We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #20 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was clean and tidy and well-put together. Location was awesome, downtown Banff. Weird that the pool was in the hotel across the street but it was big and beautiful even with a fireplace sitting area!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank yippster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    99
    75
    23
    21
See reviews for
68
94
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had an appointment at the local hospital and the Homestead Inn's location was perfect. It is also close to downtown, restaurants, etc., so an excellent location. It is obviously an older hotel and could use some updates but in general was clean and the staff very helpful. We were also allowed to bring our pet which was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Norma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esko, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on a ski vacation. Enjoyed using the steam room and hot tub in the sister property across the street. Breakfast was awesome. Front desk folks were friendly and helpful- offered good suggestions for dinner. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We needed somewhere cheap to stay on the way to Invermere and this fitted the bill perfectly . Friendly staff, comfortable clean room, really handy position to wander and find eating places - Melissa's was great for breakfast, good value for money. Had only passed though Banff before so enjoyed checking the place out. Didn't use the facilities over the road- Banff Hot Springs was too inviting, but nice to have the option.

Room Tip: Was handy having bottom floor near car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SueSam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

great value for the money-the room was not fancy, however was very clean, and was larger than average. It was very quiet, so we slept well-the central location made it very convenient for shopping, or venturing out to the nearby pub for a drink....would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryCalgarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a conference at sister hotel Banff Park Lodge and stayed at Homestead so we could bring our dog along. Great location, right next door to Melissa's restaurant and across street from Banff Park Lodge. Rooms were very dated and could really use a renovation, but what it lacked in style, was made up for in service level (very nice staff) and also cleanliness. We will be back should we travel with our pet again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Sue_HCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My Fiance and I stayed here recently for 2 nights(weekend of my birthday in Feb 2013)
Its a great location walking distance to everything, Irish Pub around around the corner and Indian Restaurant(by the way don't eat here-worst Indian food ever and expensive!) Just thought I would share that too!
Clean, very reasonable for money. Great that can use facilities in hotel across the road and we got a 2 for 1 Buffet Breakfast which was great!
One thing that upset the weekend was on the Sat when we returned late that evening after long day of sight-seeing our door was open!!! The beds were made lights were on and nothing had been taken thank god!! It was obvious the maid had done this we didnt kno how long it had been since she was there like i said we were gone early morning to late evening anything could of happened to our belongings. All our gifts jewellery etc..
When we addressed this to the receptionist she did not show much concern just said "oh we have a new cleaner in" she was justifying the new cleaner had made a mistake been new and all well it was just not good enough if anything had been taken. That was all they never showed much concern even when we were checking out i brought it up again. Overall we were happy with everything until that incident!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Amie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#12 of 28 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Edward Hotel
King Edward Hotel
#27 of 28 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing