We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ package is a great deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“BBQ package is a great deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I came for the third time in two years and once again loved it. We got the BBQ package which was an amazing deal!! When you get to your room (which is a lovely little condo backing out onto the forest) a package from the Keg is waiting for you which included a steak, baked potato, salad, and dessert. All for $75 per person! We really enjoyed cooking our meal outside on the BBQ and then afterwards enjoying the hot pools that provide a great view of the valley and mountains. Great value, great location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madisonthompson_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    525
    192
    83
    37
See reviews for
734
548
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Beautiful and breathtaking place, specially when you woke up in the morning. Outdoor hot tub is relaxing too specially now that it is summer.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom with loft and the room were so nice.
MY ONLY PROBLEM WHEN I STAYED THERE IS THE FRONT DESK AGENT WHO CHECKED US IN AND HIS NAME WAS "Antonio" with Sydney Australia on his name tag.
With the kind of Resort his working with he's attitude towards guest is not acceptable, he was so rude in dealing with guest and not so helpful at all. I hope that with the kind of hotel you have you're staff will be more accomodating specially the front desk agent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rusela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of their Premier King Jacuzzi Suites for a night and it was fantastic!
Check in was seamless. The views from our private hot tub were just breathtaking and it was the perfect place to relax given the weather. Very romantic and ideal for couples.
For those not saying in a jacuzzi suite, they have a public jacuzzi for all hotel guests with fantastic views too.
The room was very neat.
The staff were quite friendly. We couldn't manage to get the fireplace going in our room but a member of the staff very graciously assisted us.
I just have a minor gripe with the amount of chlorine in the hot tub. For a few days after, our skin was very very dry and it needed quite a bit of moisturizer to get back to normal.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travebuff_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean, beautiful, great staff, a nice get away with people who want you to have a nice stay, close to a bus stop to downtown, great views, nice hot tub outside. The wood and ice is included so your not nickel and dimed.
Nice time!

Room Tip: ask for a nice view, if no just walk out your door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allen(Ayan)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hidden ridge resort is tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, and is an amazing place to stay! The rooms are great, and the hot tub overlooks the valley, awesome view! Each room has a fire place, and they provide wood and kindling free of charge. As well, they have a ton of movies you can borrow from the front desk free of charge!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently spent 3 amazing nights at the Banff - Hidden Ridge resort in Canada. Banff in general is immersed in beautiful scenery which would soon run dry my store of vocabulary superlatives attempting to describe it here.

Hotel Pro's and Cons

The hotel (or series of Lodges) is set approximately 1 Mile from Banff town centre. This was at first a potential negative, until we arrived and were quickly pointed in the direction of a walking path which cuts out around 0.5 Mile. A pleasant 15minute stroll takes you into the heart of the town, where you will be greeted by a range of both maisream commercial stores, local gift stores and an array of bars, cafes and diners. It should also be pointed out the hotel has a shuttle bus service free to hotel guests, which runs to all local attractions every 40 mins.

The Hotel unfortunateyl does not have its own restaurant, however my GF and I opted for a Private King jazuzzi Suite, which was equipped with a Full Kitchen, inclusive of Dish Washer, full voen and hob, Kettle, Toaster, Fridege Freezer and the rest.

The Jacuzzi suite looks out onto the Rocky Moutains (aptly named) and offers privacy from both suites either side, so is entirely private. There is a fireplace in the room, complete with instructions for all those non-Bear Gryllians (like me) and the firewood is delivered to your room as frequently as required. Great way of enjoying a warm heat up followig a trip to the Jacuzzi hot tub.

The hotel has multiple external BBQ points, free to use as you require and also boasts a beautfiul external communal jacuzzi whihc faces the Rockys (for anyone who doesnt think the extra expense is merited for the private suite - circa $350 a night).

The staff were excellent, friendly and pleasant and ever informative. The rooms clean and the Bed was one of the most comfortable Ive ever had the pleasure of sleeping in.

Room Tip: The King Jacuzzi Suite is well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this property for a week in a one bedroom room with kitchen (room 112). The hotel is comprised of many buildings, some containing multiple rooms, others such as ours which would seem to be an older block contained 4 rooms, two downstairs (bedroom partially below ground) and two larger loft rooms above. During the seven nights of our stay it was always possible to hear the guests beside and above us despite no interconnecting doors. The sound of "elephants" stomping around above, people talking in the room next door was common place, that said when we went to bed in the evenings this noise never seemed to continue - that will very much depend on your fellow guests. Would recommend an upstairs room if possible, but that will very much depend on your budget and size of your party (the upstairs loft rooms sleep more people). The room itself had a good sized living room, but the bedroom was very small. The room had very little storage, 2 bedside cabinets, small coat rack, and nothing else (aside from kitchen cupboards), the saving grace a narrow ledge that ran around the entire outside edge of the room was extremely useful for storage. Our rooms kitchen was initially lacking oven trays and tongs, but reception found us some. The room was never cold, electric heaters run around the entire outside edge of the room, but if staying in summer there was no AC so rooms could get very warm. Other than the above mentioned inter-room noise the hotel is otherwise in a very quiet location, you will occasionally hear train horns in the valley below. It is not uncommon to see wildlife outside your room. The room had an open fire, they supplied kindling and plenty of wood to burn, but our ability to get the fire to work was not great. Had one good fire working for the length of our stay. This leads to another strange issue, when the rooms are given a quick service (mornings 1 and 2), or full service every third morning the ash is never removed, not a problem to do it yourself, BUT no safe means of disposal - which was a bit weird. The hotel has plenty of parking with both outside and basement car parking provided. There are two underground car parks the smaller of which has a 7' clearance the larger of the two 6' clearance, which is fine for a small SUV such as a Ford Escape, but full size trucks won't fit. At the time of the year we were there (spring) snow melt and snowfall were very well managed with snow and ice cleared as much as possible every day.

The hotel is in a somewhat remote area, not a problem with a car, the hotel does offer a free shuttle service, but we never used this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilmore_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing