We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect mountain setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Ruislip, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect mountain setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

You can't get better accommodation than The Hidden Ridge in Banff. The outdoor Jacuzzi is the perfect end to a hard days skiing swiftly followed by a dry off in the sauna. The mountain setting is serenely majestic with the added bonus of wild elk roaming right by your doorstep. We were impressed by the lobby staff who were extremely helpful in their endeavours to get us a hire car (Anthony from Oz especially) or extra towels or bus passes. The kitchen facilities in our condo were very good as were the bathrooms and our only small gripe is that the property would have benefitted from an extra sofa so that we could all have sat down after dinner to watch tv rather than 3 on the sofa 1 on an armchair and 1 on a kitchen chair. We highly recommend this wonderful Resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the outdoor jacuzzi because when that wind blows on your wet skin it seems like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    540
    199
    84
    39
See reviews for
753
554
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked the dlx/1bdrm w/loft at the Hidden Ridge Resort for 6 nights during the Xmas holidays for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids ages 11 & 16. I have nothing but positive things to say about this wonderful property. The best was an offer they emailed prior to our stay to rent a Xmas tree for $150. We were able to decorate it with ornaments that were packed neatly into boxes. It made our condo room look even more magical for the holidays. We purchased daily tickets to the ski slopes since the resort had a discount. The hot pools were so relaxing after a long day of skiing. It was very quiet during our stay, although it looked as though the property was full. It was a heavenly stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilaijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We've been going to this resort since before their renovations and we will not be staying anywhere else! With remarkable views from every angle, we always enjoy the hot pools that sit on top of tunnel mountain. The rooms are well taken care of and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Wethere we are going to ski or just relax, Hidden Ridge always meets and exceeds our needs. We are never disappointed with the Hidden Ridge, as their staff are consistently providing IDEAL customer service at any time of year. We are already looking forward to coming back! THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our stay at Hidden Ridge was nothing but exceptional, from the friendly people at the front desk to the beautiful room, and all the amenities they had. I would highly recommend Hidden Ridge to anyone looking for a place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that's not in town, this is the place. The view is fantastic and it's a nice quiet location. It's not too far of a drive into Banff or to other tourist attractions. The front desk staff were very accommodating. They upgraded us to an apartment style room with a full kitchen, for not much more money. The outdoor hot tubs are very nice. We never had any problems with other guests as some of the other reviews had. Don't let their reviews deter you from staying here! That kind of thing can happen anywhere. It's very family friendly. We have a six month old girl and there were no issues. The cleaning staff could learn some lessons in patience though. I've never stayed at a place where they clean while you're in the room, even after we asked them to come back. They could have done the next room first and come back when we had left. Other than that, we had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shoegirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry that the housekeepers interrupted you while you were in the room. On a future stay, I can recommend that you let us know what time you would prefer to have service done in the unit, we are happy to take such requests at the front desk and we can ensure to pass that on to the housekeeping team. We strive for perfect stays! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

What an experience! The staff at the resort are lovely and friendly people willing to go above and beyond the call of duty! The hot pool has an amazing view and the challets are lovely. Thank you team for such an awesome stay xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwi_Gurl0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you fo the review. I regularly go over Trip Advisor reviews with the staff and they'll be very happy to read your kind words! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

There are definitely much better properties in Banff to stay at but this one just happens to have some of the larger units.

I don't blame the service as it was all reasonable, but we stayed in one of the 2 bedroom loft units and the heating in there is horrendous! The rooms are both located on the bottom floor but the temperatures swing wildly.

Room 1: Our room was like a sauna oven because I think we were beside the furnace and we ended up having to open up the window half way through the night to cool down.

Room 2: The other room was like a fridge because it didn't have any vents and our friends had to wear hoodies, extra pants and touqes at night to stay warm.

Loft: The loft area was also an oven because naturally all the hot air rises while the main living area was colder because all the air rose to the top.

We were a group of 30 something professionals celebrating a birthday weekend and I would really not advise groups of 8 to stay here. None of you will sleep very well unless you all enjoy extreme heat or cold. Also, be aware that the front desk will do all in its power to ensure that you aren't throwing any raging parties (which I'm sure could be a problem here). I can't really blame them for it, but come on, don't assume all big groups will be guilty of having ragers until it actually happens. That was something that irked us for sure and I will not be returning to this establishment for that reason. I would not recommend this place for groups unless you are a couple that doesn't mind being outside of the townsite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biomase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing