We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed February 15, 2007

We stayed at this hotel in the 1st week of february for 4 nights. We had a room with a loft, which could have accommadated up to 8 persons but we were only 2.
We did not ask for our rooms to be cleaned up since we did not use the kitchen and did not want to pick up after ourselves. The room was clean when we came in but not extreamly clean like some people would like it to be. We did not mind.
The hot tub was great but did get loud in the evening because everybody seems to end up there and talk, we liked it.
The fact that the public bus pick-up was right there was a plus for us. Taxi fair to go in town was around 7$cdn. The walk down town was about 8-10 min. But the walk back up to the hotel was a little harder since your going uphill.
The nights were peaceful and the view from our patio door was great beautiful montain peaks.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank mmkwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,007 - 2,013 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2007

We stayed at Hidden Ridge, Banff, for 10 nights (skiing) at the end of Jan / start of Feb 2007. We made our booking through "Ski Big 3", and got one of the newer 6-8 person condos for around $CAN 300 per night.

Our group was 5 strong, and although the condos suggest they will accommodate up to 8, we thought 6 was the most they would take comfortably.

The location

Hidden Ridge is located up the hill from Banff town near a couple of other "resorts" - it is about 5-7 mins car ride, and you wouldn't want to walk it as it is a pretty steep hill at parts (never mind the cold!). There's plenty of free parking in Banff town though.

If you prefer there is a regular bus service, or a taxi costs about $CAN 6 (under £3) each way.

Being away from town, it is much quieter than some town resorts, so much so that we saw a wolf and a couple of deer roaming around (doubtless on the hunt for left-over food).

However, at weekends it got a bit noisier as the place got full, including with some slightly rowdier groups like stag parties. It also made it slightly crowded with cars - we often got back in an evening to find that someone had nicked the parking space next to our condo. That doesn't sound bad, until you realise that the bedrooms are on the ground floor about 10 feet from "your" parking space - we were woken one night at 5 am by what we thought were early rising skiers, but which turned out to be other guests who'd gone to sit in their big 4x4 for a smoke (engine running and lights on!) for about 20 minutes!

Banff itself is the ideal location from which to access the local ski areas of Norquay, Sunshine and Lake Louise (Lake Louise has a "village" but it is so small, you'd see it all in 5 minutes). The ski area and Banff are so good that they were recently voted the world's best ski resort.

The site

The site itself is pleasant and clean, with the condos and other accommodation arranged around a circular road through the site. In the middle is the large (and very welcome) hot tub - which can get busy on weekend evenings especially. You can see a plan of it on their website.

The hot tub was great, save when it was overcrowded with frat boys on a weekend outing. At times it also ran out of towels, which was not fun given that you have to run back in the cold to your condo. One of our group also ripped his swim trunks on some badly maintained tiling.

The accommodation

There are a few different types of accomodation at Hidden Ridge. There are older "A" frame buildings which others have written about - they looked okay from the outside, but were clearly older. There are also apartments/studio type blocks, though we were glad not to stay in them as we've read that they can be pretty noisy from above.

We stayed in one of the newer (I'd guess 2 years old) modern condos. These are arranged on 3 floors, and the condo is itself half of the building "block" it is in (the other half being another condo). However, this might make it sound bigger than it is - as I said, we reckon 6 people tops could get in comfortably.

There is apparently a higher grade of condo which is the entire block size, so if you have a group of 8 or more, we'd suggest you go for that, assuming they are not ridiculously priced. For 6 or less, our type was fine, save that there was very little storage given the number of people they are said to accommodate. Given that most people come here to ski, it was an odd omission that there was little space for hanging up ski gear or putting ski boots etc.

The rooms

The condo had 2 bedrooms and a bathroom (shower only) on the ground floor, as well as a small hanging space for coats/boots.

One small concern was the window vent on one of the bedrooms - the exterior window was a full door length in height and only locked in place with 2 plastic clips - if anyone got through that (very easy probably), then only a mesh screen would be between them and your valuables. That said, we didn't have any problems.

Up the stairs was a further bathroom (bath with shower over, and the washing machine/dryer) - our only gripe here was that the bath/shower didn't drain properly, so taking a shower left you standing in a few inches of water by the end.

On the first level, there was also the kitchen and living area. Again, for a condo said to take up to 8 people, we thought this was a tad small (though it was fine for 5); for example, there is only a sofa that seats 3, and the dining table only has 6 chairs, which we thought was a bit of a give away.

The living area had a small balcony off it, though it was so cold we never used it. It also had a good size flat screen TV, DVD player and open fire with wood and kindling supplied.

The kitchen was a full kitchen with hob, oven, grill, microwave, fridge/freezer and dishwasher. If you wanted to be, you could be fully self catering. We had no problems with it, and anything we left in the sink was also cleaned up by the staff daily.

The mezzanine level is accessed by a further staircase, and is open to the living area below. Ironically this has most space for hanging and storage, as well as containing 2 Queen size beds. Being open, it obviously meant that whoever was in it couldn't go to sleep until everyone else had gone to their own bedroom. Its also worth bearing in mind that the sofa bed in the living area isn't private for the same reason.

All bedrooms had their own TV, but Canadian TV was not that great and we were so tired we hardly switched them on. The fittings were also very nice and as modern as you could want them to be.

Cleaning etc

The rooms have a general service (basic) every day, and a full clean (Vacuuming, clean sheets etc) every 3 days. Also, if you left the towels in the bath, they'd be replaced, as were the free toiletries every day. The only thing not cleaned was the fireplace, but that was small potatoes really.

Overall impression

For a group outing Hidden Ridge was ideal. If you are a party animal, you might want somewhere in town. For couples after a romantic trip, it wouldn't be my first choice. With all the stairs etc its also only for the able bodied.

Enjoy ! (and please leave me a thumbs up if this was useful!)

Michael

Stayed: February 2007
34  Thank LawyerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2006

We stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort over Christmas 2006. On our last night after coming back to our lodge at about 8.30pm we disturbed a burglar who was trying to enter the lodge from the back. Only one of the double glazed panels locked and he (or she) was trying to break into the inner door which had a lock but not a very good one. My boyfriend immediately telephoned reception after pursuing the burglar and they said the incident would be looked into. We have heard nothing since. No one came to see if we were OK or to ask us more about what happened. I don't think I would stay here again because I would not feel secure. The lodge was also very noisy as there is no sound insulation between the ground floor and first floor lodge so you can hear the toilet flushing and people walking around the lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nylon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRRGM, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2007

Thank you for your review of our hotel establishment. Although I can appreciate your concerns, I would like to mention that I remember specifically dealing with this issue (along with my Front Office Manager) and concluding that it was not in fact a 'burglar', but 2 kids who thought the unit was their family's - a simple misunderstanding. Our property is monitored on a regular basis by security officers and they are here to deal with any issues that arise. Our staff did the best they could to accommodate you; they were in fact concerend, and asked your boyfriend if he was ok, to which he responded he was and did not want to bother getting the RCMP involved when we asked. Further to this, I had direct correspondence with both you and your boyfriend after the fact. As I mentioned at that time, please know that we take our guests' safety and security very seriously; as soon as we are alerted to a situation, we investigate appropriately and do everything we can to make our guests feel safe while the situation is handled either by our security officers or, if necessary, the RCMP/police. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope that this incident will not prevent you from returning to our resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2006

I went to this resort with my fiancee and my best friend and her husband. We had a great stay and loved our room! The pcitures are exactly the same as the room itself - A one bedroom plus pull out couch with a kitchenette. The firewood is free and the kitchenette is well equipped. We stayed in during the night and played board games with a fire and some wine, and in the morning made our own breakfast. The only complaint is that you can hear other people above you as Banff is a party town, but if you are there to have a good time then this is a great retreat from the city. The hot tub with the cool winter weather was a wonderful relaxing opportunity after the sun set, and the staff were amazing and very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.


  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Catty96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

Date: September 20 - 24, 2006. Dlx One-bedroom unit#167
Surrounded by the snow capped Canadian Rockies, and next to a camp ground, with a ktichenette and floor heating system, it was more than a just a hotel, it was a retreat! The staff was wonderful, and helpful. Specail thanks to Aaron, who went out of his way to help us! We checked in on a Wednesday and we had wonderful couple of days... until a group of ladies checked in to the unit above us on Friday night. We could hear their every step... and when they started dragging the dining table, it sounded like we were under attack! The evening supervisor, Steve kindly spoke to them and that helped a little, but apparently they had dragged the dining table & chairs to the uncarpeted area where the noise couldn't be muffled, so every time they pulled out the chair, it made a horrible sound!
Steve said, only way to avoid that is to rent the dlx 1-bdrm w/ loft for $60/night extra... there were only two of us, and that meant we'd have to to walk up the stairs to get to the unit... it was not only more costly, but difficult for my husband who has difficulty walking... no, there are no elevators.
It is too bad, because this was our ONLY complaint. So if you don't have anyone who has problems using the stairs, or is physically challenged, then we definitely recommend reserving the upstairs unit, albeit at additional price.
If it was not for the "upstairs" noise issue, I would have mailed the "guest comment" questionnaire with "excellent" ratings in all catagory, but since this incident happened on the last 2 days, and our sleep was interrupted by people walking above.... I will not be sending one.
I am not sure if we would be returning to this property in the future. Too bad everything else was terrific, the front desk clerk, Amanda was terrific, the maintenance man Ryan, again Aaron... they were outstanding... the building in question where we stayed looks new, and very well kept, but the noise is from the building itself, so there is nothing they can do... that means this problem will not be resolved...
OH and one more thing, there is no restaurant on premise. So you'd be doing most of your cooking in the unit, OR driving to restaurants (they also have free shuttle service right to the main street of Banff).
Karen from Honolulu, HI

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Karen_Honolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2006

Very disappointed with stay here. Staff were extremely rude and unhelpful on check in and continued throughout the stay. Although our first impression of the room was good, this did not last. We stayed in a ground floor room. This was extremely noisy. Could hear everything happening in the surrounding condos - parties until 6 in the morning on both nights we stayed. Rooms were not serviced well. Dirty towels were left behind - and towels are the only thing they change. For the price they charge, this is not acceptable. This was the worst accommodation we had in our 3 weeks in Canada. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave'n'Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

we stayed in a Deluxe one Bdrm loft condo (one bdrm & a full bath downstair and two queen with 1/2 bath at the loft.) for total 3 nights on aug 14, 2006. the deco for the cabin is very lovely, neat, and warm. we had a chance to stay in both newer and older cabins since we booked it for seperate dates. the layout and furniture for both cabins are very similar but i prefer an older cabins because the room is larger and more comfortable. i don't like the newer cabin because the loft space in the newer cabins is much smaller. also, there is a big window (no blind) facing the loft. there is no privacy at night once you turn on the light. people can see through it from the parking lot. another drawback: we heard the sound of the trains and horns every night and morning during our stays. overall, we had a great time there.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ht2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#10 of 33 in Banff
2,230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $98 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing