We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,230)
Filter reviews
2,230 results
Traveler rating
1,054
676
296
141
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,054
676
296
141
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub full kitchen loft condo free firewood tunnel mountain wood burning fireplace games room downtown banff free bus overlooking the mountains living area family vacation minute drive an upgrade roam bus queen bed close to town
Filter
Updating list...
1,438 - 1,443 of 2,230 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I just spent four nights here (feb1-4/2013)
Nice little get away , we'll equipped kitchens , great wood burning fireplaces and a great view from a King suite with the hot tub on the balcony . We wanted a quiet place to kick back and enjoy each other and do a little dining and clubbing in banff . We took in the spa at the Fairmont hotel , that was a great experience . The staff at hidden ridge were accommodating and didn't bother us at all . The places were clean , but looking a little worn . Thanks to the staff , we enjoyed ourselves .

Room tip: King loft suite was great , but pricey .
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunworshippers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights with our kids and grandkids over Christmas. We rented the 1 deluxe bedroom with loft.We had enough space for all of us ( 5 adults & 2 little kids); however the sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable.The location is excellent with a bus stop at your door step to get you to the centre of Banff and the resort provides a free pass for all the guests for the lenght of your stay. The heated underground garage was very much appreciated. The hot pools are excellent with the best view of the rockies. The service was excellent. We highly recommend this resort however we have to mention that we had an issue with the fireplace. This type of unit is located above another unit and the firplaces are connected which caused us to be smoked in as soon as the people beneat us started their fireplace. The fireplace trap didn't close properly. We were then offered 2 suggestions: either to constantly use the fireplace or to block it completely. We chose to block it. When we checked out we mentioned our disappointment about the fireplace and we were told that they know about the problem which happens when the temperature is very cold. They should try to solve the problem or advise people once they check in to avoid having to open the windows at -25 degrees to get rid of the smoke and the smell.

Room tip: Ask about the fireplace.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinetteandMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words. The fireplace issue is a complex one and not one we encounter often. I can understand how it can impact the quality of your stay. Every unit of the resort has a wood burning fireplace. None of the chimneys are connected though some room types have venting caps in close proximity to one another. Depending on wind, weather and barometric pressure, we can have a room that gets smoky due to fires a neighbouring room is having. Rest assured that we have cleaning done as recommended by the National Fire Protection Association and that we are working on options for prevention of this issue. As recently as last December, we consulted an expert to provide us with possible options. Even the expert is unable to provide a conclusive solution other than refurbishing the entire hotel with gas burning fireplaces, which, based on our guests' appreciation of the rustic and homey nature of having wood burning fireplaces, is unlikely to occur and we have yet to action anything. I encourage you to touch base with me, Peter, before your next stay at the resort and I can elaborate on our progress further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Hidden Ridge with my daughter on a ski trip. Our suite was a one bedroom condo that consisted of a living area with fireplace open to a small kitchen. There were two queen beds in the bedroom.
I had high expectations of Hidden Ridge considering the reviews on trip advisor. Many aspects of Hidden Ridge met or exceeded my hopes while other aspects fell short.

The things that met or exceeded my expectations were:
The location was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of Banff.
The resort was well managed and staff were helpful and friendly.
There are many extras such as the BBQs and fireplace that made things more enjoyable.
We had a deer on our doorstep every morning.
The hot tub is large, hot and had and excellent view.
Value for money.

Things that fell short:
The carpet was worn and looked tattered.
The bed was uncomfortable.
Our room was next to the parking garage and every time the door opened/closed it was noisy.
Our room was at the far end of the resort so it was a long cold walk back from the hot tub.

I suspect we will stay at Hidden Ridge again when we are in Banff.

Room tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby/hot tub. Ask for a room away from the parking garage door.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for the review Stan C, we are happy you decided to stay with us at the HIdden Ridge again and that your stay was better reviewed this time around. Your first review was 'average', your second review was 'very good' and we aim to make your third review 'excellent'! I'd like to note that we are still in a carpet renewal project at the resort and the unit you stayed in is earmarked to have new carpet installed at some point soon. In that particular room type, 8 out of 18 rooms have been completed. We'll be sure to have you in one that has been done next time. Unfortunately, none of the deluxe one bedroom condos with two queen beds (the room type you stayed in this time around) are very close to the hot tub. Our houseman would be happy to offer you rides back to your room with the assistance of one of our trusty golf carts. Thanks again for the review Stan C and we will 'wow' you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Whilst there are many good holiday condos in the Banff area, the staff at Hidden Ridge make this property outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
The rooms are comfortable and the huge hot tub is a plus.
I will be back again!

Room tip: Two floor condos are worth the extra money.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I arrived for a week at Hidden Ridge over Christmas. Check in was nice and smooth and we were given some information about Banff and our free bus pass for the week.
We were in room 107 which was a lower level room that overlooks the valley. The room had a separate bedroom, kitchen and lounge area, more than enough room for the two of us. The bathroom was also a good size. When we arrived there was a supply of kindling and firewood for the fireplace. When we needed more we called into reception on the way in or out and it was delivered to our room.
There were deer that walked around the property which was a real treat to see. We didn't have a car, there is no way we would have driven with all the ice and snow on the roads, we're just not used to those conditions. We used the bus regularly. Only takes about 5 minutes to get in to town and whilst they only come every 40 minutes it never seemed like we had to wait too long we just did a bit of planning as to when we wanted to leave Hidden Ridge or town.
In town we went to Safeway and bought some supplies to cook breakfasts and for a Christmas Day bbq. We needed a pan to cook some eggs in so just went to reception and they gave us one. There was also plenty of equipment to cook on the bbq.
Needless to say it was freezing at this time of year and being from Australia we were not used to these types of temperatures at all. But the scenery was worth it and I'm glad we stayed at Hidden Ridge and not in town as we had plenty of open space to play in the snow and attempt to build a snowman.
The spa and pool area was lovely and the water in the spa was nice and hot. Getting out was the hard part as it was so cold but it was worth it.
There's a nice reception area with a large fire place. They also had coffee and hot chocolate available. We would inside here sometimes when waiting for the bus or a tour shuttle to pick us up so we could stay out of the cold.
The property as a whole is very nice and the service was very good. We would love to return to stay here in the future.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poochie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews