We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,245)
Filter reviews
2,245 results
Traveler rating
816
915
344
122
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
915
344
122
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeg restaurantfree bus passrocky mountaineerlovely hotelsuperior roomunderground parkingfree roamski busten minute walksteam roombuffet breakfastreception arealog firelarge hot tubwalk into townski lockersstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,589 - 1,594 of 2,245 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just spent two night at the Caribou Lodge & Spa over the New Years weekend. We arrived just after 2 PM and were told that due to the hotel being completely booked the night before they could not get us right away. Check in was guaranteed at 4 PM, however, we did get our keys around 3 PM. Our hotel room was located on the first floor of the hotel and after a few hours we began to notice a very strong smell from the pool which was located across the hall. After calling the front desk they promptly sent someone to look into it. After looking into it, they allowed us to move to a higher floor and were told they would look into the strong chemical smell. Both rooms were very nice, large bathrooms and had very comfortable beds.
Although the hotel was a few blocks away from the main street I noticed that they offered free bus passes to guests. They also provided free WIFI to all guests which I find is very rare! Will be staying here again when visiting Banff.

Room Tip: With the experience we had, I would ask for a room not on the first floor near the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Staying at Caribou, writing to help folks considering this hotel for this season. Hotel Fabulous, really lovely rooms, beds are so comfy..sparklingly clean. Staff on hand for your every wish. Red Earth Spa amazing, so chilled and the steam room and Jacuzzi lovely. The breakfast for $12 is outstanding, coffee free till 11 a nice extra. fab meal in Keg NY eve.. had 4 great steaks, 4 fab puds, 2 bottles of wine for just over £100. Food & drink around is a bit pricey, but we were paying for 4 so that didnt help! Wild Flour bakery in Bear St. health food restaurant, small but so lovely and v reasonable. Rose & Crown pub next to Ultimate Ski doesnt look much from outside but great food and v reasonable. (staying for 10 nights so have to look around for some bargains!) Yoga classes above wild flour amazing. Loads of stuff to buy..bring plenty of spends!! Snow fantastic, freezing cold some days and mild the next..v v chilled place... was bit busy & noisy ova NY but settled down now.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from lobby & lifts,at back of hotel, spoke to hotel about some noise early hours of morning, they are aware of this but it was NY.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keithholsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Close to downtown and has a Keg Steakhouse attached. Quiet and clean rooms. When in Banff one doesn't spend a lot of time in your room so it is adequate but a little dark. Book early and get a good rate, last minute bookings are not so good for what you get.
Not impressed with the central booking but the staff at the hotel are good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel just after Christmas. We stayed for two nights. Although I would expect higher prices over the Christmas season, I would expect the rooms and service to match the price. While the rooms are nicely decorated, they are so small there is barely room to turn around! I am not kidding. I travel extensively in Canada and the United States and have never had a room this small. Furthermore, the beds were not that comfortable. The hotel does offer free underground parking and free Internet, which many hotels in the area do not. I likely would not stay at this hotel again for the simple fact that I can get better value for my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with you room. Banff architecture can create some unique room spaces and if guaranteed space is important we're always available to find alternate rooms within the hotel. Future readers can assure maximum space by booking a Superior Unit rather than Standard and prices are usually only $15 more (and will guarantee you an exterior view). Our Signature Mountain Beds are one of our highlights - if a more rigid mattress is preferred we can always remove our feather mattress for you. Unfortunately, Christmas in Banff is one of the busiest and most expensive times to visit - compare our rates to others and I think you'll find some value throughout the year. We'd love to see you back and welcome you to contact us if returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed at the Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa the last week of September for two days and nights. We booked through a central booking line and were suppose to stay at another hotel but they switched us over to the Banff Caribou. When we arrived there was a mix up as we had booked under a special promotion and they didn't have our reservation. In no time at all it was straightened out and we were shown to our room. The staff at the front desk bent over backwards to make sure we received everything that the package we booked contained. The room was very quiet and clean. We were made to feel very special by all the staff that we encountered and we would definately staff at the Banff Caribou again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room that was very quiet, view overlooked the next hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews