and possible to also have full cooked options at a small price increase.
The hotel has a free bus service into the centre which is very useful but you can walk in and it takes about 20 minutes. The spa pool was small but very pleasant to use.There is underground free parking with direct internal access to hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hil-Harv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We only spent one night here which was unfortunate as I don't think I have ever slept in such a comfortable bed with such luxurious bedding. We are well travelled being all over the world I can safely say this is the best bed we have slept in. Our schedule meant we had to leave after one night to get on the Rocky Mountaineer but would love to go back sometime and spend a few days.

Room Tip: We just accepted the room we were given, too tired ask for anything special but could not have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmillanmag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Excellent price and service for Banff. The manager upgraded our room at no extra charge from standard to superior. I suggest booking with the breakfast option at $10 more per day. Good value since the breakfast is done in the Keg restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had 5 nights here in May. It was excellent value for what we paid through Canadian Affairs. Clean hotel and comfortable beds. Took us about 10 minutes to walk into town, which was fine for my husband and I as we don't mind a walk. Supermarket about 8 minutes away was handy. The spa was excellent, lovely pool, water just right temperature. They provide free passes for the local bus which stops right near the hotel and they came in useful for getting to sulphur mountain and the hot springs, took us door to door. Would definitely stay here again. Staff very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel is very nice but other guests forget others are staying. During early hours loud talking and slamming of room doors seems to be the norm. Other than that this is an ok hotel, they even give you free pass for local buses.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently stayed here on a late ski trip. The hotel and staff were excellent. The morning breakfast was wholesome and great value - the wait staff could not have been more cheerful and attentive. The bar is a great place for a little apres ski aperitif and the lobby is inviting with the open log fire in the big stone fireplace. But here is the thing, when things go wrong its the attitude of the staff that can make or break a stay. We checked out on Friday and caught the shuttle to the airport. On arrival I discovered my ski boot bag was missing, it was still at the hotel. I called them, yes they had it, no they could not get it to the airport before my flight departed. No problem, I emailed the hotel and the manager personally undertook to get my bag back to me. I was expecting an argument, you will have to pay for this, we don't take responsibility etc etc, but no. Ten days later my bag was on my doorstep in Australia and no charge. That, is going the extra mile to make sure your guests are happy.

By the way, the spa is great and the Vinyasa yoga class I attended was wonderful (in a painful, slightly masochistic way). Buses leave for the ski fields from the front of the hotel and the main strip of Banf is 12 minutes walk down the main street.

Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,414 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $94 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing