We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent two nights in a Premier King Jacuzzi suite - a very good start to a roadtrip holiday back to Vancouver. Reception staff were great - helpful and friendly. The free tickets for the Banff shuttle into and around town are a nice extra - just leave the car and no hassle with parking/drinking. View down the valley was first rate, room was good but one weird point no curtains or blinds on the upper large window - if light in the morning bothers you stay in a different style room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steev_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    561
    209
    94
    39
See reviews for
775
577
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I and our 4 year old son stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort in Banff during the week of the flooding in Alberta. The staff here are wonderful. There was minimal flooding in Banff (compared to Calgary) but we were "stuck" in Banff as the highway was closed in both directions due to flooding and mudslides. The resort was quick to inform guests of the situation and advise that if our stay needed to be extended that they would gladly extend us at the same rate we had booked. There was really no hardship being "stuck" here.

About the hotel....we were upgraded upon arrival to a 2 bedroom plus loft. This unit had everything you could need - 4 queen beds and each bedroom area had a flat screen tv, full kitchen with dishwasher, 2 full bathrooms (1 with a washer and dryer!), fireplace and deck. Kitchen area had bar stools and a full table that seated 6. The unit was clean and there were a few stains on the carpet but really that was about it. Maid service was sufficient and we always had plenty of towels. We called the front desk to find out about baking sheets for the oven and laundry soap and these items were delivered to us in less than 5 minutes (really!).

The pool and hot tub area is absolutely beautiful. The views are amazing and so peaceful. Just wished we could have used it more. The free coffee and newspapers in the lobby were great too.

There is a hiking trail just at the back of the resort that does a loop around the campground that is on Tunnel Mountain. We took this trail one night after supper and found a herd of elk (at least 20) just resting off the trail. Breath taking! They were there the next night too.

We have stayed in Banff before and always stayed on Banff Ave and I was a bit concerned with how far away this resort was to town. However, this was all for naught as the drive to town was 3 minutes!
There is also the ROAM bus service which you can get free passes for but we never used it as the rental car was so convenient and parking was never a problem.
This resort is a "hidden" gem and we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saultme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review. I am sure it will help other travelers. I am happy you appreciated being 'stuck' here during the horrendous floods and I hope they didn't impact your travel plans too drastically. If any of our readers are curious, the infrastructure of Banff and the HIdden Ridge was not impacted by the flooding that occurred. We wish everyone who was impacted a speedy recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Beautiful pool and hot tub, surrounded by snow capped mountains... Very clean, comfy beds, room for the entire family.
Great staff, cooking and fire place loved Banff
Loved our stay and we will be back again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LD753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for review. We would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I booked the Hidden Ridge Resort last May to get away from the city for a few days. I took my 8 and 9 year old granddaughters with me. We had a 1 bedroom loft. The loft had 2 queen beds and the bedroom had 1 queen bed. We also had 2 bathrooms. The kitchen has all the basics you need to make quick meals. The dishwasher was an added bonus. We also had a wood burning fireplace. The girls spent a lot of time in the pool. Very relaxing. The scenery cannot be beat overlooking the mountains. Beautiful. The staff here do all they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The reception area has coffee and hot chocolate. We had such a great time, we are going back again in August.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently returned from another wonderful stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. The staff are so friendly and helpful, we were told many times that their main concern is our having a wonderful stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well stocked with anything you should need. We love the wood burning fireplace with the wood provided free, and of course the fantastic hot pool overlooking the valley. There is also a cooler (warm) pool for those that don't like the water hot. The grounds are so well taken care of,such beautiful surroundings. There are also wonderful hiking and biking trails! We will continue to go back to Hidden Ridge for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are happy to have welcomed you back again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
As a further note to you and our future travellers, our staff will always specialize in providing our commitment to provide great visits. Although we had high operational challenges, the recent flooding did not impact us so our grounds and views are just as beautiful today as they were last week. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Although its a hotel complex it gives you the feel of a small town neighborhood. The staff were all excellent. The rooms and the amenities are fantastic. Spectacular views. We absolutely love it and won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkel2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We very much appreciate being noted as your favorite Banff destination as we've got a lot of great competition (ie. Fox). I agree that the resort has the feeling of a small town neigbourhood although there are no permanent residents (other than the wildlife) or time shares. We'll look forward to greeting you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

spent 6 nights here when visiting the banff area. lovely well equipped suites that are modern and roomy. great facilities in the kitchens. free bus provided into town and really helpful staff on the front desk.this was great place to stay and relax at end of holiday. was a bit of mix up with room being cleaned one day but front desk sorted out straight away. would recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a postiive review of your six night stay and although we were able to rectify our housekeeping mixup, we apologize that it occurred in the first place. We were happy to have you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing