We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday in the Mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Birthday in the Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I must say the Hidden Ridge Resort far surpassed my expectations.
My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights there this past Feb. I was able to get a midweek discount online which allowed me to pay for a few of the upgrades which made a great impression upon arrival such as: champaign and chocolate covered strawberries, steak dinners from the keg with custom changes due to allergies, s'mores supplies and breakfast items. The keg had forgot to include the baked potatoes so the staff at the resort called the restaurant and had two hot ones delivered before I had finished the steaks on a resort BBQ. And for the mistake they gave us a free bottle of wine.
Our suite was at the back of the resort and we had deer outside the patio doors each day.
The kitchen had everything we needed, firewood for the fireplaces is readily available, and if you are a tall man like myself the shower heads are at a comfortable height.
And if that isn't enough the hot tub and pools have views of the surrounding mountains that you will never forget. If you get bored of all of this you are welcome to borrow a board game or DVD at the front desk.
I highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a place to stay in banff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taurean82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review and great unsolicited pictures you've included. We're thrilled we exceeded your expectations and that you chose to celebrate your birthday with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    597
    229
    104
    44
See reviews for
822
613
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I wouldn't say this place is fantastic we booked for 6 & 1 child and the place was small. The room in the living room was quite cramped. When we went to use the bbq the lid fell right off of it. Our balcony was small and of course we had people staying downstairs from us so you can't make lots of noise. The hottub was too hot we could only be in there for a bit. Don't get me wrong it's cozy but when your with friends it's too cozy and for it being a bit rundown I would have to say it's a bit overpriced. There is a shuttle service that runs every 40 minutes to take you to town and stops at 11:00.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellybia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for the review. We're sorry you found your stay to be on the average side. We strive to provide value for our guests. We need to get the lid to that particular Weber BBQ welded so we've removed it for the work to get done. We have also completed carpet renewal in 30 rooms over the course of the last two months. I can attest to these rooms looking a lot less run down with new carpet. We hope you give us another try. We would love the opportunity to turn an average stay into an excellent one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The staff are friendly and try their best to leave a positive impression. The hot tub and views from it are exceptional. Definitely a selling feature for the resort. Also appreciate the free use of DVD's and having a DVD player in the room. The rooms are good and well maintained even though the exterior front entrance light was burnt out making it difficult to see your way into the room at night. I was very concerned with the lack of snow removal around the resort. There was packed snow and ice in the parking area to our room. No attempt had been made to remove it except to clear the snow along the yellow parking lots lines. No gravel was spread on the road way and they were very icy. This made it an "adventure" to get from our suite to the hot tub area and into our car. I checked other resorts on Tunnel Mtn. Road and noted that they all had cleared road ways and parking areas. Maybe they are more aware of the liability and service concerns when parking areas and sidewalks are left un-attended?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach-bum-bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for the review and your kind words regarding your stay at the resort. I regularly inspect the grounds making note of slippery/troublesome areas and we do have a full time groundskeeper. I was, however, away from the resort from March 1st to 17th and although I can't confirm that my absence was the cause for our lack of attention to certain areas, I do very much apologize for the inconvenience. Mother Nature can get on top of us pretty quickly at times and we would be happy to service any specific area of concern for any guest requests. We would look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with my mum, nana and my sister and her husband for 4 nights in February. The rooms were really comfy and they had a lovely fire in the living room that heated up the place amazingly ( though there are heaters as well).

The kitchen had all the plates etc we needed, the only thing i'd say is that for four people downstairs the bar of soap they give you is tiny, and we didn't get any refills etc before we left. But they cleaned and replenished towels which was good!

It is a short bus trip into town, but we were given bus passes so it was free to go in and out of downtown Banff. It only take maybe 5mins. Just plan your trip though because it comes every 40mins. But taxi is only about $8 plus gratuity.

The hot tub is fabulous, but it was pretty busy.

Overall great hotel suited us perfectly!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sephorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Great location, nice place but very outdated and in need of renovations. We had a top level chalet and paid $300.00 for what I view should be half that.
Stay at the Springs or Rimrock for 250-300 and get all the amenities. This place is ok if you have 8 kids sharing the place on a ski weekend. Best thing about this stay was watching Canada win the gold medal in hockey.
Sorry, it's a 2.5 star at best!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for the review. We feel that we provide a lot of added value with our complimentary bus passes, DVD rentals, parking, wireless internet, local and 1-800 calls, etc. The other hotels you mention in your review charge for all of these amenities. Our rates, however, are generally highest on Saturday nights due to business levels. Although we a regularly evaluated three star property, we feel we provide five star service and fantastic value. Go Canada Go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

As the title indicates, I am thoroughly impressed with the service provided to me here at Hidden Ridge Resort. Having been in the service industry before, I know good service when I see it. The staff here are genuinely friendly and helpful. I came in with a rough itinerary and one front desk clerk enthusiastically helped me filled out the details - a sign that she enjoys her job. The room given to us had all the essentials. We had a stove top, oven, fridge, microwave, toaster, dishwasher, and all the kitchen utensils one can think of. It's truly a home away from home. Heated floor was a nice touch! I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone traveling to the Banff area. It's 5 minutes away from downtown. You also have complimentary access to the hot tub with an amazing view of the mountains. Trust this stranger, you wont regret booking here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bip0larbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your great review and your very kind words regarding our staff. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, take pleasure in helping with itineraries and look forward to helping you and our future guests complete a perfect stay in Banff in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights- 6 adults in a 3 bedroom apartment. It was large and clean- nicely appointed. The staff were helpful and friendly.
We loved :-
-The log fires (and making s'mores) the resort offers free kindling and logs.
-The hot tub- some interesting moments when the tub was full of people but it definitely gets you making friends
-Free bus pass for your stay- convenient tag on and off system and the hidden ridge gives it to u for free
-Great views and next to the park
- Wildlife coming to the balcony (please don't feed them though!)

I would definitely recommend this resort for a family or group getaway! We hope to be back one day.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MazzAdventure13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your great review of the Hidden Ridge. We look forwarding to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing