We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The start of our Canadian honeymoon at the end of July began here and we have to say the 3 days we spent here were amazing! We had the executive loft room with a jacuzzi and a definite 10/10 for value for money. The bed was huge, with matress topper and the best pillows. The room had a gigantic floor to ceiling arch shaped window which had mountain views but also overlooked the main road into the centre of Banff (not that busy and you could't hear any road traffic from inside). There were 2 toilets, 2 flat screen TV's, a fridge. a fireplace and of course the Jacuzzi, with warm coloured lights which subtly changed colour. Wish we were back there now!
There is no air - con but we had big ceiling fans which worked a treat.
It is a 15 minute walk into town. The first day we got the free bus but after that we just walked and happened to see an elk just nosying around in someone's front garden. A great sight.
The Keg Restaurant was a bonus with it being in the hotel and the breakfast very good.
Staff were helpful and the hotel very clean.
Another good plus was the free use of the spa with the steam room a great way to recover from jet lag.
Would definetly go back to the Banff Caribou Lodge again, we loved Banff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    707
    243
    92
    31
See reviews for
322
911
64
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Although a good walk into town, there is the availability of free bus transport if you do not want a lovely 10-15 minute stroll.
Rooms are adequate and the restaurant delighted those who ate there. Friendly staff.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ProspectGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The staff are pleasant and helpful. The rooms are average quality. There are irons but no board in the room which is the last thing you need just before you're going out for dinner. Also, there is no aircondtioning so if you stay on a hot day you can expect to have your window open all night. With the window open, you'll have to listen to all the drunks wandering back to the hotel in the middle of the night along Banff Avenue. The hot tub area is badly in need of a freshening up. There is rust everywhere in the bathrooms. Also the fountain isn't working so you'll have to bring your water bottle down with you, as it's very hot and muggy in there. In general, this hotel might need some TLC to bring it up to snuff. Also, if you're driving a big vehicle (truck or SUV) you won't fit into the parking lot. You'll have to drive around and around in order to find a place to park.

Room Tip: Choose one that doesn't face Banff Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotJustaNumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The room had a nice decoration, the bathroom was great. Staff was friendly.
There ist a "Keg"-Restaurant inside the hotel - delicious.
The location is good to reach from Highway 1, free parking inside, free rides for Shuttle-Busses to the center of town.
All together: we would recommend it to friends staying in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottersforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

An older style hotel, but recently renovated. Very nice place with rustic Canadian charm. All fittings reflect something to do with the Caribou as the name suggests. The light fittings, the curtain rods, everything. Right next door is The Keg Bar and Grill. We both had steaks and I have to say they were fantastic. Quality to rival anything we have had back home in Australia. Our waitress, Susan, was very pleasant and helpful and could not do enough for us even though the restaurant was busy. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful and hotel facilities up to standard. The only complaint was that the ceiling of the carpark is very low, and I only just got the hire car in the car park. We were driving a Chevrolet Suburban, so it was a big car. Not the hotels fault, but something to note.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just returned from Canada after a wonderful holiday. In Banff we stayed at the Caribou Lodge which was a little way out of the centre of town - but only a 5-10 minute walk. The hotel provided a bus pass which enables you to get the bus into and out of town and also to the gondola at Hot Springs etc. The staff were friendly and the room clean and nicely decorated. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant which was more than adequate. Other people in our group had had their evening meal there and were very impressed with the food, especially the steak. No complaints, we enoyed our stay.

Room Tip: You are away from the hustle of the town and the bus pass is very useful if you don't want to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Great rooms and very friendly service. Would love to stay there again. Close to downtown Banff!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing