We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I and our 4 year old son stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort in Banff during the week of the flooding in Alberta. The staff here are wonderful. There was minimal flooding in Banff (compared to Calgary) but we were "stuck" in Banff as the highway was closed in both directions due to flooding and mudslides. The resort was quick to inform guests of the situation and advise that if our stay needed to be extended that they would gladly extend us at the same rate we had booked. There was really no hardship being "stuck" here.

About the hotel....we were upgraded upon arrival to a 2 bedroom plus loft. This unit had everything you could need - 4 queen beds and each bedroom area had a flat screen tv, full kitchen with dishwasher, 2 full bathrooms (1 with a washer and dryer!), fireplace and deck. Kitchen area had bar stools and a full table that seated 6. The unit was clean and there were a few stains on the carpet but really that was about it. Maid service was sufficient and we always had plenty of towels. We called the front desk to find out about baking sheets for the oven and laundry soap and these items were delivered to us in less than 5 minutes (really!).

The pool and hot tub area is absolutely beautiful. The views are amazing and so peaceful. Just wished we could have used it more. The free coffee and newspapers in the lobby were great too.

There is a hiking trail just at the back of the resort that does a loop around the campground that is on Tunnel Mountain. We took this trail one night after supper and found a herd of elk (at least 20) just resting off the trail. Breath taking! They were there the next night too.

We have stayed in Banff before and always stayed on Banff Ave and I was a bit concerned with how far away this resort was to town. However, this was all for naught as the drive to town was 3 minutes!
There is also the ROAM bus service which you can get free passes for but we never used it as the rental car was so convenient and parking was never a problem.
This resort is a "hidden" gem and we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saultme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review. I am sure it will help other travelers. I am happy you appreciated being 'stuck' here during the horrendous floods and I hope they didn't impact your travel plans too drastically. If any of our readers are curious, the infrastructure of Banff and the HIdden Ridge was not impacted by the flooding that occurred. We wish everyone who was impacted a speedy recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
There are newer reviews for Hidden Ridge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Beautiful pool and hot tub, surrounded by snow capped mountains... Very clean, comfy beds, room for the entire family.
Great staff, cooking and fire place loved Banff
Loved our stay and we will be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LD753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for review. We would love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I booked the Hidden Ridge Resort last May to get away from the city for a few days. I took my 8 and 9 year old granddaughters with me. We had a 1 bedroom loft. The loft had 2 queen beds and the bedroom had 1 queen bed. We also had 2 bathrooms. The kitchen has all the basics you need to make quick meals. The dishwasher was an added bonus. We also had a wood burning fireplace. The girls spent a lot of time in the pool. Very relaxing. The scenery cannot be beat overlooking the mountains. Beautiful. The staff here do all they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The reception area has coffee and hot chocolate. We had such a great time, we are going back again in August.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently returned from another wonderful stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. The staff are so friendly and helpful, we were told many times that their main concern is our having a wonderful stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well stocked with anything you should need. We love the wood burning fireplace with the wood provided free, and of course the fantastic hot pool overlooking the valley. There is also a cooler (warm) pool for those that don't like the water hot. The grounds are so well taken care of,such beautiful surroundings. There are also wonderful hiking and biking trails! We will continue to go back to Hidden Ridge for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are happy to have welcomed you back again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
As a further note to you and our future travellers, our staff will always specialize in providing our commitment to provide great visits. Although we had high operational challenges, the recent flooding did not impact us so our grounds and views are just as beautiful today as they were last week. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Although its a hotel complex it gives you the feel of a small town neighborhood. The staff were all excellent. The rooms and the amenities are fantastic. Spectacular views. We absolutely love it and won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkel2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for the kind words! We very much appreciate being noted as your favorite Banff destination as we've got a lot of great competition (ie. Fox). I agree that the resort has the feeling of a small town neigbourhood although there are no permanent residents (other than the wildlife) or time shares. We'll look forward to greeting you in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

spent 6 nights here when visiting the banff area. lovely well equipped suites that are modern and roomy. great facilities in the kitchens. free bus provided into town and really helpful staff on the front desk.this was great place to stay and relax at end of holiday. was a bit of mix up with room being cleaned one day but front desk sorted out straight away. would recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a postiive review of your six night stay and although we were able to rectify our housekeeping mixup, we apologize that it occurred in the first place. We were happy to have you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed two nights with my kids and thoroughly enjoyed this property. Rooms were spacious enough and very clean. Enjoyed the fireplace (free firewood) and kitchen. I pre- ordered the breakfast groceries and found that cost better than the Safeway in town. Nice pool too, but small.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozdess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you and your kids enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
968 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
2.6 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $146 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing