We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed in a 'deluxe' one bedroom apartment - these are situated on the ground floor and so had a patio rather than a balcony. It also meant that we could hear the somewhat excitable children in the apartment above us. However, given that we had a cracking thunderstorm during our stay, the noise didn't bother us too much. The apartments are cozy and have good self-catering facilities, though some of the kitchen units are starting to look a little worn. The staff in reception responded really well when we asked them to sort little niggles, such as the hairdryer they supplied blowing the fuse and turning all the lights off! The bedroom was comfortable and we got a very good nights sleep. Although we stayed here in the summer, we made use of the fire, for which free firewood was supplied. We didn't however use the on-site hot pools, as the cloudy and stormy weather didn't encourage to get into our swimwear. We were happy to be away from the hustle and bustle of Banff as we could relax in the peaceful surroundings, but if you want to be centrally located, this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeedaSeaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    601
    232
    105
    45
See reviews for
827
619
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

8 of us stayed in a 3 bedroom lodge which was spacious enough for all of us and had everything we needed for our 5 day stay.(Especially the washing machine and dryer) Staff onsite were excellent and couldn't do enough to help us . The complimentary bus to town, which takes 5mins, made the slightly out of the way location easy to get to downtown Banff

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighlanderNo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

I totally agree with Brekat's review. We stayed in one of the one bedroom basement condos too and had similar problems.

Cons
-Condo feels cramped and claustrophobic due to the basement style
-Resort is cramped - they really packed in far too many units to make it comfortable.
-Parking spaces are narrow and hard to find near your condo
-Curtains in bedroom are not long enough so the lights inside the resort stream in keeping you awake. Also right below parking area so you get noise from people walking to their cars in the morning. You also want to keep the curtains closed permanently.
- Views from the condos are not spectacular. Lots of trees block the mountains.
-the hot tub is packed
-always felt like people were around. Not a romantic secluded get away!
-OVERPRICED
-need 4 days for grocery delivery. We booked late so missed out.
-heating isn't good - cold in the bathroom, hot in the bedroom etc.
-Can hear people upstairs
-wanted to keep curtains closed all the time due to people walking around and being able to see in


Pros
Front desk staff were nice
Kitchen facilities
Wood fireplace with provided wood and matches.

Banff is actually a nice little town. I suggest staying there or even Canmore just outside Banff is also nice for its facilities and easy for exploring the park. Probably cheaper too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluejay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spent four nights at Hidden Ridge, in a queen one bedroom. I would say the best thing is the quality of service received from all employees who we encountered. Kim at check-in was amazing - she detailed all kinds of information for us, and when we mentioned the next day was my husband's birthday, she had a lovely handwritten card and a bottle of wine delivered to our room. The housekeeping staff was also very friendly.

The location is beautiful, and the bus into town was most welcome when my husband had other plans for the day. We were delighted with our stay, and were sad to have to leave.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delphi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Poin, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Been to lot's of hotels, i would have to say value is pretty good for what comes in rooms, my children enjoyed the stay very much and hotel staff were courteous at all times, you also get a free pass on bus which takes you downtown which my children used to their full potential, The only knock i would give is that it does not have any air conditioning, think these rooms are more geared for winter activities than anything, but it does get pretty hot in banff in summertime,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelliingPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed for two nights in July with our infant son and two dogs. This place is pet friendly which is why we short listed it right away. The fee was $25 a night extra for the pets I believe. We stayed in a two room plus loft unit. It was spacious, though having everything spread out over 3 floors got a little old quickly as the stairs are steep and not kid friendly at all. We used the bar stools from the kitchen as a type of baby gate to keep the stairs off limits for our boy.

The beds were comfortable, but on the small side. There were ample TVs available and we even used the DVD machine provided. It was nice having two bathrooms. The place wasn't as secluded or "cabin-like" as we were expecting, but we still enjoyed our stay. The only real negative of the place was all of the partying young people who arrived on the Friday night. They were loud, partying, and walking around with beers in hand. At least security seemed to handle it relatively fast so that we didn't have to listen to it all night. We were happy to be checking out the next morning for that reason though.

Would we stay again? Possibly, but we plan to check out other options next go around.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HockeyFan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed here recently for my sister in law's bachelorette and found the resort to be just "okay". We stayed in a ground floor one bedroom condo which was decent enough but not worth 400.00 for the night by any means, even if this is Banff!! The beds were very uncomfortable as were the pillows and the curtains did not fully cover the windows so the morning light shone right in your face and we had to use our hair clips to close the blinds in the front window so the people barbequing right in front of our door couldn't see us. Everything was small and meh and dim and parking was tough to find. The hot pools are very little and very crowded in the evening so we opted to drive up to the hot springs instead. The pro's were that staff were very friendly here and we loved having the fireplace and the s'more package available from the front desk. I just would not stay here again for that price and how uncomfy we were.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
We're always sorry to hear that a stay isn't perfect. We take great pride in our Mountain Feather Beds and if a structural problem is creating discomfort we are very interested in hearing about it during your stay. Regarding pillows, we are contacted by countless guests and ship pillows all over the country for those who just can't get enough! We do stock a variety of pillows that will satisfy most people - always call our front desk to ensure we can help. Rates for one bedroom units could not reach $400 - please contact us in case a mistake has been made on the account. We would love to have you back and turn your experience around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing