We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2006

Very disappointed with stay here. Staff were extremely rude and unhelpful on check in and continued throughout the stay. Although our first impression of the room was good, this did not last. We stayed in a ground floor room. This was extremely noisy. Could hear everything happening in the surrounding condos - parties until 6 in the morning on both nights we stayed. Rooms were not serviced well. Dirty towels were left behind - and towels are the only thing they change. For the price they charge, this is not acceptable. This was the worst accommodation we had in our 3 weeks in Canada. Look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff and the very noisy rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave'n'Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    601
    233
    105
    45
See reviews for
828
621
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2006

we stayed in a Deluxe one Bdrm loft condo (one bdrm & a full bath downstair and two queen with 1/2 bath at the loft.) for total 3 nights on aug 14, 2006. the deco for the cabin is very lovely, neat, and warm. we had a chance to stay in both newer and older cabins since we booked it for seperate dates. the layout and furniture for both cabins are very similar but i prefer an older cabins because the room is larger and more comfortable. i don't like the newer cabin because the loft space in the newer cabins is much smaller. also, there is a big window (no blind) facing the loft. there is no privacy at night once you turn on the light. people can see through it from the parking lot. another drawback: we heard the sound of the trains and horns every night and morning during our stays. overall, we had a great time there.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ht2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed for four nights as part of a 3 week trip to canada, my wife and young child. Fantastic views all around and nicely situated away from the main town so it's not too noisy. This can be a problem for some if you have a young child or are elderly. It's only about a 10 min walk down a sloping road. I really liked the wood burning fires and constant suply of wood. The rooms were more than adequate and I've stayed in worse four stars. My only greivance is not with the hotel but with the trains that go by every night at two in the morning sounding their horn. woke everyone up without fail time and time again. Really annoying

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — trains in the am
  • Tips/Secrets — get some ear plugs
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank might
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

Our family of 5 spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom loft unit. This resort has one of he best locations in Banff, very secluded and quiet. There is a centrally located hot tub and a large fire pit area so you can experience a camping experience but stay in a comfortable bed. This resort could be one of the best in Banff except for one small problem-they don't clean your room from one day to the next, that means no vacuuming or cleaning of bathrooms. If you are here for 1 night that is not a issue but for several days (with 3 teenage boys) the lack of cleaning quickly becomes obvious. If the resort was inexpensive I could perhaps accept this but at $500.00 a night this is a joke/insult!
We usually stay at the Douglas Fir resort when in Banff and that is where we will be going back to, they do clean your cabin/room daily.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevindd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

We stayed four days and three nights at the Resort and every day was a pleasant experience. The staff was most courteous in assisting with our needs. The accomodations in our chalet had everything that we could think of for daily use. The serenity of the property was very appealing and it was only a five minute drive to downtown Banff.

Overall, we had thouroughly enjoyed our stay and plan on coming back next year.

Roger Kirk
Memphis, TN

  • Liked — serenity of property
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Tips/Secrets — buy food for refrigerator before coming to Banff
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank captainrpkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

For the last three Australian summers, we've had extended skiing holidays in Canada. The skiing and facilities are so good that we don't ski in the southern hemisphere anymore. With our limited holiday budgets, it's simply better value-for-money. We usually come for 3-4 weeks in February/March and mainly ski in the eastern Rockies. Because of the consistent snow quality at Sunshine Village, we now stay in Banff for most of our trip. This we year, we spent the entire month there. We prefer to stay in condos (cost, self-catering etc) and have tried several in Banff, Kimberley, Fernie and Panorama. AFTER OUR FIRST STAY AT HIDDEN RIDGE RESORT, WE WON'T STAY ANYWHERE ELSE IN BANFF. Our 'team' is getting bigger each year (a mixture of families, couples etc), but all really like it there. The rates are similar to other condo resorts, but the features/faciliites are better ... very well-equipped, more modern units; extremely clean (including the grill/oven - don't you hate that!); the feather-top beds are really comfortable; the outdoor hot tub is huge and not too hot (for a long soak); and the staff are genuinely friendly and efficient. All things considered, it's the nicest place we've stayed anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing