We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed for two nights in July with our infant son and two dogs. This place is pet friendly which is why we short listed it right away. The fee was $25 a night extra for the pets I believe. We stayed in a two room plus loft unit. It was spacious, though having everything spread out over 3 floors got a little old quickly as the stairs are steep and not kid friendly at all. We used the bar stools from the kitchen as a type of baby gate to keep the stairs off limits for our boy.

The beds were comfortable, but on the small side. There were ample TVs available and we even used the DVD machine provided. It was nice having two bathrooms. The place wasn't as secluded or "cabin-like" as we were expecting, but we still enjoyed our stay. The only real negative of the place was all of the partying young people who arrived on the Friday night. They were loud, partying, and walking around with beers in hand. At least security seemed to handle it relatively fast so that we didn't have to listen to it all night. We were happy to be checking out the next morning for that reason though.

Would we stay again? Possibly, but we plan to check out other options next go around.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HockeyFan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,807 - 1,813 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed here recently for my sister in law's bachelorette and found the resort to be just "okay". We stayed in a ground floor one bedroom condo which was decent enough but not worth 400.00 for the night by any means, even if this is Banff!! The beds were very uncomfortable as were the pillows and the curtains did not fully cover the windows so the morning light shone right in your face and we had to use our hair clips to close the blinds in the front window so the people barbequing right in front of our door couldn't see us. Everything was small and meh and dim and parking was tough to find. The hot pools are very little and very crowded in the evening so we opted to drive up to the hot springs instead. The pro's were that staff were very friendly here and we loved having the fireplace and the s'more package available from the front desk. I just would not stay here again for that price and how uncomfy we were.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2010

We're always sorry to hear that a stay isn't perfect. We take great pride in our Mountain Feather Beds and if a structural problem is creating discomfort we are very interested in hearing about it during your stay. Regarding pillows, we are contacted by countless guests and ship pillows all over the country for those who just can't get enough! We do stock a variety of pillows that will satisfy most people - always call our front desk to ensure we can help. Rates for one bedroom units could not reach $400 - please contact us in case a mistake has been made on the account. We would love to have you back and turn your experience around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My family of 25 people, 16 under 13 years of age stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort for three nights. The staff in the office and working around the resort were very accommodating and helpful in every way. The rooms were very clean and well stocked of the necessities needed for families. The barbecue area was great and the location of the rooms for a group were perfect. The pools are great for families. The location of the resort is in a good location for hiking.

The only recommendation that I would make is that more picnic tables be available for use in all areas of the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenser88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2010

Great feedback - thank you. We have ordered more picnic tables for the resort and should be in place for September! Hope to see your family back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We were all very pleased when we arrived at the Hidden Ridge Resort - we were in a large log cabin which was very clean and had a fab jacuzzi bath in the main bedroom. The site had a small pool and outdoor jaccuzi for everyone to use and had several large BBQ's situated over the small site for anyone to use which we did - the reception supply all the utensils. The town of banff is a short drive 2 mins and there is also a bus which comes into the resort which takes you into the town free with your resort pass and brings you back which was brilliant. I would definately go back to the Hidden Ridge if I was to return to Canada

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheekie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. Upon arrival we were offered a discounted upgrade to a 1 bedroom condo with loft conversion. We accepted the upgrade and were glad we did. Aside from the extra room, it was also on the second floor, giving us a balcony with nice views. The condo was very clean, spacious and well equipped with free WIFI. Although the resort is a few miles out of Banff, free bus passes are provided and we made use of the quick and efficient bus service to and from Banff both evenings. Although there are no dedicated parking spots, we found a space outside our condo without trouble on each occasion.

We had a great time here and would recommend it to anyone visiting Banff. Our only criticism was that the bedroom window in the loft conversion and the window high up in the living area didn't have any curtains meaning the person sleeping upstairs was in sunlight from the early hours. Other than that we couldn't fault Hidden Ridge and really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KaiserChiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

After 3 nights elsewhere on a not so great bed, this place rocked. Beds are very comfy. Price can be offset by the savings on food if you cook twice a day, easily. We WILL do that next time. We had a 1 bdrm suite and ours was nice. Bathroom exhaust fan didn't work but, feh! Not my house. Staff I encountered were very nice, helpful and yes, young. 2 staffers tried to comfort me when I found the Blackhawks had dismantled the Stanley Cup winning team. I consoled myself with beer (Kokanee, of course) and a soak in the hot tub with SIX very pleasant young ladies form Calgary on a getaway. The combination helped console me greatly. Location of resort is both good and bad. Good if you don't want to be in town, bad if you want to enjoy the nightlife and walk back to your room. It's DARK out there. Room was clean and if you call the front desk for something, 5 minutes, it's there. Oh yeah, the view from the pool area is Really nice!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianjustMrWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Wow we stayed for 3 nights. Two nights in the king suite with the hot tub on the balcony. We got a two night special on the last night we switched to one bedroom room (the basement ones) If you can induldge yourself the king suite is to die for. The basement room needs some improvements ie - more light (really dark) and the matresses need replacing they have the beloved curve to the center. However the king suite room which my review is based on had everything. The pictures show it all! The sauna and pool area was also great. Lobby had free coffee, tea and hot chocolate. A lovely place to read a paper in the early morning. There is underground parking. Free wood for the fireplaces and really nice b-ques. The free bus passes were great and the bus is so easy to catch 2-3 minute ride to town. Stops all over Banff. We did an atv adventure with Banff Adventures in Yoho national park - wow!!! Lake Moraine near Louise was even prettier than Louise. Front desk staff - GREAT!!! Service means a great deal to me and they were wonderful. They suggested places to visit, restaurants and just great conversations so helpful. I had a chance to see two bedroom suites and family room and they were very nice. Hiking paths every where and great views. Oh and if you love wine make sure to stop at the Banff Wine Store - it's a hidden gem! Must eat at the Maple Leaf Restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daydayday0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $110 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing