We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #25 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The only negative is that the room doors are facing what I would call a dingy alley. That does not mean that you need to worry about crime in this small isolated town, on the contrary everyone is friendly. The way it is located allows the lower price. The young lady staffing the desk was a delight, in every way kind and helpful. I guess they are associated with a higher end hotel across the street from the back of the rooms where you can use their spa. We were also given 2 for 1 coupons for a buffet breakfast at that hotel. The quality and varieties of food available at that buffet were nothing short of excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CaveatConsumers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    95
    72
    20
    20
See reviews for
63
87
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calabogie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Cheap and basic, but that is all we needed. Recommend. Nice staff at the front desk and close to town.
Some complaints I see, but you get what you pay for. I would go back. Wish that the pool etc was in the same hotel though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I spent four nights at the Homestead Inn and throughly enjoyed my stay.
The location is perfect for bars, restaurants and the various sights in and around Banff.
The room was clean and comfortable though if I had one criticism, and it's a minor one, it would be that the windows in the rooms could do with being upgraded for better sound insulation.
So clean, comfortable and good location but over and above these consideration the staff were excellent.
Friendly, helpful and very knowledgable, they helped me make the most of my visit by recommending various tours and places to eat.
Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank denis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Homestead Inn was in a great location - walking distance to so many shops and restaurants. The room was spacious but the double beds were tight. We enjoyed using the really nice pool and steam room across the street at the Banff Park Lodge. We were also given 1/2 price vouchers for the Banff Park Lodge breakfast buffet.
The Inn is located on one of the main streets in Banff. The biggest issue was the very loud traffic that drove by all night. We needed to have the windows open to get some cool air in the room but even with the windows closed the traffic noise would be a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The room was ok and clean but when I waled around the room it did make a lot of noise because it was not made with solid cement. It was very noisy when someone walked in their room which I found it irritating. The staff were helpful. The location is good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Homestead Inn at the beginning of July and couldn't have been happier with our stay and can't wait to go back. The price and location were so great and the room was very big and the beds so comfy! I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very clean, convenient and affordable. Would definitely stay there again. Close to all shops and restaurants. Excellent client service. Very friendly, approachable staff. No air conditioner but the fan provided was enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#13 of 28 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#5 of 28 in Banff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing