We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House
Ranked #11 of 29 Banff B&B and Inns
virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Location, location, location!!! Thanks to our hostess Jami for her kindness, hints, suggestions and amazing breakfasts. The view of the mountains from our room greeted us every morning. The rooms are spacious, with great amenities, comfy beds and the best wifi of our trip. One morning my husband wanted to leave really(6:30am) early, so we would arrive at the Columbia ice fields a 2-3 hour drive north before the crowds. We asked Jami if we could pick up a a bkfst to go and she put together an fantastic continental fare, in 2 bags ready for us in the refrigerator next to the rooms. So wonderful, so convenient and very generous. Taking our shoes off at the front door was no big deal, we do that in our home, and Jami provided house slippers. Thea's hardwood floors are stunning, and with all the hiking and walking on trails, to take our shoes off was the least we could do. We enjoyed a four night stay, and walked into downtown 3 of the 4 evenings for dinner, so convenient. The gardens surrounding our b&b were stunning! Thea's House was a perfect base to explore, relax and enjoy the Canadian Rockies.

Room Tip: Any room is great! The Cascade room was fantastic....the bed, oh the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelagentnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    11
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
59
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

I recommend that you read the other reviews to decide whether the rules are too much for you to handle. I had a wonderful, relaxing couple of days. My room was spectacular, the fireplace cozy, the bathroom relaxing, the bed restful. The internet worked. There were plenty of books, movies, and games to choose from. The movies were in alphabetical order. That's cute, not something to be outraged about. This will definitely be a return spot for us.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Subcortically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in mid-September and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was great for walking "downtown" for dinner, drinks, etc. It might be a little more challenging in winter months, but we had 60 and 70 degree temps during our days, so walking was very pleasant. Being able to walk to dinner was very nice as the traffic (again, when we were there) was less than desirable. Our hostess was very nice and it was obvious she wanted us to be comfortable and happy with our stay...and we were! Breakfasts were great and her recommendations for dining were spot on. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We love Canada and have stayed in Banff a number of times, each time choosing the gorgeous Thea's House. The whole property is so beautiful and is very convenient for walking to downtown Banff. The room we stay in is called the Edith room and it is beyond cosy! Some of the best things about our stay were (as always) the comfortable bed, the tea and coffee making area out on the landing and the delicious breakfasts. Jami is a lovely host and is clearly passionate about what she does, and about keeping a lovely clean home for her guests to enjoy. We enjoyed our stay sooooo much and will without doubt be returning to Thea's House as soon as we can afford our next trip to Canada!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gubbs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at Thea's House for three nights and were not disappointed. Jami is an excellent hostess and the property just exuded cleanliness and quality. Jami obviously takes great pride in the service that she offers and her initial introduction to new guests on arrival is in our opinion unrivalled. She covered every aspect down to the smallest detail. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice. The room was beautifully furnished although the bathroom was a little cramped. That being said, it was equipped to the very highest standards. Jami gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants, one of which - a vegetarian establishment called Nourish - was absolutely first class. My wife is vegetarian and I went along somewhat reluctantly but I had two of the best meals I have ever had thanks to Jami. Accommodation-wise this was the highlight of a two week stay in
Canada by some way.
Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgvlplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, B.C.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Our three night stay in the spacious Rundle Room was amazing ... wonderful views from both the windows and little deck, sheets like silk, comfortable pillows, plush towels and of course, it was spotless. Thea's House is beautifully decorated with lovely antiques, art and rugs to complement the hardwood floors and soaring ceilings. This is a special B&B, kept that way by Jamie's attention to detail ... she has thought of everything. Breakfast included a huge array of fresh fruit, flakey croissants, yoghurt, cereal, juice, coffee and tea, and each morning included a different yummy hot dish. The B&B is conveniently located, just a couple of blocks from Banff town centre. We followed Jamie's restaurant recommendations, and enjoyed different dinners each night, all good. Banff is expensive, it's a resort town after all, but this B&B is not much more than the local Best Western, and worth every penny.

Room Tip: The Rundle room had great views, a steam shower and huge jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seeingtheworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at Thea's House for 6 wonderful nights. We are so happy to have found this beautiful and unique Bed and Breakfast. The home is lovely with windows framing the mountains, gorgeous antiques and art reflecting the history and beauty of the area. The owner, Jami, was welcoming and helpful. She served wonderful breakfasts every morning. The home is located a few blocks from downtown Banff - close but not too close to the noisier downtown area. It was heaven and we would return in a heartbeat. Thea's house is a special place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Librarian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House

Property: Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House
Address: 138 Otter Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada (Formerly Thea's House)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thea’s House combines the old world charm of a bed & breakfast with the comfort and amenities of a boutique hotel. Thea’s House is a warm blend of pine vaulted ceilings, fir flooring and antique furniture. Designed with comfort and privacy in mind your room will be striking and spacious featuring a king size bed, gas fireplace, entertainment unit, complimentary WiFi, en-suite bathroom and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thea`s House Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing