We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tastefully done, great property, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very tastefully done, great property, good staff”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Caribou Lodge is a little off the main strip on Banff Ave, but it's a decent place to stay. We had an interior courtyard room, and I was pleasantly surprised that they had spent the resources to make the courtyard quite presentable, with a stone garden and plants (an interior view is usually pretty dismal, especially in Banff, when every other window view is a spectacular mountain vista). The room was a little small, but the bed was comfortable. The bathroom, however, was fantastic. It was spacious, well-appointed, and - my favourite touch - they use locally made lavender soap. Impressive. The hot pool is fantastic. Seriously. Bring your bathing suit and spend an hour every night unwinding down there, it was the best. There is no cold pool (sorry, kids). There is a Keg on site, but I recommend walking downtown and exploring this gorgeous city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    778
    276
    107
    36
See reviews for
359
1,008
71
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is a bit out of town but is on the shuttle bus route, which was very useful for getting about. The room was clean and well appointed, and the staff at reception were very helpful. We tended to eat in town but did have a meal in the bar one lunchtime. Would recommend the hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on a Western Canada trip, location ok, rooms small but clean & bed not the most comfortable but ok for a couple of nights. Reception staff efficient, not too many smiles but other staff friendly & helpful. Restaurant was excellent, best steak in Canada so far, and good breakfasts. Wifi in rooms worked well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed at the Caribou Lodge in June during a business trip. It was easily one, if not the, best hotel I have ever stayed in! I travel for my career frequently and found the lodge to be truly outstanding in every respect. The staff was excellent and friendly, Amanda and Luke at the front desk were very helpful. Even the manager, Chris, can be found helping anywhere he can.
The fireplace roaring as I walked in was a lovely ambiance to the large lobby.
The Keg restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Sam was a wonderful server.
I would walk back to the Keg for breakfast ( buffet and menu choices) from anywhere just to have it once more.
The recently renovated rooms are all very fitting with a mountain lodge setting. There is ample space, very clean, and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom offered soaps provided by a local company called Rocky Mountain Soap Co. The full product range is available in their downtown Banff location and well worth it.
The hotel offers free transit passes on the local ROAM bus network which can also be used as something of a sightseeing tour as the buses regularly visit all the highlights with in the town of Banff including the Gondola, hot springs and Tunnel Mountain.
The hotel offers the Red Earth Spa, while I did not get to enjoy it during my stay, it looked first rate.
Easy to navigate underground parking was also an added convenience.

As a bonus, not only can you use the facilities at the sister hotels up the road from the Caribou, but you can also have your restaurant bills put on your room account from the other locations they own/operate ( downtown Keg, The Meatball and Chilis)! Stay at one, play at 6!
Overall Banff National Park is an exhilarating destination which should be on everyone's 'to-do' list, and staying at the Caribou will only make your trip better. If you can't have fun here, something is wrong with you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlySue800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just came back from Banff and stayed at the Caribou Lodge on the front and back end of our vacation in the mountains for a total of three days. Being a brand loyal person and one that likes to stay at hotels that we are accustomed to and comfortable with I have stayed at the hotel and the Banff Lodging Company family of hotels on multiple occasions over the past few years. I have also had my immediate family and close friends book rooms at this particular hotel on my recomendation. We like the hotel for its above average room quality, cleanliness and other value added features like free underground parking, internet and an onsite Keg restaurant. Is the hotel perfect...no...the rooms do not have air conditioning making them very hot at times in the summer but a large percentage of hotels in Banff do not due to the cool climate. In addition the lodge is located opposite of down town making it a bit of a walk to the stores and restaurants however local bus service is available for those who do not drive. That said we have overlooked these faults as we have always been treated with respect and offered fair rates by it's reservation and front desk staff. On that note I would like to single out the night shift front desk staff member Tim who went above and beyond in making our first two nights a pleasant stay and again last night when he turned our negative supper time check in experience at the hotel into a positive one. Hotel and customer loyalty is a two way street and this particular employee certainly understands how to retain loyal customers who have gone out of their way to stay at their hotel chain. Thanks again Tim for making our stay an enjoyable one and for going out of your way to making me and my family feel more than just another patron and reservation id number at the hotel !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HHH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
311hotelgm, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks for the review. We're happy Tim recognized you as a repeat guest and welcomed you back - I'll be sure to pass on your appreciation! In the future, be sure to pick up a complimentary bus pass for the Banff Transit System (ROAM) from our front desk - these are available to all guests year round. Hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed one night at the Banff Caribou Lodge and it was great! The room was very clean and everything looked very new. It was a bit over the top with the caribou theme but that's just my personal taste. Otherwise it was very nicely decorated.
We had dinner at The Keg located right in the restaurant which was very nice as we didn't want to have to drive or walk as we'd done a lot of that during the day. It was very convenient and the food and service was on par with any other Keg we have been to.
We also used the spa facilities and had pedicures. The staff was very friendly and professional. A very relaxing experience to end the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here on coach tour trip doing Canada Coast to Coast - must say this hotel was lovely everything you could ask for in your hotel room and staff in hotel and Keg restaurant very nice, pleasant and helpful. A lovely hotel in an absolutely fabulous location. Would love to go back in the winter season. Hotel supplied free bus pass into town but never used it as the walk was a pleasant one

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliewht40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing