We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in Banff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good stay in Banff”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a double cabin with loft, which offered 3 queen beds in total, which was a good solution for us (family of 4). Living room is relatively small and was ok for a three night stay but would have been too small for a longer stay. There is a lack of space for suitcases and little storage for clothes.

The bathroom is very tight and when being shared by 4 persons, does not have enough room for toilet bags etc. The lodge itself is nice but if you look closer, a bit the worse for wear with cobwebs in the higher corners and the ceilings needing a coat of paint.

The location is good as many other reviewers have said – just a short ride from town if you have a car. The shuttle bus is available but we chose for the flexibility of our own car. We also had some disturbance from people outside at night but this is of course not the fault of the resort, but a lack of respect for others by certain guests.

All in all a good accommodation and location when staying in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    607
    237
    109
    46
See reviews for
839
628
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
281 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I must say that the facilities met all our facility needs - the management have clearly thought out the needs of their visitors and done their best to accomodate them. The kitchen was well equiped, staff very helpful, the bikes for rent excellent, the trails around the site very good, BBQ's well maintained, hot tub/pools had a great view and our unit was clean.

The two downsides we see were that:
1) we could hear the people above when they moved about (wooden structure?) and when they used water / flushed the toilet. This was more of an occasional annoyance for others... others might freak out, we tend to roll with things.
2) The unit we had (128) was dark and had no view. Since we were out a lot this wasn't a deal breaker, but next time, we will insist on something with a view. It is likely that the upper units will have both the view and less toilet flushing.

Most importantly would we stay again, absolutely, but now we know what to ask for.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Mr. P, Thank you so much for the review regarding your five night stay at the resort. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. As a quick note, all of the deluxe one bedroom condos have ground level access - in order to guarantee an upper level, the deluxe one bedroom with lofts are all on the upper floor. Feel free to contact us directly and we can go over all the options with you. I would appreciate the opportunity to give you a 5 star stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I were so excited to visit Banff for the first time and we were not disappointed!
The city was beautiful, bustling and definitely a worthwhile tourist destination, so we had high
hopes for HIdden Ridge Resort, situated just outside of the city, proclaiming rustic charm and fabulous vistas. Upon check-in my husband was convinced that we had made a mistake, as the "resort" presented as a trailer park nestled next to worn-down buildings. Alas, it was not a mistake. After figuring out that we had a lower suite, we crawled down the steps, opened the door and whereupon we were greeted by the dank smell of a poorly ventilated and dark basement "suite". Upon further inspection, we found a sad, one-bedroom apartment with an 80's bathroom, a leaking kitchen faucet, general grime and mismatched furniture. The "gorgeous" view, not visible by the lower floor, could be "observed" by two neglected plastic chairs that had seen better days. As we are seasoned travelers, and have visited Whistler many times, we are well-aware of what we could reasonably expect for $250.00 in a resort town, and this wasn't it, especially in the summer time. To be fair, we were offered a top suite upon complaint, but the smell, furniture and general disrepair were simply more visible in the light of the upstairs windows.
We decided to leave when I found a bug on the bed as I was inspecting for critters and the "technician" sent to us to fix the T.V. told us they were in "flux" right now with their
TV's and internet, so yes, there were problems. As we had noted that in spite of Banff's
popularity in the summer, there were many, many other places that advertised vacancies.
We left, not having seen any kind of "fabulous" views and finally being informed that indeed perhaps the pictures we had based our reservation on were the ones of the NEW BUILDINGS. Nice.

Room Tip: Leave, unless you get a room in the "new" area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I am sorry your perspective of the property was so poor and lead to this terrible review. Had you stayed at the resort to appreciate our many complimentary amenities maybe your impression would have improved. Summer is high season in Banff, unlike Whistler and our rates are reflective of this. I am sorry that you found the cost of your room to be incongruous in the rooms that you viewed. We will see many reviews of this fashion before the summer is over as the laws of supply and demand will prove to make Banff a very busy place in summer 2014, and a higher rate has followed. I am sorry you found the deluxe one bedroom condo at the resort poor, sad, dark and smelly. We have several different room types in different styles. It is unfortunate that the room type you booked was not congruous to your expectation in having a view. We have pictures of all room types online in specific categories and we have never associated a view with a one bedroom condo as they are all ground level rooms. The exterior of the room types you viewed (deluxe one bedroom condo and deluxe one bedroom condo with loft) were painted earlier this year. We painted 64 out of 107 units (in the oldest buildings on property). We also put new carpet in 30 rooms and refinished 10 older tubs. You viewed our cable and wireless upgrades as problems. Now that the wireless upgrade is complete, I view it as a hiccup during transition. Neither of them were down for any period of time but there were intermittent issues with some wireless devices disconnecting. For those who plan on traveling in the future, I would recommend that even the savviest traveler contact the hotel directly to make bookings or requests. Be wary of travel agents/booking engines who have never been to Banff or the resort. They certainly do not have as much of a vested interest in ensuring the quality of your stay and their websites seldom provide all the necessary information to make an informed choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hidden Ridge is a very pleasant way to explore Banff National Park. Modest, but extremely clean and friendly. I expected it to be a basic mountain place to stay, but it exceeded my expectations with little touches like free firewood, picnic tables and grills, 24 hour coffee and tea, excellent wi-fi,and bus passes The staff was efficient and helpful every time we went to them with questions or requests. They also left us alone when that was our preference. We checked in after 1 am due to flight problems and were treated graciously. First floor apartment was noisy, but also cooler than second floor. My only request is that adults be given a pool/hot tub time slot without kids allowed and that fans be installed. Our kitchen was well equipped and was a great way to cut down on food expense.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lastreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks for the great review and the kind words regarding our amenities and staff. We are thrilled you enjoyed your mountain stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

If your looking for a great accommodation outside of downtown this is it! Beautiful grounds, amazing trail running and mountain biking right out your door. Arrived and was given a free upgrade upon check in, didn't even need to ask. Amazing views from the pool. Kids loved it. The best part, the resort gives you a free bus pass to get bak and forth to and from downtown. The bus picks you up right at the resort, used this all week!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the review and your kind words. We love hearing that our lodging is GREAT! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the trails around the resort. Trail runners, hikers and mountain bikers take note!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The worst thing about this place was we had a lower floor, and heard every movement from the 2 floors upstairs. If you stay here, get an upper floor. The other complaint, was No Airconditioning. It was summer and very hot in this room. I wouldnt stay here again, but then, Im not a 3 star traveller.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks for the review. I am sorry you didn't have a five star experience at the resort and that you would not return. Although we are 'officially' rated by governing guidebooks as a 3 star, 3 diamond property, we endeavour to provide five star service and amenities. Unfortunately, all of our one bedroom condos with queens are on the lower levels. Could we tempt you back?...in the cooler spring, fall or winter? to an upper level? Let us know and we'd be happy to try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

like all accommodations in banff. almost $300 per night after tax, etc. for a basic 1 bdrm condo with kitchenette. bad smoke smell from the fireplace. nice hot tubs and wildlife right at your door. had a deer within 5 feet of our balcony!

Room Tip: try for 2nd floor so you don't get people walking past your room all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Sorry your stay was only average. Our rates are higher in the summer. We would love to welcome you back in the spring, fall or winter when our rates are lower. I am sure we can give you a 5 star experience, please let us know---the deer are around in other seasons as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,070 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
864 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing