We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Port Lincoln
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We just loved the view from our hot tub on the balcony of our apartment. We overlooked the tree's and could see Banff nestled in the valley between the snow covered mountain peaks.
There is a great outdoor heated pool with a fireplace and a BBQ area and its all overlooking the amazing view.
We would certainly return to this great hotel

Room Tip: The hot tub suites are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsieSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    520
    190
    83
    36
See reviews for
729
545
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We checked in today and were really disappointed with our loft room. For over $300 per night I expected more. There are no drawers in the downstairs bedroom. There's no air-conditioning (and it is quite hot today). The furniture is really old and worn. The bathroom is atrocious with no storage. The shower is over the bath and is so outdated as to be a joke given the price of the room. So the upshot is the three of us can't unpack fully as we have nowhere to store things - unless you want to go upstairs to the children's room where there are 6 drawers. There's handing space downstairs but only bedside tables. The bathroom floor is the only place to put your toiletries bag and other bathroom requirements.

I can't express adequately how disappointed I am in this hotel, with it being our last one in Canada before heading off to New York. The hotel website photos don't show what it really looks like, and the reviewers are not being entirely honest about the rooms. If you like to pay a lot for an old room, then stay here. I'd rather go back to the Sutton Place in Revelstoke which cost the same and was really modern and nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the review and we're sorry you didn't enjoy your night at the resort, checking out after your first night of a three night stay. Frankly, I do not blame for liking the room quality of the Sutton Place in Revelstoke more. Our rates reflect the supply and demand in Banff. Those traveling for off season skiing destinations in Revelstoke are more likely to find comparable rates with a higher quality. This will be a common complaint for us over the course of the summer and you have every right to take your business elsewhere if you are not happy. I wish we could have provided you with a rate or quality that would have more met your expectations and I am sorry you felt deceived by our Internet presence and the hundreds of unbiased positive reviews we have an Trip Advisor, Expedia, Booking.com, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The property is not located right in the town of Banff. It is about 5 minutes away on Tunnel Mountain Road (aka Otter Street). The property also provides passes for the bus which comes by about every 40 minutes. Our room was a three story unit -- two bedrooms (1 queen in each room) on the ground floor. There was also a full bath on the ground floor. The first floor was an open concept kitchen, dining area, sitting area with a door to a small deck. The second floor was a loft bedroom that extend over about half of the 1st floor. The loft had a queen bed and a full bath. The unit was well-appointed and clean. The kitchen has all the needed appliances. We only experienced a couple of (relatively minor) drawbacks. First the loft bedroom might be fine for children but it lacks privacy for adults. It is open to the first floor sitting area but also open to a large window above the sitting area. There are no window coverings for this large window. In our unit there was a direct line of sight from the loft to upstairs bedroom windows in the unit just down the hill. This is related to another issue. Some of the units are "stand-alone" units while others are duplexes but they are all located very close to each other. If you go to bed early or are a light sleeper this can be a problem because you are likely to hear your neighbors coming and going. Finally, it is important to note that those with limited mobility may find it difficult to navigate the stairs in these units.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the view and we are happy to be recognized by you as being a good option for Banff. We agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

very nice room. It was in a block of 1 upper and lower. We could hear the people above us walking around, but no major issue with it. They provided free kindling and firewood for the fireplace. We used the in room kitchen facilities. We parked the car and used the free 3 day pass they supplied. Buses wend downtown every 30 minutes. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chimbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed one night at Hidden Ridge because we could not extend our stay at the Fairmont Banff Springs (hotel was oversold). The Hidden Ridge Manager knew we were transitioning hotels and worked with us to get an early check-in. We were not particularly happy with the first assigned room. Manager then expedited the cleaning of another room. We found all staff members to be most courteous and helpful. After a pleasant stay at a busy and noisy hotel, we found Hidden Ridge to be a nice change. Our upper suite was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. It is a short walk to the Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant. There is a convenience store that is an even shorter walk. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back to Hidden Ridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the review and we're thrilled you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for complementing the management too. We try our best to ensure that all requests are met and we have a heartfelt commitment to guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort with all you need for a very relaxing and comfortable stay. Loved the hot pools and free buses into town. Everyone was so friendly there and would definitely go back. We loved the local hostel as well for a cheeky pint outside in the sun!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for the great review! For future travelers that may not be familiar with the surroundings, the Hidden Ridge is at the end of a dead end road adjacent to a campground. Around 500 feet away, there is a HI hostel which has the closest food and beverage facilities to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The selection when travelling with your pet is not extensive in Banff, and for this Hidden Ridge Resort is a solid option. The room came with its own dog bed and bowls and a laid back attitude which is great. We were in town for the Banff marathon and found having a full kitchen in the room very convenient to keep up with our pre-race routines. What makes this stay average is that the room we stayed in was in a lower level and we could hear the people above us very clearly and well into the night. I don't think our updtairs neighbours were being particularly loud, I just think that the noise insulation is not not that good. Also we found this room overprized, but that's not uncommon in Banff.

Room Tip: Upper level suites are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mekita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing