We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Good value'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Skryne, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“'Good value'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a residence which comprised of a room ensuite and a loft with w/c. It was really spacious environment. It was very comfortable. Open fire with fuel supplied for the cool evenings. Not too far from the town. The hot tub has a great view, but it can be busy. We were all very happy, great value for money overall. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HayG_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    601
    233
    105
    45
See reviews for
828
621
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

At first I was a little hesitant about being outside of town, but this turned out to be a really pleasant aspect of our stay. The views from this hotel are absolutely breathtaking. My husband and I both really enjoyed the drive back and forth to the hotel, as it was a great opportunity to spot wildlife like deer and elk.

On the downside, the rooms were a little disappointing. They were really dark with little natural light. While the wood-burning fireplace was a plus initially, it did make the room perpetually smell like a campfire. That got a little old.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjkraimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deary, Id
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights midweek. Property was everything it was represented to be and very convenient for our family. The staff was helpful and friendly. Will stay here again. Great place for a family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Hidden Ridge in September, and thought it was quite lovely. After reading some of the other reviews which recommended the loft rooms instead of the lower one bedroom units (which are supposed to be noisy), we opted for the loft unit even though it was more space than we needed.

I imagine this place could get very noisy on weekends in the summer, however it was very quiet on the weekdays. The cabins are located next to a large campground for tents and RVs, which may also contribute to the noise in the summers, especially if you leave your windows open.

Pros:
- Kitchen is well-stocked
- Room was clean, including the fridge and stove (we stayed in a dog-friendly room, which I imagine probably has a little more wear and tear than a regular room)
- It was quiet (we were there on weekdays only)
- Free bus pass to get in and around Banff centre
- Nice little trails nearby (if you have a dog, this is great for little "potty" breaks)
- Dishwashers in the room make for an easy dish clean-up
- If you don't feel like cooking, there's a convenient delivery service (menus in the room). We ordered pizza and salad from one of the restaurants in Banff, and it was delivered right to our door. They deliver food from several restaurants around Banff, from sushi to Italian to Indian food.
- They have a nice little selection of movies for those rainy days (several kids movies too)
- They don't skimp on the firewood and kindling, so if you need more, just ask

Cons:
- Room didn't have the dog amenities as promised on the website (no bowls, treats or dog bed). We brought our own, so this wasn't a huge deal.
- No air-conditioning (if you leave the balcony sliding door open, this helps cool down the room a lot at night)
- Some of the cooking equipment (pans and trays) were a little sticky and had to be washed
- Parking was nutty when we were there, and it wasn't that busy. I suspect parking could be a nightmare during high season.

A tip about the coffee maker - the little packs are for 4 cups, but the coffee makers are 12 cup, so use three packages of coffee for one full pot.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a loft room, even if it's more space than you need. The cost of the upgrade is minimal if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmm740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just what one could want on a mountain getaway. Great looking resort; spacious and well-equipped cabins surrounded by peaceful wilderness, and still close to downtown Banff. Very professional staff, great attention to detail and all amenities you'd need. Mountain vacations typically involve outdoor activities, and what could be more relaxing than a nice outside jacuzzi with a great view after a tiring day or outdoor fun. Save your $$$ from overpriced hotels and stay at this cabin-based resort with kitchen, fire-place and great wilderness locations (just right - not too segregated from the city, and not too close to lose the peace of a mountain getaway).

We are definitely going back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family was so happy with Hidden Ridge that we cancelled the rest of our trip to stay an extra two nights! Comfortable condos with spectacular views, especially from the pool and hot tub. We also enjoyed stargazing from our patio.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to a loft unit it is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location and views are great, especially in a "hot tub on the deck" unit or from the outdoor pools! Service was wonderful including helping us bring our luggage upstairs when checking in. It's beautiful to be up on the hill and see Trundle Mountain. The drive by the river coming down into town is very scenic or there is a bus stop right there. We have great memories of Banff and staying at Hidden Ridge Resort. We plan to return.. all the way from California!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdwhite622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing