We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible rooms, misleading website and snobby staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgay, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible rooms, misleading website and snobby staff.”
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at this hotel so that we could be closer to Sunshine Ski Resort. When we arrived there, it was a disaster, everything was fenced off and under construction, there was no roads, just dirt paths. Our family, however always wanting to keep a positive outlook on things, just brushed it off, hoping to make the best of this trip.
When we checked in the young lady at the desk was not friendly at all, she was half checking us in and half texting her friend at the same time. She gave us the key to our room and rather vague instructions how to get around the construction.
After a few minutes of driving around the work, we found our room. It was a smokey (we asked for non-smoking), small, crampt, dirty thing in the midst of the construction. All we could her was yelling from the construction and machines moving around. We calmly went to the desk and asked if there was another room that we could move to, we even said that we'd pay. She was so rude to us and told us off, and said that we knew that there was construction, and it we didnt like it we shouldn't of come.
When walking back to the room, I stepped in a large staple and had to go get a tetnis shot. We thought the noise would stop at night, but it didn't. None of us slept a wink and we had to move hotels it was so bad.
We will never go back here, there are so many other nice hotels in the banff area that we would have rather visited.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beanie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
Our recent renovation obviously will benefit everyone visiting the resort for years to come but we can only apologize to anyone who stayed and had less than an enjoyable stay during the process. We are now days away from planting the last of our trees and shrubs at the back of the property - it looks fantastic!

I am hopeful that all readers are browsing far enough into the reviews to see that guest service is something we do very well at Hidden Ridge Resort. While at the Resort, you can contact myself, Chris Thorburn, or our Front Office Manager, Pam Fleming, if any of your needs are not being met by what I would describe as a team of professional, courteous and caring front desk agents (I hear guest compliments from my office and read positive reviews from our guest comment cards every day). Please post your own review if you have a pleasant experience because of our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    626
    258
    119
    51
See reviews for
878
648
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I'd lokked on trip advisor about this hotel when we had booked it and some of the reviews seriously worried me. This hotel has had a major renovation and looks amazing only the landscaping needs to be done. We stayed in a room with a hot tub on the balcony and had views overlooking Banff and the mountains, totally amazing!!! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and a credit to the resort! The room was like living in a condo i only wish my house looked like that. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niaihr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2009
Great feedback - thank you. These rooms are quickly becoming one of our most popular - if you're interested in one, request a Jacuzzi King Suites when booking (they do cost a little more, though!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Everyone has been saying that the construction is very bad at the resort. It is not at all. We didn't even notice it. All we noticed was driving into the resort the road wasn't completely paved. But that is not a big deal at all. The construction that was happening did not bother us when we were in our room, our outside in the hot pool; which were great!. Our room was very clean and perfect to make bacon and pancakes. I didn't need to bring any pans for it, as they provided them in our room. If we needed anything else we would jsut call the front desk, and it would be there within a couple of minutes.

Overall our stay was fantastic! Please do not believe what people were saying about the construction, is is almost done and its going to look great! Already does!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
Thanks for the great comments. Anyone reading should check out the great photo of the Hoodoos! Our front desk agents have some great advice on hiking in the area around Hidden Ridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Had very unplesant stay because of the construction. They shold have told us in advance about the construction.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkohei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
In September 2008 (date of this review) we were heavily under construction but are currently paved, all new rooms are fully open and have planted all our new trees; things are starting to look beautiful again. We will be planting shrubs and sod into the last week of June and first week of July - Hooray!

All guests should have been informed about construction and I apologize if any of our booking channels failed to do so. I encourage anyone disappointed with a past stay or with questions about our progress to call us directly - we are happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH HOLLYWOOD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I think the persons complaining about the construction should have went somewhere else. It didn't bother me in the least , as I know the final product is going to be great, hence construction! Overall my experience was good for the price. Request a unit facing highway #1 as the views are awesome. The only beef I had was regarding the bed they advertise to be so great. I found the new beds to be nothing but a glorified boxspring with a mattress pad on top. Only the mattress pad is so thin you sink into the hard bed. Very uncomfortable. They should have just invested in a real pillowtop. Oh yes and the window for the sliding glass door could use some serious cleaning. Other than that everything else was great. Worth the money. Service very good

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VINCENTGARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay - as construction nears completion we are less and less affected by its impact within the resort.

I was sorry to hear about your experience on our bed. I have to conclude that the feather mattress was missing which easily measures 5" thick! I hope someone didn't like it so much that they decided to take it home. Anyone wishing to find out more about our beds can follow this link and you can even find out how to purchase a complete feather mattress/duvet set on our website.

http://www.bestofbanff.com/luxurybed.html
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

The resort is still a full on construction site, please do not be mislead by the website indicating 'renovations', scheduled for completion in Spring 09. Not a chance! I am in the construction business and from what i saw this will be going on all summer at least. it is a disgrace to the wonderful town of Banff to have kept this resort open while this amount of work is going on. Our second morning at the resort iwas woken by a worker drilling in the unit next to us at 6.20am, after being kept awake, and constantly getting our kids back to sleep thanks to the wild party that went on until 4am in the adjoining unit to us. The resort appears to be a mecca for half naked party animals, drinking and cavorting around the hot tub area. if you like wading around in empty beer cans, cement and sawdust then you will be at home at Hidden Ridge. We did talk to the staff at reception who were quite rude, simply quoting the 'renovation' banner on the website, they really didnt seem to care.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Giant70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2009
It is unfortunate when a small group of individuals can be cause for the labelling of an entire resort, but this can be the case with any resort or hotel you may book. Hidden Ridge Resort is a beautiful property in the final stages of a $10million renovation and is ideal for families to get together and has unveiled some of the most romantic rooms (with private outdoor tubs) in Banff. On the occassion that a group is interfering with other guests' enjoyment of the resort, our staff, managers and security personel are equipped to address these situations with professionalism and resolve. We will never condone any behaviour that would offend a family and I encourage any 'party animals' reading this response to book elsewhere; we have built our reputation on guest service and will not waver in our committment to exceed expectations.

Construction will be continuing throughout the month of May with landscaping continuing into June. During this process you can expect disruptions but can also take advantage of some significantly discounted rates! Current information can always be obtained by calling 1-800-661-1372.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort From the 29th of April to the 3rd of May, 2009. We very much enjoyed our stay and would go back. The rooms are nice with a kitchen and a seperate bedroom. I was most impressed by the 2: 32LCD TVs. The hot is amazing. The temperature was comfortable and a veiw was awsome. The staff were always helpful and friendly. The hotel is still be renovated but it was not a big inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadian_couple2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2009
Thank you for your comments - views and comfort are our business. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
953 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
2.5 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing