We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$234
$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
$152
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$217
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$305
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$340
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$228
$218
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$320
$263
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,154)
Filter reviews
2,154 results
Traveler rating
788
879
329
114
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
879
329
114
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeg restaurantfree bus passrocky mountaineerlovely hotelsuperior roomunderground parkingfree roamski bussteam roomten minute walklog firereception areawalk into townlarge hot tubbuffet breakfastski lockersthere is no air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
1,345 - 1,350 of 2,154 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights here, and would not stay anywhere else in Banff. The hotel is just out of the town, but you are given a shuttle pass to use on the local bus, which is a very good service. Rooms are very good, and serviice is superb.
The Keg restuarant in the hotel is the best anywhere,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_farnden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of May.

The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the town centre. The hotel gave us bus passes that got us in and out of town for free. A welcome and useful addition.

The hotel itself was very clean and tidy and looked as though it had been refurbished not too long ago. The pool and sauna facilities were good, although the pool is not the biggest but it worked well.

We found the staff friendly and helpful.

As we were on a 3 week tour of Canada the on site laundry facilities came in very handy. Although at times we had to wait a short while to use them as both the washers were in use and others were waiting before us.

Our only minor negative comment was that we had the room right beside the lifts. This meant that late at night and early in the morning noise was a little more than we would have liked as people came off or waited for the lifts.

If we have the opportunity to return to Bannf we would certainly consider the Caribou lodge. We would put in a request to be further away from the lifts though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnC_6877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad to hear you'd like the opportunity to to enjoy Banff and the Caribou Lodge once more. Please feel free to send any room requests to us prior to your stay and we'd be happy to oblige! We hope you have the opportunity to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

stayed for 2 nights during trip through Rockies. Room was not ready when we arrived but friendly staff took luggage and gave us complimentary pass for local bus to enable us to explore downtown Banff. Food in Keg restaurant was good with one of the best steaks I have ever tasted. Would stay here again . room comfortable and staff friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fingor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our travel agent recommended we stay here for 3 nights after the Rocky Mountaineer journey from Vancouver, and we were very satisfied with it. We easily walked there from the train station in town, and arrived before fellow travellers who waited for taxis and buses. It is very popular with tour groups and the check-in area was often crowded, but the staff coped admirably and spoke many different languages. Our room was well-appointed, and there is a guest laundry near the carpark. Restaurant staff were friendly and the food was OK but overpriced for what you got. We preferred to eat out elsewhere. The pool and spa area was nice to relax in. Tour buses will pickup and dropoff there. We were given free bus vouchers but only used them once, as we preferred the walk. Recommended for active travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FAF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in Sep 2012.- Banff had a heat wave but to our surprise this hotel has NO air-conditioning. Two fans in the room were insufficient and we had to have the windows open (with increased noise levels since our room faced the road)
Elevators had problems and there were only two. Price was expensive and food only available only at the Keg, which was mediocre in service and substance (party of 5)
Only benefit was free parking

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goasel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

I"m sorry to hear your stay was not up to standard. Our Front Desk Agents are always available to solve problems and provide the most comfortable stay possible and I hope we didn't miss an opportunity during your stay. The busiest times in Banff can also be the most expensive and if schedules are flexible I would recommend traveling during the slower months in Banff to take advantage of some exceptional rates and deals. I was surprised by your experience at the Keg, which is ranked by Tripadvisor reviewers as one of the top 5 restaurants in Banff. I have passed your comments on to the Keg management and encourage you to explore one of the many other Banff restaurants our Front Desk Agents could recommend as alternatives. I welcome any further feedback and hope you might reconsider a stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews