We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Awesome place would stay again for sure ! Smelled like wood fire which added to the cozy atmosphere. Hotel gave free bus passes during your stay which was nice because it is a fifteen minute walk from the main area of town and when it's winter that feels a lot farther in the cold :) King size bed was not comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    689
    234
    89
    31
See reviews for
311
893
64
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for 1 night this March and wish we could have stayed longer. It was fabulous. Rooms were beautiful - modern but luxurious. Service was spot on from the offset. We ate at The Keg restaurant at the hotel and had possibly the best steaks that myself or my fiancé had ever had!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianevans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review, and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thank you so much to everyone at the Banff Caribou Lodge and The Keg for making our anniversary so special!! We really felt taken care of and special and we couldn't have had a better stay! We loved the hot pools and steam room, and very nice to have complimentary bus passes to go downtown- especially with the slight cold. The servers at The Keg were exceptionally friendly, as well as the front desk staff at the hotel and everyone that we encountered in hallway.
The last time I stayed at the Caribou was almost a decade ago and it was nice even then, but I believe that they have since renovated and what a fabulous job! We are from Calgary and need a break from the city so we will be back!
Thank you :)

Room Tip: Fourth Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Banff Caribou Lodge

We stayed here for the first time ever while on a ski weekend because our usual hotels were full. What a pleasant surprise!

Likes
- heated underground parking (lots, not just enough for early birds like some other Banff hotels)
- The Keg restaurant in the hotel
- big, beautiful hot tub (no problem with arriving and it being already full!)
- down comforters on the beds, lots of pillows
- nicely decorated rooms and hallways
- mini fridge, kettle & coffee maker in rooms
- soap from the Rocky Mountain Soap company

Dislikes
- no fan in the bathroom
- shower head good for people up to 5'8" - tall people need to bend down a bit

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisybabe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Banff for our honeymoon and chose to stay at the Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa for a week. We booked the "Corner Lot Jacuzzi Suite" and couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. The suite was cozy, comfortable, quiet, clean and you just couldn't beat the gorgeous mountain views. The hotel staff was super friendly and even provided us with a bottle of celebratory champagne upon our arrival...what a nice touch! The staff was always helpful in recommending places to eat and places to visit within Banff. The hotel is located within walking distance from downtown Banff and is the most perfect location! We couldn't have been happier with our honeymoon hotel selection and would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmbatl0742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here a weekend in Feb after getting a good deal on Expedia. The hotel is on the main hotel drag in Banff and about a 10-15 min walk to downtown. The lobby is nicely decorated and has a big wood burning fireplace. We had underground parking(6' clearance I think) and were in a standard room with two doubles. The room was nicely decorated, updated and clean. It was a pretty small room for 2 double beds...if there were four people staying here it would be very tight. One thing to note is that the pillows are very big and we both had a really hard time sleeping on them...the beds were comfortable though. Within the hotel is a hot tub area for guests, The Keg restaurant, the Red Earth Spa. We were going to go to The Keg restaurant in the hotel but without reservations it was a very long wait so we went downtown.
Over all we enjoyed our stay at the Caribou Lodge and would stay here again when it goes on sale. I think it is over priced other times of the year...but most of Banff is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna_12Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,AB
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed a single night on a busy weekend between ski days. I've stayed at many hotels in Banff before, there was nothing special about this place.

Pros
- Nice decor, the room, lobby, restaurant, hallways and street appeal are all very nice, the hotel has a nice mountain theme to it which is suitable for Banff
- Clean.
- Access to the Keg in the lobby. Fantastic meal, no need to hoof it all the way down town if you're staying for only one night this is a great option
- SPA and Pool access in the hotel. Not a big deal, and we didn't use it but I could see this being a plus

Cons
- Mattress, pillows and duvet.Worst sleep I've had in a long time. The duvet cover was too big for the actually duvet and it was obviously old. Pillows were exceptionally lumpy and uncomfortable. The mattress was obviously old and was lumpy as well. We had a terrible sleep.
- Temperature regulation in the room - thermostat was not working well. Generally it was way too hot, and with the window it quickly dropped. The radiator was also making loud lengthy clicking/buzzing noises.
- We had a room on the top floor on the inside courtyard and paid less for it. The room had a cut in on one corner from the slanted roof. It was like having a vaulted ceiling start a foot off the floor. I whacked my head on it multiple times, I would ask for an outside facing room, I'm assuming those are more expensive.

We will choose another hotel when we come back, this was okay but there are so many choices I wouldn't bother with the Caribou again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing