We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Ridge: Top notch service, views and value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We just returned from our first trip to Banff.
After extensive research, we elected to stay at Hidden Ridge, as opposed to the better known Fairmonts in Banff or Lake Louise, and based primarily on the reviews we read here. Although the Fairmonts are supposedly the more 'upscale' hotels, we felt the ambiance at Hidden Ridge seemed better suited our personalities, and we were definitely not disappointed.
While in Banff, we also had the occasion to see two of the other properties operated by Banff Lodging Company, the Fox and the Caribou, and we thought they were both extremely nice as well, but are both located on the main drag in Banff, which we didn't really care for. We wanted to be a bit more isolated, as this was a romantic getaway for us.
As it turned out, the choice was perfect!

We stayed in one of the Premier Jacuzzi suites, which are located directly above the lobby. We were a bit concerned about the noise level, being there, and so close to the hot pools, but we needn't have been. The rooms are adequately soundproofed, and the staff is quite good about shooing guests out of the pools when they close at 10 p.m.
When we arrived, there was a minor mixup about which of the suites we had reserved, but the staff was wonderful, and it was resolved quickly, and completely to our satisfaction. Additionally, Filip from the front desk arrived at our room not long after we checked in with a bottle of wine and a hand-written letter of apology, expressing concern over our difficulty, and making sure everything was OK with us. Talk about customer service! We were suitably impressed.

The room itself was excellent: clean and neat, with excellent amenities. Downstairs is the living area, with a small kitchenette, dining area and living room with fireplace, and a balcony with a 4-person sized hot tub. The king sized bed is located in the upstairs loft, and the bed itself was incredibly comfie, which is one of my pet peeves when traveling...uncomfortable hotel beds. Not so here. We both slept like babies the entire week. The toiletries were a pleasant surprise as well, being locally made from a little bath shop in town, The Rocky Mountain Soap Company. (I bought a lot of their stuff to bring home, I liked it so much!)
The hot tub was absolutely worth the extra money for the room. At night, we would come in from skiing, and relax in it with a glass of wine or an Irish coffee, and look down at Banff, or up at the stars...total romance!
While we didn't take advantage of the hot pools...THIS time...they looked like a blast, and there seemed to be an eclectic crowd gathered in them every night. There is also a very nice sauna adjacent to the pools, and when we go back, I will definitely be roasting in it some.

Overall, we felt the service to be top notch. Requests for firewood (free) was delivered promptly, and any requests to housekeeping for extra towels or whatnot was handle just as quickly and efficiently. The front desk is happy to arrange excursions or offer suggestions, or just plain help out.

At this point, I'd like to recommend one of the services they offer...use of the facilities at the other Banff Lodging Company hotels: the Caribou Ski School in particular. We got the services of Traci for three days, and were completely blown away. We think she's the best ski instructor we've seen. She is patient, funny, personable and just an excellent teacher. She can take a total novice from zero to zooming down green runs in just three days. We HIGHLY recommend her. Just ask the front desk to set you up. They can also get you discounted lift tickets, and arrange for equipment rental.

We also can recommend the Red Earth Spa, located in the Caribou, and reservations can be made via the front desk as well. The spa was uncrowded, the ambiance was excellent, very tranquil and soothing, and the massage therapists were wonderful.

About the only thing we can think of that we didn't like about the room was the complete lack of drawer or clothing storage, although we worked around that by using the shelves, and our suitcases creatively.
Otherwise, we absolutely loved Hidden Ridge, and were simply tickled to death by our stay. We will most definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MoonlitMagnolias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,861 - 1,867 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2010

Stayed in the one bedroom condo for 3 nights. Wonderful experience. Very spacious unit. Firewood and starter provided free for the fireplace in room. Staff are friendly and helpful. Quite surroundings. 2 minutes to Banff downtown by car.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Munf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at the Hidden Ridge with 4 kids in the 2 bedroom + loft suite. Pools are very nice, 1 big hot tub and another more like a pool. View is amazing, still close to downtown and easy access to everything. Staff was very helpful, everything delivered right to your room. The kitchen could have some more cooking items stocked, but when we did not have something the staff brought it over quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank need2travel_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We spent 4 nights here and really enjoyed the resort. While the unit was smaller than we expected, it was excellent overall. Great layout, and the games room provided relief to the youngsters. The kitchen utensils are only adequate, but are OK. A full size cork screw is mandatory, but not provided.

We looked forward to the beautiful hot tubs as the scenery is beautiful. However, each time we returned from skiing, the hot tub looked like a scene from " Cocoon". They were packed, but this was probably due to the fact that it was " Family Day Weekend".

This is a good resort and won't hesitate to come back despite a few minor drawbacks.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c44me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We were upgraded to loft with private hot tub that was amazing as had great views of mountains from the balcony. Staff was very good and helpful with anything. We also got bottle wine that we did not expect. There are trails for hiking within waling distance of resort.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sovicille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We liked it, exactly what we expected... basic condo but well equipped (although we didn't cook any meals, I would say basic kitchenette). Clean, room, great hot tubs and the real reason we stayed here..

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank CA_Ski_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I have stayed at this resort for the last 2 years and I have never ever been dissapointed. I usually get a three bedroom walkout condo, with fireplace, two bathrooms and they even give my little pomeranian a doggy bed and some dog bones! Staff is very attentive, firewood is delivered right to your door, even extra ammenites and a late checkout can be easily arranged.
The other property they own is the Fox Hotel and Suites.....and that is also a very nice resort. I prefer the Hidden Ridge as I travel with my two older kids and my dog. I love the wood fireplace and granite kitchen. Make sure to ask for a newly build condo to get the best of the place!
P.S. There are honeymoon condos with private hot tubs for extra luxury!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CanadaRockiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $110 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing