We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place to stay in Banff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Banff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very nice resort on top of a hill above Banff. Chosen based on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The queen room was spacious and well equiped, the only downside is that the room was on the groud floor with car parking right in front so a bit dark. It is such a shame that the resort does not make people park cars away from the rooms but I guess that is cultural...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank px0152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    578
    221
    103
    41
See reviews for
796
600
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biloela, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were looking forward to staying at Banff and Hidden Ridge Resort provided some great accommodation to enjoy this lovely community. Rooms were very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. This would be a great place to stay with children or for a special family gathering. Complete with pool, BBQ, bike hire and so on it would make for a memorable and easy family holiday.
Customer service was exceptional, nothing was a hassle.
Easy parking if you have a vehicle or take advantage of the bus to access down town areas.

Room Tip: Try for an upstairs to get the view of Banff at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a lovely hotel removed from the hustle and bustle of Banff, although still accessible with transit passes or a beautiful 25 min (Downhill) walk into town. The places are spacious and the the pool and facilities are beautiful. Nights are quiet and the beds are really comfortable. Its pretty in the summer, and I would definitely give this place a chance in the winter as well. A great retreat for the family or a group of friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank THartwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Was upgraded to a 4-Queen bed condo, which was plenty of room for 4 adults and 2 kids.
Used the kitchen, which was well-supplied.
The location is a bit remote, but a bus (included) brought you downtown in no time.
Had great service at the reception and from maintenance, as one of our 4 (!) TVs did not work.
The pool and spa were quite warm, with great views.
Kids had access to free freezies.
A booklet of discounts for the city was also given at check-in.
Would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Goulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your kind words and share your happiness in having chosen us for your stay in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Overall a good weeks stay here. We did have a 3 floor condo, so nobody above us, which definitely seemed like a good thing given the other reviews. Accommodation was good sized, generally clean, and the location was great, out of the hustle and bustle of Banff, but with a great (free with passes from reception) regular bus service into town and further.

Pool was OK, though limited, washing machines worked fine, DVD loan was easy. Basically a good stay.

On the negative side - nothing spoiling over overall stay, but things to watch out for if you're looking for them

* Noise late at night, mostly at the weekends. Make a big thing of "quiet time" between 11pm and 7am, but no enforcement
* Dishwasher useless
* Oven couldn't even cook pizzas
* Very wasteful housekeeping
* TV system the slowest I've ever seen - more than 5 minutes to get to the point where you could play a DVD, a minute to change the chanel via the chanel menu
* WiFi patchy at best

All minor points for improvement, rather than reasons not to say.

Room Tip: Pot luck really, but avoid ground floor only condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your week here and thank you for the review. It is very pleasing to see reviews from guests who have such a strong presence on Trip Advisor and those who have stayed for such a long period of time, such as yourself. I'd like to investigate the niggles you had a little further if I could as it may yet be remediated. If you could pass on your room number to me, I'll be sure to follow up! Thanks again, Peter DuBeau, General Manager, pdubeau@bestofbanff.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Six of us stayed here in June 2014. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment. The beds were all queens, 2 were downstairs with their own bathroom, the third was in a loft above the lounge area with its own bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped with a large refrigerator. There was an adjoining dining area and lounge area, where we could all seat comfortably. The resort has thermal pools which were very pleasant. We were able to park outside our apartment. Staff were friendly and helpful. The resort is out of the centre of town, but fine if you have a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KesFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay in our premium two bedroom with loft condo with three queens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My family of six (myself, son and 3 grown granddaughters) stayed at Hidden Ridge during our recent visit to Banff. Staff was very helpful, the condo met all of our needs and the view was incredible. We would definitely return if we happen to be visiting Banff again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for the review and we are happy you enjoyed the condo, the staff and the views with your family. We specialize in family stays and we are glad you were not disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing