We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The rooms and lobby area are very nice and they have a great spa area. It's about a ten minute walk to the strip of restaurants and bars in Banff, so the location is convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,276 - 1,282 of 2,086 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We appreciated that they had an onsight laundry facility. We were 8 days into our trip and needed some clean clothes. We had a balcony and enjoyed sitting on it in the evening. The internet access was valuable. The restaurant " The Keg" had good meals and pleasant staff. The decor was warm and it was very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience! I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and hope you have a chance to visit us again. If you're in the middle of a long trip again, we also have a local laundry service that will clean AND fold your laundry for a very reasonable rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night stay here at the end of September. Very comfortable hotel. Rooms come with 2 double beds (extremely comfortable), inroom facilities for making tea / coffee as well as having a small fridge and a good sized bathroom. Absolutely loved the decor in the room - would love to replicate it at home.
Dined once in Keg Restaurant and was not disappointed. Being wary that some Canadian meals can be far to big for one person, we asked for one steak dish to be shared between two, which was done without hesitation / question.
If travelling by car, the hotel does have its own underground car park but be warned, access is tight within it, especially if you're not yet used to your rental vehicle!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

what a lovely hotel, and Banff is just beautiful. hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and antlers effect throughout the rooms and hotel. warm and cosy reception. great restaurant. the beds are amazing, really comfortable.lovely big bathroom with double sink.the Breakfast was huge, lots of choice although queues were forming on most mornings, can get quite busy. recommend booking a table if you can in advance. its a fair stroll into town. but the scenery and atmosphere of the place is just wonderful. i would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: balcony room would have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopylooKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for the review and nice comments. We're glad you enjoyed the feel of our renovations and hope you can make it back for a return visit to the hotel (and Keg Restaurant, of course!) sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel in Banff. The room was large, clean and the staff most helpful. We had a room with a balcony and loved sitting out having morning coffee and looking at the beautiful scenery. It is a bit of a walk to downtown but there is a shuttle stop right next door at the park, so you can catch the shuttle to go anywhere in Banff you might want to go. There is no complimentary breakfast as there is a restaurant (Keg) in the hotel. We did not eat at the restaurant so don't know about it. The hot tub was wonderful...large, enclosed, clean. We would definitely used this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comthome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for four nights Oct 2012. Were delighted with room and service. Ideal location, free roam bus pass and discount booklet. Didnt have enough time to use spa but it looked great.Keg restaraunt was a great bonus. Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from chimney as you can smell fumes at times from wood burning fire in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilmaP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here for our anniversary and we also stayed here for NYE 2011 with some friends. We absolutely love this hotel, the rooms are tastefully decorated and clean. The views from the balcony suites are beautiful! The KEG restaurant has great food but service is not so great? Our lounge server was very rude and didn't seem to love his job. The Sunday brunch was very disorganized and it took a long time for staff to fill the buffet. We have not used the spa as we find it a little pricey, but the hot pool and sauna is very nice and we enjoy its large size. We do recommend asking for a room on any floor but the main floor. The second time we stayed we were given a room a couple doors down from the pool and there was a very strong sense of chlorine in our room, so much that it irritated our eyes. We brought to the attention of the front desk and were moved to a different room which was much better. Overall, it's a beautiful hotel with great amenities and clean rooms with beautiful views. We will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMMaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,414 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $94 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing