We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I went to the Canadian Rockies for our 1 year wedding Anniversary and stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort for 2 nights. Our stay was absolutely fabulous. We stayed in the Deluxe One Bedroom with Loft Condo. It was very clean, peaceful, cozy and comfortable. The kitchen had most everything we needed to make a basic breakfast/dinner. Also, the front desk was so helpful with the million questions that we asked. We can't wait to go back and stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    578
    221
    103
    41
See reviews for
796
600
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Overall this is a great place. The staff on check-in were very helpful and friendly. Turned out we shared our stay with a bachelor and a bachelorette group, so the noise level was quite high in the evening. A couple people complained on check-out the next morning, and unfortunately the staff was less than sympathetic. The room was a little dated and could use a reno - carpet, paint, cupboards, etc. Regardless, it was still quite comfortable. Would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMSYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

A nice hotel. we got 50%off special rate of up grade the room. coz we booked the room with 1.5 bath room only at the beginning, so chosen to up grade to 2 full bath room. the room is wonderful with great mountain view. it is also clean and tidy. However the first night, one of the hot water of the shower was not functioning, the staff and supervisor were very helpful, the issue was fixed. And we enjoy the resort very much. We will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonodn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very impressed with how friendly and helpful the staff were. They could not do enough for you. The views were amazing from up here and it was all the little touches that made this resort... Firewood and logs were available free, there was free transportation into the town centre (only a 10 min walk away), bike hire was half the cost of what is charged in town.

The only reason I gave it a 4 and not a 5 is because we had a ground floor lodge and the neighbours upstairs were so noisy that I did not sleep well. The bed sunk slightly in the middle too.

Value for money though I would highly recommend this resort and would suggest you ask for a lodge on the first or second floor. I would certainly come back when we return to banff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wigs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I will personally ensure that our staff is recognized for their contribuation in making your stay more memorable. I am sorry to hear that the quality of your sleep was not as high as it should have been. We strive for perfection and I am sorry to see that we missed the mark here. The two rooms types that are on the ground level are the deluxe one bedroom condo with one queen and the deluxe one bedroom condo with two queens. All other room types have balconies rather than patios and present upper level accomodation. We look forward to welcoming your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Located on a ridge overlooking Banff, Hidden Ridge offers some pretty nice views. The hotel is actually more of a motel style with cabins located along a long driveway. Unfortunately during our stay there were quite a few groups partying hard and making noise through the night so a restful night's sleep was elusive. However the accommodations were clean and well equipped. The kitchenette was fully stocked with dish ware as well as pots and pans. The fire places are wood burning and the hotel provides wood free of charge. The hotel is located a bit out of town so a car is very useful for getting around. The hotel is really best suited to families are groups who want to keep expenses down by doing some of their own cooking.

Room Tip: Try to book an upper suite for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at The Hidden Ridge Resort in Banff. We had a wonderful stay and received really good service from the time we checked in till the day we left. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The rooms have fireplaces and one night we found it quite smokey in our room due to someone else having started a fire in their room which was in the same building. When we called the front desk they advised us to start a fire in our fireplace which alleviated the problem. The hot tub area was very nice and provided an awesome view of the mountains. It was nice to have a kitchenette so we could cook some of our own meals. We were also able to use the BBQ. On the weekend we had some difficulty finding a parking spot but they do have an indoor parkade just across the road. Overall we had a great time and would consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 462Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad you had a great stay!
As a note to future travellers who have parking needs, unlike some Banff hotels who charge exorbitant fees, parking is complimentary. It is, however, unassigned and limited so free parking is not an invitation to drive one vehicle per person to the resort. We request that you reduce your enviromental impact on the national park and on the property by carpooling. Parking is generally busiest on Saturday nights. We recommend the use of our complimentary ROAM transit passes for public transit around the town of Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Hidden Ridge Resort was beautiful - wonderful spacious units with fireplaces. The pool and hot tub were also amazing, with views overlooking the mountains. However, when I booked this room, I admit I was a bit naïve. I assumed people who visited Banff were mostly interested in "getting away from it all", and viewing the mountains and wildlife. Instead, it seems all the locals come here to party. We stayed here on a weekend - we counted three separate bachelorette parties and one family reunion taking place while we were there. The family reunion set up their tables and chairs in front of our unit, which made for a lot of noise, and made it difficult to get in and out. Management offered to move us to another unit, but the other unit was across from a bachelorette party with lots of alcohol and screaming. So we stayed in our original unit, only be awakened at 3AM by the people in the unit above us, screaming obscenities and knocking over furniture. So bottom line - the facility is wonderful, but the clientele is awful. If you want to party, this is the place to be. If want peace and quiet, avoid this place, especially on weekends. Later on this trip, we stayed in town at the Fox Hotel - it is by far a superior choice.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an upper floor unit. The noise from above will keep you awake at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FLtallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and the kind words about our facility. Needless to say, I am sad to see that the weekend clientele at the resort provided you with a poor stay and that your expectations of a quiet weekend were not met. We apologize for this uncommon circumstance. Unfortunately, we are not the only hotel in Banff to suffer from noise related issues due to clientele on the weekend (check the poor reviews for other hotels). It is near impossible to screen all bookings prior to arrival and although I admit that we knew a family reunion would be on site during your stay, we did not know that they were going to set up a get together in one of our outdoor public spaces. I can assure you that we did regular patrols over the course of the entire weekend and proactively and reactively stopped all nuisances in a timely manner. To hear that we made efforts to attend to your need for relaxation and quiet with an offered room move into another noisy area gives me more cause for concern. We do endeavour to room our guests into appropriate areas but we had limitations due to our high occupancy on the weekend. In any event, let me apologize again for the noise of the clientele and I can assure you that if you were to return, we would do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing