We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, amazing value, terrible staff”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #22 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2013

i live in Edmonton and come down to banff with friends on a monthly basis to ski and enjoy the scenery. We usually look for hotels of good value which the homestead offers along with reasonably spacious rooms too which we've been extremely pleased with. Housekeeping was very friendly and accommodating however the front desk staff was not friendly or welcoming at all. The girl working the front desk was full of attitude and never smiled once when addressed with our questions and seemed to be annoyed by our presence. And when we asked if there was a manager around to speak to, she claimed to be the acting supervisor and is the only person in charge. You'd think a major hotel establishment like the Homestead would have upper management readily available.

Aside from that our rooms were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennK557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Inn217, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to your expectation. Here at The Homestead Inn we take great pride in our customer service, so I am very surprised by your comments of the Front Desk Agent serving you.

Although a Manager is not always on site at The Homestead Inn, we always have a manager on duty at one of our sister properties who should have been contacted to help you.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future and will contact you privately to resolve this concern to your utmost satisfaction.

Sincerely,


Dee Medcalf
Lodge Manager
The Homestead Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 314 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was a very nice and good budget place to stay at. Had to walk across the street to go to the pool but thats alright because most hotels you have to walk through a maze to find the pool. enjoyed our stay very much and would gladly stay there again,

Room Tip: Lower floors are easier to come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Braeden O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Inn217, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Homestead Inn experience!

The Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi & Hot Tub at The Banff Park Lodge offered to our guests are very popular; we are very pleased you had the opportunity to use these facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Homestead Inn in the future.

Sincerely,


Dee Medcalf
Lodge Manager
The Homestead Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Homestead Inn during a conference. The staff were very friendly, parking was free, and my room was clean and comfortable. I especially appreciated several specific features: The room was quiet; it had heavy drapes so it kept the early morning light out; the bed was very comfortable; and it had great water pressure in the shower. It is also walking distance to all the cool shops in Banff. All the amenities in the hotel across the street were available to me, including a great pool, hot tubs, sauna, and fitness room. It is not a luxury motel, but I thought it was great value...the rates were amazing for downtown Banff...and I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mary Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The price was fabulous! That was a big factor in us picking this place. The room was spotless and the location was prime. We were in walking distance to everything which is important when travelling with two children. The pool across the street was beyond our expectation; very clean and modern. I thought walking across the street to go to the pool would be a nuissance especially in winter but it wasn't a problem at all. I would highly reccomend this place for familys travelling on a buget. Once again, price and location can't be beat!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Shauna-Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've stayed at the Homestead Inn a number of times while out snowboarding and enjoying activities the Rockies have to offer; the price and proximity to downtown can't be beat! The staff at the front desk are always so helpful and very knowledgeable in regards to what's going on in and around Banff during the day and at night. The Inn is within steps of some of Banff's best restaurants (such as the Bison) and a block away from Banff Ave (main street). Hotel guests also get access to the pool and hot tub at the hotel across the street. I give the Homestead Inn 10 tourists getting too close to wild animals out of 10.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank TaylorLys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was clean and tidy and well-put together. Location was awesome, downtown Banff. Weird that the pool was in the hotel across the street but it was big and beautiful even with a fireplace sitting area!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank yippster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had an appointment at the local hospital and the Homestead Inn's location was perfect. It is also close to downtown, restaurants, etc., so an excellent location. It is obviously an older hotel and could use some updates but in general was clean and the staff very helpful. We were also allowed to bring our pet which was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Norma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#17 of 28 in Banff
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#6 of 28 in Banff
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $56 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing