We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh my, scary experiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Johnston Canyon Resort
Ranked #18 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh my, scary experiance”
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We arrived after hours at Johnston Canyon resort, Office closes at 10pm. The staff left us our keys with a letter pinned up to there after hours bulletin board. So we thought everything was fine, well upon inserting the key into our cabin door we heard voices inside... Someone had made there way into our cabin earier that evening and decided to stay!!! The people in our cabin came to the door as we were trying to get in and mentioned that they had wondered into the wrong room! As it was late they gave us there key to there cabin so we would have somewhere to sleep. Well let me tell you there cabin was AWFUL!! now I can see why they took ours. Long story short the staff didnt lock the doors after house keeping left, so you never no what to expect. In the morning once the office opened at 8 am the staff made the necassary changes so we could get the room we had reserved. It sounded as if they were sincerely sorry for this mix up and we wouldnt have to pay for the first night, Well upon checkout we did pay for it!!!! NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunnybunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    105
    48
    38
    16
See reviews for
111
123
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We just returned home from our motorcylce trip through Banff and Jasper. We stayed at the Johnston Canyon Resort for two nights. We arrived cold and wet from our ride from Jasper - only to find our cabin had no heat. The gas heater would not light. They came to try and fix it but could not get it started. We made a fire in the fireplace and the room filled with smoke! They dropped off two small electric heaters that just didn't do the trick since the weather was so cold and rainy.

The next day we expected someone to come and fix the heater - no one came! And no one contacted us with a resolution. We were very disappointed at the lack of customer service.

  • Disliked — Lack of customer service; they didn't fix our heat problem
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthwestTripster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

My wife, two teenage daughters and I enjoyed our stay in a two bedroom cabin at Johnson Canyon Resort. Our historic cabin had been renovated, with an updated bathroom (with both a soaking tub and a shower), comfortable beds and nice, period style furniture. The stone fireplace functioned very well, and wood is available on site at no extra charge. The cabin (#10, I believe) overlooked Johnson Creek, and it was pleasant to sit out on the porch while listening to the sound of the water. We cooked our meals in the kitchen, and would advise anyone considering doing the same to stop in Canmore on the way up to buy provisions, as there are no grocery stores nearby.

I have to admit that I was a bit worried when we pulled up to the place, as the area gets crowded with hikers and tourists during the day, but the cabins are separated enough from the crowd that it really isn't too much of a problem. And by the time we got back from our various activities each day, the crowds were gone and we had the canyon to ourselves.

We did have one small problem with the servicing of the cabin on our second day, but after a brief conversation at the office, everything was taken care of.

I would be happy to return.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
11 Thank Travel_2_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

This is a great place, in a wonderful setting. Our cabin was well appointed and clean on arrival. Cabins are situated in close proximity one to the other but parking is conveniuent and care has been taken to preserve trees, natural vegetation and viiews.

The only concern is with regard to service. In our 2 week stay the cabin was never cleaned, although sheets wer changed twice and fresh towels were provided intermitently. Our "please service" tag left on the door was often ignored until late in the day when we returned from a days activities and were asked - "did you want anything?" The restaurant service was also lacking. We had breakfast there most days. They do not open until 8:00 - tough if you plan a long day hiking and want an early start. Wait staff are poorly trained and food and service is inconsistent such as: food not as ordered, no utensils, no cream for the coffee, no smiles or kind words, not seeming to understand billing ot the room. These are very nice young people doing a summer job. What is missing is management, guiidance, training and the establishment of service standards.

The place is still great - it could just be made better.

  • Liked — location and setting
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMDOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

5 star for location- on the Bow valley parkway. The hikes to upper and lower falls are great and a must do. We even spotted a mightly grizzly on the way ! We had a single room cottage with fireplace( #34)- would give it a 3star only because we had problems with the maid service- they had left a pile of unwashed bed linen and old newspapers in our room which got removed promptly but partly( wonder why!) after we spoke to the Front office. We dumped the rest on the porch.The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was very clean. The sit down restaurant attached to the resort is not-so-cheap and we got some lousy service. We heard the service deficiences existed because they were closing the place for winter the very next week, so were low on staff.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank YpsiRt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

We decided to stay here based on the previous reviews we saw. We were there in September and recently saw some others say something about no visible management and it got us thinking. We think they were right. It did not seem to be necessary. We found everything well placed and friendly. If we needed something we found the crew most accommodating without having to resort to going up the ladder. We spent two nights at the Johnston Canyon Resort and enjoyed our stay in the cabin nearest the creek. Would add that it was great to get away from the crowds in Banff (we counted over a dozen coach parties while we were having an early supper in the town on the first night). The second night we just went up the road to the Storm Mountain restaurant and had a good meal. The hike is great. It is a bit crowded from around 11-4 but after and before that it seemed to quiet down. Great weather lovely mountains.Would not hesitate to return.

  • Liked — The wildlife we saw.
  • Disliked — Longer hours in the restaurant would be nicer, we are late nighters
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank floridatravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in September in a 2 person bungalow. The room (with double bed) was very small but clean and comfortable and well maintained. I had asked for a quiet location and we were in the back of the property far away from the main road, which was great. Parking was right next to the cabin. We had dinner in the main restaurant one night, which was tasty but rather expensive, and breakfast one morning in the coffee shop, which was what you'd expect from a coffee shop. The only downside to staying here is that you're about a half-hour's drive to either Banff or Lake Louise, so if you're planning on heading out to see the sights you'll have a bit of a drive to get anywhere. Beyond the Canyon itself (which is great), there isn't a whole lot to see or do in the immediate area, and not a lot of other dining options either. But if you're looking for a comfortable, quiet place to stay that's away from the bustle of the towns, I can highly recommend Johnson Canyon Resorts.

  • Liked — The comfortable cabins, the quiet
  • Disliked — The distance from town
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NewportJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
13.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
1,979 reviews
3.7 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
12.7 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
13.3 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
19.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Property: Johnston Canyon Resort
Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing