We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything in its place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House
Ranked #2 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I recommend that you read the other reviews to decide whether the rules are too much for you to handle. I had a wonderful, relaxing couple of days. My room was spectacular, the fireplace cozy, the bathroom relaxing, the bed restful. The internet worked. There were plenty of books, movies, and games to choose from. The movies were in alphabetical order. That's cute, not something to be outraged about. This will definitely be a return spot for us.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Subcortically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 136 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in mid-September and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was great for walking "downtown" for dinner, drinks, etc. It might be a little more challenging in winter months, but we had 60 and 70 degree temps during our days, so walking was very pleasant. Being able to walk to dinner was very nice as the traffic (again, when we were there) was less than desirable. Our hostess was very nice and it was obvious she wanted us to be comfortable and happy with our stay...and we were! Breakfasts were great and her recommendations for dining were spot on. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ashmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We love Canada and have stayed in Banff a number of times, each time choosing the gorgeous Thea's House. The whole property is so beautiful and is very convenient for walking to downtown Banff. The room we stay in is called the Edith room and it is beyond cosy! Some of the best things about our stay were (as always) the comfortable bed, the tea and coffee making area out on the landing and the delicious breakfasts. Jami is a lovely host and is clearly passionate about what she does, and about keeping a lovely clean home for her guests to enjoy. We enjoyed our stay sooooo much and will without doubt be returning to Thea's House as soon as we can afford our next trip to Canada!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gubbs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at Thea's House for three nights and were not disappointed. Jami is an excellent hostess and the property just exuded cleanliness and quality. Jami obviously takes great pride in the service that she offers and her initial introduction to new guests on arrival is in our opinion unrivalled. She covered every aspect down to the smallest detail. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice. The room was beautifully furnished although the bathroom was a little cramped. That being said, it was equipped to the very highest standards. Jami gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants, one of which - a vegetarian establishment called Nourish - was absolutely first class. My wife is vegetarian and I went along somewhat reluctantly but I had two of the best meals I have ever had thanks to Jami. Accommodation-wise this was the highlight of a two week stay in
Canada by some way.
Excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgvlplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Our three night stay in the spacious Rundle Room was amazing ... wonderful views from both the windows and little deck, sheets like silk, comfortable pillows, plush towels and of course, it was spotless. Thea's House is beautifully decorated with lovely antiques, art and rugs to complement the hardwood floors and soaring ceilings. This is a special B&B, kept that way by Jamie's attention to detail ... she has thought of everything. Breakfast included a huge array of fresh fruit, flakey croissants, yoghurt, cereal, juice, coffee and tea, and each morning included a different yummy hot dish. The B&B is conveniently located, just a couple of blocks from Banff town centre. We followed Jamie's restaurant recommendations, and enjoyed different dinners each night, all good. Banff is expensive, it's a resort town after all, but this B&B is not much more than the local Best Western, and worth every penny.

Room Tip: The Rundle room had great views, a steam shower and huge jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeingtheworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at Thea's House for 6 wonderful nights. We are so happy to have found this beautiful and unique Bed and Breakfast. The home is lovely with windows framing the mountains, gorgeous antiques and art reflecting the history and beauty of the area. The owner, Jami, was welcoming and helpful. She served wonderful breakfasts every morning. The home is located a few blocks from downtown Banff - close but not too close to the noisier downtown area. It was heaven and we would return in a heartbeat. Thea's house is a special place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Librarian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Jami does a fantastic job with this B&B. The house and the grounds are in immaculate condition, and very clean. We stayed in the Edith room, which featured an awesome log bed, and a nice mountain view out the tall window, for 3 nights in early September. The location was perfect...about 3 blocks away from downtown, just far enough away to be out of reach of the noise. Breakfast was pretty good. She didn't include any meat in the 3 breakfasts we had, and we probably could have used a little protein, but by no means would this keep us from coming back. She had helpful information and great restaurant recommendations.

The reviews harping on her rules are a little silly. All she really asks is that you take your shoes off when coming in the house, and as a result, the place stays exceptionally clean...is it really that big of a deal??

If we return to Banff, we wouldn't hesitate to book another stay at Thea's House...highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGSinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House

Address: 138 Otter Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada (Formerly Thea's House)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $252 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thea’s House combines the old world charm of a bed & breakfast with the comfort and amenities of a boutique hotel. Thea’s House is a warm blend of pine vaulted ceilings, fir flooring and antique furniture. Designed with comfort and privacy in mind your room will be striking and spacious featuring a king size bed, gas fireplace, entertainment unit, complimentary WiFi, en-suite bathroom and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thea`s House Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing