We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Room and Setting are absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston Canyon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Johnston Canyon Resort
Ranked #18 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Room and Setting are absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We found the place very friendly and all the employees were no nice and helpful with our
stay. The location was central to what we wanted to see and explore. We cabin was comfortable and well presented. As the grounds were larger than what we thought and it would have been easier to find our cabin with a map. We were pleased with our housekeeping and also with the layout of the cabin. We would like to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    97
    44
    33
    16
See reviews for
107
111
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bragg Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The cabin we were in was a larger cabin than the others and found it very comfortable. We had planned to stay 2 days but was able to extend our stay as they had the space for us. We were grateful for this as we preferred not to have to rush back. The gift shop had some gift items we had not seen elsewhere. We had some some good suggestions for sightseeing too. The resort is located between Banff and Lake Louise which was appreciated as it allowed us to visit both places without driving too much. It is quite different driving in the mountains compared to the prairies. It was interesting to see that there is still a fair bit of snow on the mountains and that it does not completely melt over the summer. The room and setting was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were thrilled with our cabin and the close proximity to everything that we wanted to see and do in the area. We found the staff so incredibly helpful and informative. We thought that the food in the cafe was great. The best hamburger that we had during our trip. We are telling everyone that we know that if they are planning a trip to the Alberta area that they should book a cabin. It was one of the best vacations that we have ever taken. Thank you so much for everything. This exceeded our expectations.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank BW82012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Johnston Canyon Resort for our vacation and found it very comfortable. The amenities were
great and we found the cleanliness very good. It was a peaceful and relaxing stay away from the noise of the city.
We saw a bear and 2 elk along the Bow Valley Parkway which added to experience of being in the Park.The food in the
restaurant was good and we found the service was good. The Canyon burger was highly recommended. We will return soon. Hopefully in the spring.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room closer to the back of the resort if you want to be more in the forest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Harriet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Had booked the cheapest cabin and was upgraded. The cabin was heated which was nice in the early morning. The cabin was a fair size with a comfortable bed and a front porch. I enjoyed the porch in the late evening after dinner. Sitting outside watching the sun set was very enjoyable.
There is no television which did not bother me but there is a set with a video player and apparently they have movies available but I don't know if they are loaners or rentals. The staff was pleasant and willing but in need of some supervision.
I ate dinner in there and it was okay. I had a steak and since part was thinner than the other part, it was over-cooked at one end and barely cooked enough at ht other end.

I enjoyed the stay and would consider it again but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Have visited Johnston Canyon twice and stayed in the cabins each time. Both experiences were great. I believe it is a little pricey but well worth it. It's a nice experience if you are one that lives in the city or suburban areas. It's very quiet and peaceful around the cabins. The hike is nice with many beautiful views. There is so much wildlife around and can often get good photos. The mountain tops surround you and it's a great activity to do while visiting the Canadian Rockies. I recommend staying at the resort and doing the hike.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rprah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent one night in the quietest place ever in the mountains, Johnston Canyon. It's best to phone the office there directly to book. We got a duplex bungalow and an upgrade for alot less than one of the travel booking sites.
I would suggest not getting a duplex bungalow as you hear the noise of the other side of the cabin. The small cabin by itself has a porch and chairs you can sit out on and read/visit. We were in 5A which had a bright window overlooking the staff building and restaurant/gift shop. I would suggest getting a cabin further in the site, you feel that you are really part of the woods atmosphere.
There is no TV but do bring video's (not DVD's) as there is a small machine there if you want to watch something.
The room is older but clean and well equipped. A restaurant is nearby and serves a really good steak and veggies.
And the hike up to the Upper Falls is over an hour but so wonderful to see all the waterfalls, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddcCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
13.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
11.5 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
20.2 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
12.6 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Property: Johnston Canyon Resort
Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing