We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #22 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and the staff was friendly and helpfull. Rooms are big enough and clean. With tv and a fridge.
Parking at the hotel is free and plenty of space to park. Wifi is not free but for 5 dollars a day you get a fast wifi connection.

Breakfast and pool is across the street and good.
Hotel is in walking distance from the nice city centre of Banff.

I would come back again to this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Berry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Inn217, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Homestead Inn experience! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Homestead Inn.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Homestead Inn in the future.

Sincerely,


Dee Medcalf
Lodge Manager
The Homestead Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 313 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

good basic room for the price... .....bonus you can make use of the (sister property) Banff Park Lodge pool Jacuzzi and steam/eucalyptus spa. Bathrooms dated and TV was not from this century but a good price none the less.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Inn217, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Homestead Inn experience! The Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi & Hot Tub at The Banff Park Lodge offered to our guests is very popular among our guests; we are very pleased you had the opportunity to use these facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Homestead Inn in the future.

Sincerely,


Dee Medcalf
Lodge Manager
The Homestead Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This motel is in a great location, is very clean, has super-friendly staff, and ia reasonably priced. No air-conditioning, though; and there is a fair bit of noise through walls and ceilings. I will stay here again, though, and have already recommended it to friends as good value in grossly overpriced Banff.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Scaevulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

You get plenty for what you paid for - The property is situated close to everything in town (walking distance), the staff was very welcoming and gave us all the information needed. A direct access to your room from the parking lot helps for people like us who were travelling with a lot of luggage!
The only thing I would've changed would've been a little more comfortable beds and linens, and the water pressure (too hard!).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Midgee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Although the property was dated, it seemed well kept up and clean. The staff was courteous and helpful in answering a few questions we had. The location is great for walking around in Banff and close to the river. The breakfast (with the 2 for 1 voucher) we got across the street was very good as well. We would stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank proudalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I found the staff friendly and helpful. My room was clean and a good size. The Homestead Inn is dog friendly, which is the main reason I stayed there. Access to the amenities across the road at the Banff Park Lodge is a real bonus. Unfortunately, the couple next door were a little exuberant and we could hear a bit more than we would have liked (I'm trying to be polite) but apart from the fact that the walls are thin, I would give a big thumbs up to anyone thinking of staying at the Homestead Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is clean, has fridge in room, off main street so a bit quieter on weekends but is so close to all the restaurants, it's a 3 min walk away. They also agreed to match whatever price we found on the web for discounts for the hotel. Better to book online as the internet doesn't charge the negotiable local 'surcharge' now present in Banff and Jasper. Tax in Alberta is only 5% but in Banff it's 11% so book online to avoid having a conversation about not wanting to pay this surcharge that goes towards the municipality but is not an enforceable tax as far as I understand.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Afrinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Inn217, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Homestead Inn experience! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Dee Medcalf
Lodge Manager
The Homestead Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#18 of 28 in Banff
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Edward Hotel
King Edward Hotel
#27 of 28 in Banff
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#6 of 28 in Banff
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#2 of 18 in Banff
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $56 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing