We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,247)
Filter reviews
2,247 results
Traveler rating
816
917
344
122
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
917
344
122
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeg restaurantfree bus passrocky mountaineerlovely hotelsuperior roomunderground parkingfree roamski busten minute walksteam roombuffet breakfastreception arealog firelarge hot tubwalk into townstayed here for nightsthere is no air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
1,667 - 1,672 of 2,247 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

At the foot of the Rocky Mountains, this hotel is in the national park, on the main road just outside the centre of Banff, the hotel is warm and friendly with an open fire and a Keg steak house attached. The room was lovely two double beds and was nicely decorated, it was very comfortable and relaxing. This hotel and the area of Banff really made our holiday, bus stop was a very short stride from the hotel and a short journey into the town and also to the foot of the mountain where the gondola (cablecar) is to take you up to the top where you can see mountains all around with snow covered tops. Banff is a lovely little town and would recommend a stay here, we saw lots of wild life on a tour around the mountains and lakes, mother bear and 3 cubs from a distance, dear, elk, long horned sheep, it is in the national park. The lakes are beautiful, especially Moraine Lake although a little cold as the lakes are formed from a glaciers. Would love to go back for a longer stay, even Calgary airport was amasing.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, room was excellent a newly decorated.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nectarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great hotel!! We stayed for 3 nights and loved every moment. The room was authentic, clean and spacious. The Red Earth Spa is worth a visit – perfect after our long flight and great after a busy day sight-seeing. The hotel restaurant –The Keg was great. Tasty food and good service. Our server Dallas was interesting, attentive and charming. The hotel gives guests a tourist bus pass for the duration of your stay. This allows you to directly reach key sights within Banff. The free W-fi and free carparking was also an additional perk as many of the Banff hotels did not offer this. We would definitely recommend a stay at the Caribou!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I have passed your comments on to Dallas, who is indeed interesting, attentive and charming. Thanks again - we hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Because my husband was admitted to hospital the day after we arrived in Canada with acute appendicitis, we spent several extra days at the Banff Caribou while he recovered from the surgery. This is a lovely, friendly hotel, excellent location. Staff couldn't have been kinder to us, especially Dennis, who was so helpful and reassuring to us both. Comfortable room, spotlessly clean and excellent Keg restaurant. We have recommended the Banff Caribou to several friends who hope to visit Canada next year and we hope to come back ourselves. Thank you so much. Banff itself is a delightful town set in wonderful scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val1069786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

We're happy to hear you've made it home and are in good health. Thanks you for your comments and your compliments to Dennis will surely be passed on to him. We look forward to seeing you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. Our room was spotless, the restaurant was great and the staff were very helpful. It was only a 10 minute walk into town or a short trip on the free bus.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayandpetem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We Stayed in the Caribou Superior king room and reserved a balcony. The new design is very welcoming and relaxing furniture was in perfect condition and tv worked fine.

The complaint I would say is that our balcony view of the mountains was blocked by two big pine trees and what we could see were condos of residents and a dumpster below I believe they were using for the reno waste. They also gave us a very noisy fan because there was no air conditioning. We had a problem with the shower but the maintenance man fixed it within 5 minutes of reporting it. The pillows were VERY full... hurt our necks (we have thin pillows at home) but most hotels I stay at I find the same problem. I would not say we had full value for what we paid... however if we were at the front of the hotel it probably would of been better.

Positives would include the fabulous spa, spacious beautiful bathroom, free RMSC gifts (soap, lotion, shampoo etc) lots of hot water and comfy linens, full cable channels, free bus pass to get into town (edge of town location), free local calls, very kind staff. We came on our anniversary and they provided us with free champagne. Hotel was not noisy we were not waken up once.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews