We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming stay”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I came to this hotel first in 2004 when my wife and I celebrated our honeymoon, having enjoyed that stay so much we returned hoping that things would be the same, they were not, the company has implemented a refit and enhanced the building even further, putting a spa in and a large hot pool which really relax the muscles after a tiring days walking.
The rooms have excellent facilities I finally managed to prise the hairdrier off her as the rooms one is adequate, good shower and bathroom. Huge screen CTV, good views outside, although we were to the rear of the premises we still saw Elk walk past one night.
Attached is the Keg restaurant which is also excellent.
Staff are attentive and helpful, keen and knowledgeable so overall, fantastic stay again, thanks

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    778
    276
    107
    36
See reviews for
359
1,008
71
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is the best place to stay in Banff. Housekeeping is always far above par, rooms, carpets, bedding, surfaces are SPOTLESS and I check. I love the handmade soap they use provide in the bathrooms, I always stop downtown and buy more when I visit. I adore the feather duvet, pillows and how overall comfortable the beds are. The decor is modern hunting lodge - cute additions to the light fixtures metal bed frame of the metal antlers, wall papered with natural colours, big fun prints of leaves etc just a relaxing modern take suited to Banff. The rooms aren't huge, but the bathrooms are great size. Love the huge fireplaces in the lobby and the staff are lovely. I don't stop in at the Keg to eat as I have other favourites but it's convenient for a late night snack and glass of wine to relax with. Spa has overly chlorine smell but is very large, clean and conveniently set out with large change room etc. This was my fourth stay with them, always on business and they have been consistently great - it's always a pleasure.

Room Tip: Mountain view with the little balcony to look over is a personal favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandePrairieTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We enjoyed a 2 night stay here in the middle of September. The location is about a 10 minute walk to town so no hassle with having to park a car. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. Rooms are lovely with a good sized bathroom. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the 2 story suite with a jacuzzi tub. Very nice accommodations. It was a nice surprise to walk outside in the evening and see deer grazing near the front door. We loved this place and the vacation was the best.

Room Tip: The fireplace and jacuzzi tub in the 2-story suite adds to the romance for couples. The staff broug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The rooms and lobby area are very nice and they have a great spa area. It's about a ten minute walk to the strip of restaurants and bars in Banff, so the location is convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We appreciated that they had an onsight laundry facility. We were 8 days into our trip and needed some clean clothes. We had a balcony and enjoyed sitting on it in the evening. The internet access was valuable. The restaurant " The Keg" had good meals and pleasant staff. The decor was warm and it was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience! I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and hope you have a chance to visit us again. If you're in the middle of a long trip again, we also have a local laundry service that will clean AND fold your laundry for a very reasonable rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night stay here at the end of September. Very comfortable hotel. Rooms come with 2 double beds (extremely comfortable), inroom facilities for making tea / coffee as well as having a small fridge and a good sized bathroom. Absolutely loved the decor in the room - would love to replicate it at home.
Dined once in Keg Restaurant and was not disappointed. Being wary that some Canadian meals can be far to big for one person, we asked for one steak dish to be shared between two, which was done without hesitation / question.
If travelling by car, the hotel does have its own underground car park but be warned, access is tight within it, especially if you're not yet used to your rental vehicle!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing