We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to Hidden Ridge on Oct 25 for a girls weekend. Five of us stayed in a condo with two bedrooms and a loft as well as a pull out couch. We have stayed here before as the same group. We make an annual trip to Banff with this group and have experienced a decrease in quality of the condo each year. This year we tried to get up and make breakfast in a kitchen that didn't even have an egg flipper. Of course we discovered this after the eggs were in the pan. What a nightmare/garbage breakfast. We also had a lot of noise from neighboring units -- not the management's fault but still impacted enjoyment. I personally had the misfortune of getting to sleep on the pullout couch. The room was freezing and the pullout mattress could not have been any less comfortable so I slept very poorly. The second night when I requested extra blankets was better as at least I could sleep. I didn't struggle with cold and discomfort, just discomfort. At the price point, it just doesn't measure up. Next year we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomasTroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

It's a bit out of the way, and backs on to an undeveloped area with walking trails all around. I like the fact it's not smack dab in the middle of town and that one often wakes to a bevy of deer outside the window. For those who don't want to walk or drive into town, the resort provides free passes for a scheduled bus service into town that runs frequently all day into the evening.

The rooms are spacious, and great for those wanting separate bedrooms. The kitchens are well supplied, and the fireplaces (and free chopped wood) are put to good use by all and sundry. They have a lovely pool and hot tub that overlooks the valley with a spectacular view, a laundry room for those with kids, and the staff we found to be friendly and helpful.

This was my third or fourth stay there, and I have enjoyed it every time. It's warm, cozy and comfortable. The only drawback is that many of the units involve climbing stairs into the unit, and again within the unit so if this is a concern, make sure to ask for a unit that doesn't have stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit along the back of the resort facing into the woods--you'll be able to pop out you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved our stay. Beautiful view. Awesome room with wood burning fireplace. Still close to downtown, and the hot tub is amazing. More then what I expected. Excellent customer service. Will definitely stay there again. First choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is one of the few places around Banff we could find which could fit our group of 6 in the one unit. On 3 levels, it is a comfortable and warm apartment just outside Banff township. There is one bathroom between 2 rooms downstairs, and on the top level is another bedroom loft with bathroom. Be prepared to haul your bags up steep stairs! The kitchen is small but usable, and if you need anything the staff are more than happy to provide it. The down side was the lack of storage and hanging space. For me, the beds were too soft but they were warm and comfy. And the best thing is the outdoor hot pool with its magnificent views. We spent lovely evenings basking in its 40 degree waters after a hard day of touring!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel is based out of town near tunnel mountain. Nice loft rooms with open fireplace and unlimited wood. Nice looking outdoor hot pools, we didn't use them as a bachelorette party of girls seemed to be having a noisy time in them. Lucky our room was away from the pools. We were able to purchase supplies and cook meals for a couple of days which was really nice. Only problem which seemed to occur a bit throughout Canada is the trains, but here at Banff they tooted as they went through town, so very hotel would have had the same issue. We just used ear plugs. Overall would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

When we arrived here with full groceries in tote, I expected to have to wash all of the dishes and utensils. Everything was surprisingly clean. We stayed in the loft unit and it was heaven falling asleep with the fire crackling. We did a full tour through Jasper to Edmonton and this was by far our favourite place to stay.

Yes, they have a mattress pillow topper that makes the bed look worn in and used. I found the beds a little hard and used all of the pillows to build myself a sleeping bed fort and that helped substantially.

There is a great view from wherever you are in the resort so don't sweat it too much. Their check in process is quite labourous and time consuming. We paid ahead online and they tried to "upsell" us twice and when I turned it down, they gave it to us anyways. I was very happy with the loft and would spend the extra money the next time. I popped into the main office on our way in one night just to ask for towels while the front desk lady was attempting another upsell, the customer in front of me was being excessively indecisive. After waiting for over ten minutes (I'm too patient and polite for my own good), I excused myself and just asked for the towels. The front desk lady looked quite annoyed that I interrupted her sales pitch. That was my biggest complaint and that is trivial to me. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the loft unit and was happy that we weren't on the ground floor. Spend the extra mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

we stayed there this month 2 families , great place for all families , couples .. fantastic location next to banff and isolated in the woods ,fantastic view from rooms and the great hot tabs in the Hotel ( no need to go hot tabs outside the Hotel) the hotel is maintained first class all look brand new , clean , if you want to make your own meals you have kitchen and gas grill out side with table to seat next to your room .
Staff is great, and I mean all of them .variety of room size yo can get even big apartments for 8 people.
Prices are reasonable one of the best places I have stayed in all my travels around the world .

Room Tip: Ask what are the options they have lot of them , you will might find room that is exactly what you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YORAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and happy you were able to make it to the Canadian Rockies during your many travels around the world. It gives us great satisfaction to know that we are one of the best places you have ever stayed at. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $108 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing