We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Ab
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love this place !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

This was our second time here and was even better than the first time we stayed. The hottub location is amazing and it was great to have the kids play in the waterfall side.

The rooms were clean and had enough room for our family. Like a previous poster mentioned you could hear the upstairs people (the one above us sounded like he was moving furniture). We also found out they were putting in their own laundramat which is a bonus .. going down the road to Douglas Fir was a pain.

Can't wait for our next trip there !!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joanne_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    601
    233
    105
    45
See reviews for
827
620
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed 5 nights in a suite with a queen bed.

We have appreciated the fully furnished kitchen. In fact, we did not eat at a restaurant for all our stay. The suite was clean, internet very good and the staff very nice and helpful. We will surely try to stay there again if we come back to Banff.

Some special appreciation:

- Free DVD
- Great hot tubs with great view overlooking Banff

On the minus side (but it did not alter our appreciation)

- We heard some noise from the upstair level as we were trying to sleep. It was not a big concern but the insulation could be improved.

- Also, for two, there was a little lack of storage space to remove all our clothes from our baggages.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericetjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We decided on a whim to stay in Banff and found Hidden Ridge Resort online. We stayed here because it wasn't rediculously priced. We loved this place. The pool was so relaxing and had such a beautiful view. All our children (5, 2 and 9 months) could enjoy it. The hotel was clean and quiet. Certainly is a place we'll go back to. Our only regret is that we could not stay there longer. It would be a perfect place to just sit back and relax.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3littlemonkeys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Our stay at this resort was excellent, our accommodations were beautiful and clean. The view from the hot tubs was incredible. Service from staff members was second to none. We recommended this resort to our friends and they had the same experience.Thank you for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaperFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We wanted a nice getaway from the city back in May and needed a place for a group of 5. After reading about the reviews and that they had a cheaper rate due to the construction during that time, we decided to give this place a try.

The parking lot surrouding the place wasn't paved yet when we were there with construction equipments everywhere. Check-in went smoothly, and we got a free upgrade because the rooms that we originally booked were all taken (odd, but free upgrade!). Check-in went pretty smoothly. Our upgraded condo had 2 bedrooms (rather than 1 that we originally booked for), and it was one of those recent renovated ones too.

I agreed with other comments below than the place is smaller than what you see in the photos. Nevertheless, it was good enough for 5 of us to hang out at the place. 2 bedrooms on the main floor, living and dining room on the 2nd, and loft on the 3rd, + 2 full bathrooms.

We slept in the loft area that face the big window in the living room with no curtains. That becomes a problem in the morning because it was so bright in the room. The brightness in the room (good during the day) was more of an issue for us than hearing the train in the middle of the night whcih didn't bother us that much.

An interesting thing that happened in our unit was that there was water leaking from our kitchen ceiling from the bathroom upstairs whenever someone takes a shower. It got even worst in our 2nd night. It was supposed a newly-renovated 2-bdrm unit...a bit shocked from this...but the girl at the front was really nice when we reported it to her, and was very apologetic...it'd have been nice to offer a discount in return for this trouble tho...good thing the water leak was directly above the kitchen sink...otherwise, it would have been bad....

Other than our leaking ceiling...which I'm pretty sure it probably doesn't happen on a normal basis for a new unit. I would still recommend this place to other people. The view was nice by the hot tub. But it is indeed a pretty small one, and we opted for going to the Banff HotSprings instead during our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiedoughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We travel to banff at least 6-8 times a year with stays in either Canmore or Banff.Looking ahead to or annual Christmas trip to Banff we tried the Hidden Ridge . Upon arrival our rate quoted was not what they were willing to give at the time (even though there was a notation on our file). Fine go to the room and frot desk will confirm rate later. There was garbage piles all around the front door,bathroom toiletries half empty, table dirty, no dog bed bowls etc (but they had her name). Again called front desk over came front desk manager she appologized and still 1 hr later no answer to our rate. Carpet was filthy, cigareette burns all over it microwave didn't work , bad odour from fridge (old so was freon smell) exhaust fan light filthy and not working. So needless to say its not getting our 7 day stay at Christmas .Canmore is not far away and accomadations are far superiour for similar or less rates! Staff tried but.....my wife even got us up early on day two as she was so diappointed and wanted only to leave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at Hidden Ridge Resort the last week of June. It was wonderful, the place was clean and inviting. The staff was very accommodating when ever I asked for anything even a tea bag it was at my front door within 5 minutes. The staff was there to make your stay a pleasant and enjoyable one. We stayed in the townhouse that has 4 queen beds I could not get over how large it was. I mentioned to my kids it is a shame that we did not bring more people on vacation with us. We had heard they were remodeling, the only thing we noticed was that the landscape was being changed and spruced up. We also loved that it was not in town but close enough when you needed anything.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixtraveler513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing