We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal ski lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal ski lodge”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed in the Rundlestone before but fancied something with a bit more to offer. Staff helped us change rooms from twin to double after a night with no hassle. Good bar, nice food in Keg restaurant for breakfast and dinner and ski bus stops right outside. Room very clean with nice bathroom. Just what we'd hoped for.

Room Tip: Back of hotel quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review, and hope to have the opportunity to have you over for another ski visit.Spring Skiing is amazing out here!...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    781
    277
    107
    36
See reviews for
359
1,011
71
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hello All, I will start with the good stuff about this hotel / lodge :)

-Heated Underground Parking, lots of parking space.
-Extra Large Hot Pool / Tub (Spa Like set up) Very Clean, Rolled towels available for use.
-Lovely Wood Burning Fire place at the Lobby, can smell the hint of wood Burning throughout hotel floors (not in rooms) I think it's a nice homy touch.
-The Keg restaurant on site, call restaurant and ask to be on their whitelist, specially on dinner time (30 - 1 hr wait) The restaurant atmosphere was nice, cozy, not loud, cabin, lodge feel. Free freshly baked bread and whipped butter, and starter platter with purchase of kids meals. We ate here 2 dinner and 1 brunch, service was excellent, our steak however where over cooked, both dinner :( if u like, medium, order medium rare, if u prefer well done, order medium. Cesar salad and French onion soup was really good.
-The Room, we stayed at 2 double bed, with a view room. Premier suite on the 4th floor $186 per night + taxes. room has a clean feel, u can smell the freshness out of the sheets. washroom & tub is really clean. I'm picky when it comes to hotel tubs, theirs was obviously clean, it was shinny. Room has a modern design.
-Rocky mountain lavender soap in washroom
-lots of pillows
-free bus pass to go to town. Bus stop is 2 minute walk or less from hotel
-play park beside hotel, newer play structure.
-me and my husband got a massage on site, red earth spa. Beautiful, Clean.


not so good side:
-check in took a while, the front desk was polite & smiling but a bit slow on moving.
-room was very narrow, enough to fit the bed, 2 people cannot walk around the bed side by side. I had a 4 yr old boy and we felt quite squish in the room
-not sure if its wort paying for the view, we are facing the front of the hotel with a window, u literally have to come up close to the window to see the view. (The view is the roof of the lodge, whiled can also see the mountains if u come up close.
-we felt like the air circulation was poor. It was hot in the room, we turned down the thermostat to 18.5 still warm.
- the bed was hard. It has a feather pillow top, which felt nice on the touch, but at the middle of the night, your back will tell you that the bed is hard :)
- pillows were a mixed of new and old pillows, if you know what I mean. You can tell if a pillow had been used for years.
-with the feeling of lack of extra space in the room, specially if you have children running around, this space would not be Enough. Maybe if the hotel Mount the TV on the wall this would create extra space?
-room is also fairly dark? Even during day time.
-the elevator, is a nightmare. 1 was down most of the Easter weekend we were there. Line up for the elevator is not the best. Ok to take the stairs if you do not have children in tow or luggages in tow. Elevator I think needs upgrading the one that is working, is also fairly slow.
-Thin walls, around 2 am / 3 am we heard people,on the hall way both nights having conversation.
-You can hear people from the road walking from a nearby bar or something at the middle of the night. We had our window close, can still here. Maybe from 1 to 10 (loudest), maybe a 4. If you are a light sleeper you will hear this.

overall, this hotel has a homey feel, clean, has most of things u will need on site. But if you have kids with you, they would not have space to roam around the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsTravellingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for a well-balanced review. We have a few Suites which may be more fitting for a family such as yours. They are more spacious than our regular rooms, with a Loft Bedroom for more privacy as well. Please feel free to ask about them if you should wish to come again another time. We appreciate all your feedback and I will forward any improvement opportunities to our appropriate departments. Thanks again, and we hope to see you another time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Awesome place would stay again for sure ! Smelled like wood fire which added to the cozy atmosphere. Hotel gave free bus passes during your stay which was nice because it is a fifteen minute walk from the main area of town and when it's winter that feels a lot farther in the cold :) King size bed was not comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for 1 night this March and wish we could have stayed longer. It was fabulous. Rooms were beautiful - modern but luxurious. Service was spot on from the offset. We ate at The Keg restaurant at the hotel and had possibly the best steaks that myself or my fiancé had ever had!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianevans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review, and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thank you so much to everyone at the Banff Caribou Lodge and The Keg for making our anniversary so special!! We really felt taken care of and special and we couldn't have had a better stay! We loved the hot pools and steam room, and very nice to have complimentary bus passes to go downtown- especially with the slight cold. The servers at The Keg were exceptionally friendly, as well as the front desk staff at the hotel and everyone that we encountered in hallway.
The last time I stayed at the Caribou was almost a decade ago and it was nice even then, but I believe that they have since renovated and what a fabulous job! We are from Calgary and need a break from the city so we will be back!
Thank you :)

Room Tip: Fourth Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Banff Caribou Lodge

We stayed here for the first time ever while on a ski weekend because our usual hotels were full. What a pleasant surprise!

Likes
- heated underground parking (lots, not just enough for early birds like some other Banff hotels)
- The Keg restaurant in the hotel
- big, beautiful hot tub (no problem with arriving and it being already full!)
- down comforters on the beds, lots of pillows
- nicely decorated rooms and hallways
- mini fridge, kettle & coffee maker in rooms
- soap from the Rocky Mountain Soap company

Dislikes
- no fan in the bathroom
- shower head good for people up to 5'8" - tall people need to bend down a bit

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisybabe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Banff for our honeymoon and chose to stay at the Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa for a week. We booked the "Corner Lot Jacuzzi Suite" and couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. The suite was cozy, comfortable, quiet, clean and you just couldn't beat the gorgeous mountain views. The hotel staff was super friendly and even provided us with a bottle of celebratory champagne upon our arrival...what a nice touch! The staff was always helpful in recommending places to eat and places to visit within Banff. The hotel is located within walking distance from downtown Banff and is the most perfect location! We couldn't have been happier with our honeymoon hotel selection and would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmbatl0742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing