We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston Canyon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Johnston Canyon Resort
Ranked #18 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in the cabin for our August getaway and found it to be a wonderful place. We had a grand time. The weather was very cooperative. Our cabin was a classic bungalow and suited us very well.
It was located quite close to the hiking trail which made it very convenient to see the waterfalls. The trail can be busy at times. There was a fair bit of wildlife in the area too which was exciting to see in a natural environment. We would have liked to have had 2 keys but that was fine. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    97
    44
    33
    16
See reviews for
107
111
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dauphin, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I really cannot comment on the cabin as we never seen it, however I do not recommend this resort if you live further than an hour away. We booked back in July and confirmed and a week later changed the date due to work. The staff was friendly about this and confirmed the date. I actually phoned a week prior, again, to the trip and confirmed the date with them as we were driving 500km directly after work and they once again confirmed the date. We had an email directly from an employee from the resort confirming the date as well. The morning of the day we were leaving I confirmed, AGAIN, that we would be arriving late and they assured me it was okay. When we arrived just before 10pm they informed us they had no cabins left. There was something going on in the town so everywhere was booked up , the owner told us to just go back to Banff that it was our best chance. Great, thanks ?!? We finally found a place to stay after about 30mins of phoning around and then the owner 'shoed' us out of the office with his hands ! We were very polite about the entire thing and I was holding back the tears cause I was scared we would be sleeping in the car. I would never recommend this place due to the lack of professionalism. Accidents happen, it is human error, however he handled it very wrong. The young lady was kind and apolojized several times however the owner kept trying to blame the 'internet' as well as us even though we confirmed over the phone and had it in writing from his staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights in 3 different cabins and didn't like it. The cabins weren't very clean and one was so stinky we asked to change cabins. There were too many mosquitoes outside to enjoy the cabin's frontporch. The food was mediocre. The hiking trail was too crowded.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 80Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family of 4 recently spent the night at Johnston Canyon after going on the famed canyon hike.
It was a great and very unique experience. Whether you are coming from afar or a lifelong Albertan resident, you will likely appreciate the beauty and simplicity of the Johnston Canyon Resort.
We were very impressed with the cozy quaintness of our cabin. It provided a wonderful air of privacy and escape even though it was just metres away from a busy trail and highway. This is not the cabin for you if you want something spacious and upscale, and be advised that there will be no hair dryer, couch or working TV. But it is well worth it if you want to experience a serene natural setting.
As for the dining, there is both a diner and a restaurant. They both serve the exact same menus for breakfast and lunch, and I would really suggest that you go to the restaurant as you get the exact same food but at a much more relaxed and enjoyable ambience. The food is a little overpriced-you could easily spend as much on sandwiches and burgers as you would on a finer dining experience in Banff. But the food is generally very good. For dinner, the restaurant serves many good meat and seafood dishes. I really enjoyed the Pacific Salmon myself, and the trout dish was a very popular selection.
There is also a gift shop that provides a wide variety of snacks, books, stuffed animals and charming souvenirs.
Overall, I would recommend Johnston Canyon Resort as a destination or stop along the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from Penticton and it was a nice quiet place that was off the beaten path, away from the hustle of the Banff townsite. This place is not for you if you are not an outdoorsy person or one who needs to watch tv or have a fancy bathroom. The TVs don't work and offer VHS for rental in the gift shop for $5. Nice to get back to a basic experience at this resort. Only one restaurant on site with limited selection of options but good for a night.

My boyfriend was a bigger fan of here than I was, he's more rustic than i am. He liked the kind of musty cabin smell, i didn't... But it was fun and cozy for a night and the hike to see the falls is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaLiliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place allows for great photo opportunities. We saw a mountain called Pilot which is located right in front of the resort. It was named after some pioneers in the early days for its location according to a book that was for sale in their gift shop. The gift store had some fun ideas and thankfully provided some necessities for the area. There were sightings of Elk and bears along the Bow Valley Parkway which provided excellent photos. Our room was warm and comfy and the pull out hide a bed was fine too. We would like to thank housekeeping for all the wonderful room service too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We planned a trip for sometime and saw Johnston Canyon was a popular area to see the sights. Everything was fine. Cleanliness and comfort and we loved our Bungalow. We recommended it to our friends. If you can stay closer the trail is does offer a bit better view overlooking the creek. The cabins had a very classic feel to them. There was original hardwood floors and some neat decor that was iconic. We would have liked some longer bedroom curtains and sometimes the light of sun can shine through but that was only a minor detail. Other than that it was lovely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
13.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
11.5 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
20.2 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
12.6 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Property: Johnston Canyon Resort
Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing