We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden Gem - Hidden Ridge Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - Hidden Ridge Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you're looking for a cosy, comfortable stay in Banff, I would recommend Hidden Ridge Resort. We were given an upgrade at a very reasonable rate - with 5 of us, the 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo was perfect. The shuttle bus is very convenient if you choose to use it. The views are spectacular, the walking and biking trails are great. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunder I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    541
    199
    84
    39
See reviews for
754
555
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First I'd like to say that the staff is very professional, friendly and helpful in every way.

However the units themselves are in terrible shape. I believe this was built in the 70s and it's still in the 70s except for the TVs. The website shows very charming buildings, however that's a very small portion of the property. The good-looking buildings are surrounded by a much older and unattractive buildings All of which have parking spaces in front of them.

Since there's no air conditioning we had to keep the windows open. There are only two windows and one is at the front door. There were three parking spaces that would look directly into our unit ,as they're only 5 feet between the unit and the parking. So any time anyone came or went they were looking right into our unit. Oh yes and this 5 foot space between the front door and the parking spaces was our so-called "deck"

Even worse was the noise from the unit above us. We could hear EVERY footstep, EVERY toilet flush, EVERY EVERYTHING that I cannot mention. The real ICKY factor was the carpet and the curtains. The rest is just old and outdated. The kitchen is minimalist and basic cooking was a challenge. No garbage disposal, hello?

We rent condos every winter for skiing and every summer for hiking (this is just one of 3 this summer) and this by far, the worse ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jogrant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am sorry the resort did not meet your expectations. I can see that you really did not enjoy your stay. This is the worst review we've received since March.
To clarify for our readers, there are 32 buildings on site with a map available online, the 7 oldest buildings which house all of the deluxe one bedroom condos with one queen, all on lower levels from 101-114 were built in 1986. The last extensive renovation of those 7 buildings took place in 2002. We have not neglected those units since 2002. During my two years as general manager, we have replaced the carpet (2012), touched up the millwork (ongoing), replaced all drapes (June 2013) and replaced the shower and sink fixtures (may 2013). We currently do not have any plans to add a garbage disposal/insinkerator style amenity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We liked this laid-back resort, the staff were friendly and helpful, the apartment was nicely laid-out with lovely views, had everything we needed and the free shuttle bus into Banff was very handy. As it is on the outskirt of the town, there is easy access to some great walks, including the Hoodoos in one direction, and along the river valley into Banff in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hidden Ridge was a great place to stay in Banff. We got an upgrade when we arrived, without asking for one, so our condo was larger than expected and very nice. The loft bedroom upstairs had a flat screen TV and a separate bathroom. Downstairs, there were 2 separate bedrooms, a bathroom and a large game room with flat screen TV, etc.. The hotel gives you a Wii machine when you get there and you can check out lots of movies. The staff was very accommodating in all respects. One night, we were unable to sleep because of a loud party going on. Within five minutes of reporting it, the noise completely stopped. I was very impressed with the way it was handled. Since there was no air conditioning, people had their windows open so it could have been a real problem had it not been taken care of promptly. We appreciated the nice furniture, fireplace, kitchen, and overall cleanliness of the condo and whole resort. It was in a good location, not directly in the middle of town, but just a short distance from there. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salgal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A very good, affordable option if you want a self-contained apartment (condo) in Banff. Spacious room, bbq grills to cook on, laundry available to use (though 1 dryer was broken, only 1 working). A little bit out of town, but not too far, just a short drive. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am happy to note that our third party laundry machine provider has fixed this very recent issue with the lower lobby laundry facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a nice option if you want more space. We got a one bedroom with a loft bedroom and 1/2 bath up in the loft. The main bathroom however, was very small and no space to put anything. Had to carry things in an out as we took turns in the shower. Also did not think it was as clean as it could have been. The carpeting was actually filthy as was evident by my slippers and socks that were worn inside. I would never have gone barefoot. The bed linens did seem very clean and fresh. The setting for the resort is very nice and peaceful. I could not get near the hot tub. In the evenings there were so many people in there that it was wall to wall people. Not really relaxing to have to side arm to arm with a bunch of strangers so I did not even get in. One thing I did find a little annoying because I stayed in the upstairs loft was that there are no blinds or window treatments. Being the summer time, the sun stays up late and comes up early. The location is good. Close to Banff. If you are energetic you could walk in to town, but driving it is just a short distance and parking is convenient in the town. One thing to point out about the rooms is that we had a whole half - meaning both upstairs and downstairs because of the size of our family traveling together. One thing the family members staying downstairs said that they could hear us walking all the time and it sounded like thuds. We were not jumping or running around on the second floor, just normal walking so the rooms must not be very soundproof. Overall I would recommend this place as it is in a very pretty setting, convenient and room for a larger family. However, for the price I think it was a little overpriced and needed some deep cleaning especially of the carpeting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvstravling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for the review. We know many of the carpets need to be cleaned but the shampooing makes the carpet too wet to dry in the course of a day and since we have been sold out every night since August 2nd, we haven't been able to give the carpets the attention they deserve. We were able to get some rooms done in July and we will be getting many done in September, as well as our property wide cleaning in the early fall as well. I am sorry this proved to be an inconvenience during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 2 night s here and it was perfect as it was slightly out of Banff itself. The lodge was perfect for us with a view of the mountain. We were able to walk down to Banff for breakfast and use the free bus to get us back up the hill. The hot tub and pool were lovely at the end of the day and the children loved the chipmunk and squirrels that were running around. The staff were very attentive and when we did have an issue they dealt with it quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for the review and the kind words. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing