We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #23 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Calabogie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Cheap and basic, but that is all we needed. Recommend. Nice staff at the front desk and close to town.
Some complaints I see, but you get what you pay for. I would go back. Wish that the pool etc was in the same hotel though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    102
    88
    27
    25
See reviews for
76
103
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I spent four nights at the Homestead Inn and throughly enjoyed my stay.
The location is perfect for bars, restaurants and the various sights in and around Banff.
The room was clean and comfortable though if I had one criticism, and it's a minor one, it would be that the windows in the rooms could do with being upgraded for better sound insulation.
So clean, comfortable and good location but over and above these consideration the staff were excellent.
Friendly, helpful and very knowledgable, they helped me make the most of my visit by recommending various tours and places to eat.
Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank denis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Homestead Inn was in a great location - walking distance to so many shops and restaurants. The room was spacious but the double beds were tight. We enjoyed using the really nice pool and steam room across the street at the Banff Park Lodge. We were also given 1/2 price vouchers for the Banff Park Lodge breakfast buffet.
The Inn is located on one of the main streets in Banff. The biggest issue was the very loud traffic that drove by all night. We needed to have the windows open to get some cool air in the room but even with the windows closed the traffic noise would be a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The room was ok and clean but when I waled around the room it did make a lot of noise because it was not made with solid cement. It was very noisy when someone walked in their room which I found it irritating. The staff were helpful. The location is good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Homestead Inn at the beginning of July and couldn't have been happier with our stay and can't wait to go back. The price and location were so great and the room was very big and the beds so comfy! I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very clean, convenient and affordable. Would definitely stay there again. Close to all shops and restaurants. Excellent client service. Very friendly, approachable staff. No air conditioner but the fan provided was enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Homestead Inn offered large room with spacious bathroom and access to great pool and spa area in a hotel just on the opposite side of the street.
The hotel's location is 1 minute walk from picturesque bank of Bow River and 2 minutes walk from Banff's centre.
Great hospitality at reception desk-very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#22 of 33 in Banff
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 33 in Banff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
A Good Nite's Rest
A Good Nite's Rest
#17 of 28 in Banff
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#13 of 28 in Banff
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#5 of 28 in Banff
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing