We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!! Amazing Hot Tub!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort From the 29th of April to the 3rd of May, 2009. We very much enjoyed our stay and would go back. The rooms are nice with a kitchen and a seperate bedroom. I was most impressed by the 2: 32LCD TVs. The hot is amazing. The temperature was comfortable and a veiw was awsome. The staff were always helpful and friendly. The hotel is still be renovated but it was not a big inconvenience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank canadian_couple2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2009

Thank you for your comments - views and comfort are our business. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 2,087 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2009

If you are not 21 and are looking to score in the hot tub then don't bother coming here. There is nothing but drunk, loud, partying people all night. They yell, scream and parade through the resort area like you wouldn't believe. It seems like one will rent the place and then invite up their 20 best friends for the weekend. All day and night there are people coming & going, more alcohol than brains! They call it family & pet friendly but don't bring a child that needs their sleep or a dog that is even slightly protective. Even some of the older crowd gets in on the action...what is wrong with people?

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roxyroller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Despite the fact that this hotel has been under construction for quite some time, and still is, I had a FANTASTIC stay at the Hidden Ridge. The room was to die for - all class, pure luxury AND a hot tub on the balcony overlooking the mountains and the town of Banff. I was not disrupted at all by the construction. The staff were friendly, the new front office area is spotless and extremely modern, and the room itself was incredible. I did not want to leave! I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel. The front desk staff (in particular Ciaran) and the General Manager, Chris, are a pleasure to deal with, are extremely friendly and so hospitable. They made my stay the most enjoyable and hassle-free that I have had! This place is amazing, and will be even more amazing once the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aussieonwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My husband and two teenage sons stayed at this resort for 8 wonderful days of skiing and activities over spring break. We found the office staff to be very helpful. The three story loft was really nice and was a good size. I didn't quite understand that it could sleep up to nine people but only had seating in the living room for 2. The washer and dryer was a godsend so that we could get by with less clothing (no extra fees for baggage) and I didn't have mountains of dirty clothes when I got home. The kitchen was little but worked fine. The refrigerator was also very small but held all that we bought for the week. I'm not real sure which 3rd day the cleaning service actually does a full clean but we got our beds made and new towels so it was fine.
I understand that there is little one can do about construction mess and trying to accommodate all the guests while construction is going on. I personally don't know what the solution is. But the construction muck that found its way onto our clothes, in our car and into the loft was terrible. The noise was no issue at all and the workers were respectful. Parking is truly a nightmare. Even the underground parking when we went is was completely full so we had to do a clumsy 3 point turn and leave...hovering around the parking lot hoping someone would leave.
The hot tub was awesome and to be honest I had a great time. The accommodations were fine and I was well aware of the the construction issues prior to going. It backs up to a park that is lovely and has elk hanging out in it. We saw a coyote an the hoodoos and it was one of the best family vacations we have ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbh4935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I recently stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort and had a great experience. The hotel employees were knowledgeable and friendly from the second I walked in the door. The new Premier King Suites are such a treat. They have everything you need from a girls night to a romantic getaway. From the balcony is a beautiful view of Banff Ave and the Mountains. A private hot tub on the balcony is a great touch for a relaxing evening. In the loft there is a King size bed and a big screen t.v. The main floor has a kitchen, dining area/living room and a big screen t.v. It has wonderful natural lighting and it was quiet during the whole stay. The suite was close to the other hot tubs and everything else was fairly accessible. I would definitely recommend Hidden Ridge!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snowrider25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We have just returned from our ski-ing holiday in Banff, Canada and stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort for Christmas and New Year. I have to say after reading the reviews on this website we were a bit worried as to what we would find. However, the very helpful reservations staff assured us that we would be placed as far away from the rennovations as possible and that there would not be any works taking place during our stay.

On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff, and shown to our 1 bedroom loft apartment. It was a bit tired looking but clean and well eqiuipped, the best part was having 3 very comfortable queen sized beds. As promised we were away from the rennovation project and the location was divine, open countryside to the rear of us with wild elks and coyotes running around and away from the noise of town.

Having a seperate bedroom with it's own flat screen TV and cable was a godsend with our 9 year old daughter.

The only 2 downfalls in our view, were firstly the 200 metre walk, down a dark slippery road (we all went over a couple of times) to the Ski Bus Stop and secondly the Shower. We were told that from next year the hotel was hoping to install a phone at the bus stop, so that you can ring them and they will collect you in one of their little golf buggie's. If they do this and change the shower heads in the rooms the place will be perfect after the rennovations.

Oh and the hot tub is superb, it is designed as a rock pool and overlooks the vally with un-interrupted views of Banff townsite, although a changing room would be nice but expect this will come as it was part of the rennovation project and only just opened.

In conclusion we would not hesitate to stay at this lodge again in the future, it was a great place to un-wind after a long day on the slopes.

Other stuff: the ski-ing is great at Lake Louise and Sunshine, a bit limited at Norquay but this is ok if you only want to do half a day as it is close. If you are travelling with children and need a babysitter for an evening, have a word with the Ski School - we found a great girl who taught the kid's ski-ing, she worked for the Tri Area ski school.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TheRamseysWSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed in a one bedroom loft suite in October. The whole resort was under renovation due to them building more chalets. Due to the construction the place was very dusty. Luckily it was a long weekend so we didnt have to listen to the construction. Parking was limited due to the construction. The hot tub was no longer there due to the renovations and the bbqs were two random bbq on the lawn. The one good thing the hotel offered was for us to use another one of their hotels hot tub. Not walking distance from hidden ridge but a nice gesture

The loft was cleaned but reaked of smoke from the fire, from the tenants before. The plates, cups etc.. were chipped and not very clean.

i was disappointed to see the place under construction and thought that the hotel could have warned us or provided some type of compensation (reduced room rate). I have seen Hidden ridge before the construction earlier in the year and thought it would have been a great place to stay... with so many options in banff i think we will stay somewhere else even after their renos

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Quidodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
995 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,471 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $111 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing