We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Banff Beauty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Banff Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I have been to this resort twice. Both times we really enjoyed our stay. The last time we went it was our aniversary and we went mid week. We were offered an upgrade to the king jacuzie suite and we took it. It was absolutly lovely. We found the service to be great at this resort. We had an issue with our balcony hot tub and they came and fixed it promptly and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine for our troubles. The fire place is cozy and warm. the kitchenette was great. We didnt find parking an issue but again we did go mid week. The outdoor hot tubs are gorgeous and warm. They give you a bus pass to get you into town which we thought was great so we didnt have to drive!! Its just a really nice place to stay and we will for sure be going back in 2014!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnorkleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    578
    221
    103
    41
See reviews for
796
600
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I booked these chalets for a big family wedding in August. We rented 8 full cabins (2 bedrooms + 1 bedroom loft + 2 balcony + 2 bathrooms + 1 living room with pull out sofa + full kitchen per cabin) for about $400CDN per night. It was an amazing price for the value. On our back porch, there was a full bbq station set up with picnic tables where our family (about 30 people) had breakfast and dinners together. The resort was very accomodating in letting us stay all along the same strip of the 'hotel neighbourhood'. Because the hotel was on the outside of the main town (5 min drive), the hotel provided a shuttle pass for guests to take into town free of charge. They also provided bikes for a $20/day rental which was perfect for those who are into the outdoors activities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Basically the "average" rating sums it up. We chose this place because it had a self-contained kitchenette and a fireplace. We arrived mid-week and although all the units around us were completely empty we were given a ground floor (read underground) unit. The lighting was so dim you couldn't see a thing, and since in winter it's dark for 16 hours of the day this was a bit of an issue for us. The heating was completely over the top and no matter how much we tried to adjust the thermostat we couldn't cool it down. We tried to open the windows which were jammed shut. The sliding door at the back wouldn't slide either and it was an effort to get the door open. The fireplace didn't work - despite having the vent open the unit filled with smoke and then the logs wouldn't take light. I can only guess the chimney was blocked because there didn't seem to be any oxygen getting to the fire. The internet signal in the unit was very weak, we ended up going down to reception to get onto the net. The hair dryer provided in the room shorted out the power and we had to get someone to turn it back on for us.
If I come back to Banff I would probably choose somewhere else over this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ejcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I went with my family to Hidden Ridge for a early season ski and hiking trip and it was GREAT! The hospitality afforded us was truly exceptional. We were travelling with two babies and had two pack and plays waiting in our room. We needed some trail advice and the front office staff showed us countless options using a detailed map that they had on hand. From the delivery of firewood to our door (yes REAL WOOD FIREPLACES!) to the friendly and efficient delivery of several different odds and ends (towels, extra blankets etc.) the staff was courteous and accommodating. Oh and the outdoor hot pools were outsanding as well! I travel quite a bit and I highly recommend Hidden Ridge.

Jonathon K

Room Tip: Plenty of room options check the website for detailed floor plans and request the one that suits you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a great place to stay. Quiet, clean, and love the wood burning fireplace. We paid for an upgrade to a Premier Suite, what a treat this was! 3 bedrooms, 3 floors, 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. I didn’t even know suites like this existed! More space than we needed, but worth it!
Front desk team were very helpful. Asked for a map of downtown as we wanted to hit a couple of pubs. They said “why don’t you leave your car here, you have FREE bus transportation”!!! Umm, ok! Parking is ample, and free too!

Room Tip: Premier Suite!! All the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyArse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

What a fantastic resort!!!
While on a little weekend get away me and a couple friends decided to check out the tangle ridge and our expectations were blown away. We stayed in a 3 bedroom loft with a fully furnished kitchen, 2 bathrooms, a real wood fireplace and a balcony overlooking the mountains.
The real treat were the outdoor hot pools with the unparalled backdrop.
Close enough to the town of banff for all your conveniences but just far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet.
Upon reception we were greeted in a most friendly manner and promptly directed to our room.
I will be returning with my family next time as there is nothing else comparable in the rockies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I'm in Banff usually every other month. Small getaways for business and pleasure. I needed to getaway for work and was looking for a quiet, beautiful place infused with inspiration. Hidden Ridge is truly one of Banff's best. I've stayed at countless resorts and hotels in Banff and can't tell you the last time I enjoyed a stay like I did at the Ridge.

The room was beautiful (I was in the loft, wood burning fireplace which has a spectacular view of the snow crested mountains). Drinking my coffee in the morning with sun shining and soaking in that view was so soul refreshing.

The customer service is, without a doubt, the best I've encountered in Banff. Courteous, professional and goes above and beyond.

The room was immaculate and the extra touches leave with you with the sense that this place has great management and people care about the people staying. The bed was heavenly. I felt refreshed and invigorated leaving despite coming for a "work stay."

I'll be back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing