We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
High Peak U.K.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Out of town centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was another great experience on our trip. The location is a good walk out but well worth it. We had free bus rides as the hotel gave out visiot bus passes. The staff and facilites were what we expected and were were pleased to be staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    775
    274
    106
    36
See reviews for
357
1,001
69
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent location well away from the bustle of down town Banff. It was a 15 minute walk into town but the hotel provided you with a free bus pass for the length of your stay to go anywhere in the Banff town area. Buses run every 40 minutes up to about midnight and you can catch them within a 30 second walk away from the hotel so getting into town and back wasn't a problem. Our room was large, welcoming and very comfortable with 2 queen size beds. It was on the back so we had a small view of the park and the mountains, even though the window was a bit on the small size. The reception area was comfortable and welcoming with a large log fire. Staff as usual, for Canada, were very helpful and friendly. We had ordered room service for breakfast twice, one for "breakfast to go" and the second eggs and bacon. I didn't think the breakfast to go was value for money but the eggs and bacon etc were a good buy. Complimentary tea and coffee are provided in reception each morning for guests.
Dined in the Keg on a couple of occasions and found the only problem being portion size... they were massive so go with a good appetite. Staff in the Keg again friendly and helpful.
Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindilou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a cruise to Alaska and Rocky Mountaineer. It was a great end to a great holiday. The hotel is really lovely, the spa area a big bonus, the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, well equipped and clean. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it as a great place to stay in Banff which incidentally is one of the nicest placs we have ever been

Room Tip: We had a room on the side which was quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayneykul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a well maintained, newly renovated hotel on the strip. However, (probably to maintain the quietness of the hotel, though greatly appreciated to be away from the extreme club noise in the wee hours unlike the downtown centre) it's missing something. Everything closed by 11pm, a little longer walk into town (10 min, still as close as 1/2 the hotels, but a pain in high heels), the bar in the Keg not so tempting. Their sister hotel 1 block closer to town had a better bar (Chili's) with the same amenities/cleanliness/newness, both strict on quiet policy. Remember to eat by 11pm in Banff!!!

Room Tip: All room areas seem to be quiet, views good from all sides, no noisy parking lots below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. I'm sorry we didn't meet your needs later into the evening! The Keg will be open with a limited menu between 10:30 and midnight but we're always happy to recommend delivered service (maybe not fine dining!) right to your door. We also have a downtown nightclub, Wild Bill's, which allows for hooting and hollering late into the evening - check it out next time your in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Beautiful, location appropriate interior. Rooms quite small but if you get one on the front side, the view is pretty. Rooms look like they've been recently renovated & had very comfortable beds. We had 3 rooms in different locations on the same floor and they all varied in light, warmth and space beware.
Restaurant is average. Very select food types. Room service was much better I thought & very efficient.
Front desk staff are friendly & helpful.
Car park is really tight to get in and out of in a big vehicle.
Town is about a 10-15 minute walk (5-6 blocks) away up the same street - flat sidewalk so easy.
Great lodge if you want to be close to town but not in the thick of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rooms were large comfortable and clean. Continental breakfast was poor with very poor baked goods. Hotel staff seemed unwilling to accept feedback about breakfast and insisted I spoke to Restaurant manager who was defensive. It is a good ten mimute walk to town which might be a drawback for some. The spa was excellent. Internet was good and free. Our rooms looked out onto the roof and smoke from the chimney tainted the smell in our rooms.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms looking onto the roof as you will get the smell from the chimney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuryRowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N lincs
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

3 night stay. enjoyed the room & could just see Cascade mountain through the window. Very quiet and slept well in very comfy beds. Room big enough because we did not spend that much time in it. The only downside was that our window looked over the back of the hotel and the flue of the fire in the lobby, therefore the room smelt quite smokey which seemed to be worse by the third night. If we had been staying longer would have asked to be moved. staff friendly and helpful. Had full breakfast twice and thought the price reasonable for how much food was available. We did not need to eat for the rest of the day until dinner!! Shuttle bus excellent idea. Used it to see all the route around the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NlincsLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing