We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that's not in town, this is the place. The view is fantastic and it's a nice quiet location. It's not too far of a drive into Banff or to other tourist attractions. The front desk staff were very accommodating. They upgraded us to an apartment style room with a full kitchen, for not much more money. The outdoor hot tubs are very nice. We never had any problems with other guests as some of the other reviews had. Don't let their reviews deter you from staying here! That kind of thing can happen anywhere. It's very family friendly. We have a six month old girl and there were no issues. The cleaning staff could learn some lessons in patience though. I've never stayed at a place where they clean while you're in the room, even after we asked them to come back. They could have done the next room first and come back when we had left. Other than that, we had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shoegirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry that the housekeepers interrupted you while you were in the room. On a future stay, I can recommend that you let us know what time you would prefer to have service done in the unit, we are happy to take such requests at the front desk and we can ensure to pass that on to the housekeeping team. We strive for perfect stays! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    560
    208
    94
    39
See reviews for
774
576
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

What an experience! The staff at the resort are lovely and friendly people willing to go above and beyond the call of duty! The hot pool has an amazing view and the challets are lovely. Thank you team for such an awesome stay xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwi_Gurl0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you fo the review. I regularly go over Trip Advisor reviews with the staff and they'll be very happy to read your kind words! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

There are definitely much better properties in Banff to stay at but this one just happens to have some of the larger units.

I don't blame the service as it was all reasonable, but we stayed in one of the 2 bedroom loft units and the heating in there is horrendous! The rooms are both located on the bottom floor but the temperatures swing wildly.

Room 1: Our room was like a sauna oven because I think we were beside the furnace and we ended up having to open up the window half way through the night to cool down.

Room 2: The other room was like a fridge because it didn't have any vents and our friends had to wear hoodies, extra pants and touqes at night to stay warm.

Loft: The loft area was also an oven because naturally all the hot air rises while the main living area was colder because all the air rose to the top.

We were a group of 30 something professionals celebrating a birthday weekend and I would really not advise groups of 8 to stay here. None of you will sleep very well unless you all enjoy extreme heat or cold. Also, be aware that the front desk will do all in its power to ensure that you aren't throwing any raging parties (which I'm sure could be a problem here). I can't really blame them for it, but come on, don't assume all big groups will be guilty of having ragers until it actually happens. That was something that irked us for sure and I will not be returning to this establishment for that reason. I would not recommend this place for groups unless you are a couple that doesn't mind being outside of the townsite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biomase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here late September/early October. By far it was the best holiday we have ever taken. We did not want to leave, which is rare for us... usually we are ready to head back home. But not from here, this felt like home! The fireplace every night, watching movies borrowed from the front desk, the comfy beds and spacious bathroom - everything was wonderful! The staff was incredible. They heard we were here for a late anniversary trip, they came to our room and delivered wine glasses, a bottle of red wine and a card. It was great! We will never have to wonder where to stay in Banff again (we come every year). Thanks Hidden Ridge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krysten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I found it was quite small, and quite high in price. Rooms are average and dated. Free firewood and sauna, pool. Good experience but not my favourite. Would recommend it if you wanted to spend 300$ a night for 4 adults.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Service and amenities are great but if you're only looking for a 1 BR unit, expect to stay in an older ground level unit (no view) without great sound proofing. The larger units looked newer/updated and much nicer.

Room Tip: Choose a larger unit if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife, daughter (6 yrs old) and I stayed Nov 15 for 5 nights and had a wonderful stay. In addition to a spacious 3 level 4 Queen bedded over 3 bedroom unit, the staff were extremely accommodating and nice to experience a resort that was self catering essentially with nicely equipped kitchen and washer/dryer - particularly handy for the ski clothing after long day at Lake Louise slopes.

Added touches that many resorts nickel and dime for - wireless internet, DVD library (huge selection of all categories at front desk), 24/7 coffee/hot chocolate in lobby, firewood for fireplace, newspaper, etc were generously provided free of charge and clearly got the sense the property was more about guest satisfaction then frustratingly charging for these incidental items.

The location while some descriptions had it out of the way, in reality it is a nice 3 min drive and had no problem finding free parking in Banff - if not for snowy conditions would have been a nice walk....really not a big deal at all and nice wooded mountain surroundings, well, who can complain?

Overall the resort was absolutely perfect and very friendly and accommodating staff with late check out and every other small request along the way. Only suggestion might be to have couple more kitchen sponges/paper towels for kitchen and perhaps single use laundry detergent in the units that have washer and dryer. Oh, and perhaps a few more kids books available for loan in lobby...as I learned when we got there the Banff library would not even issue temporary loan or card to non residents which was a little frustrating as families can only carry so many books on long trip and not wanting 6 yr old glued to too much tv/dvd/video games over a 5 nt stay.

It was nice to pick up food and basic groceries to have so we did not have to drag ourselves out after returning from long day of sking and with great fireplace to enjoy...one word of traveler advice - nothing to do with hotel, but found the price of groceries/wines etc at the local supermarket in Banff about 20% higher on exact same items then same brand store in Canmore (on way into Banff) - might recommend worth stopping there if approaching from Calgary to Banff. Premium for being located in National Park perhaps?!

Other than that...again, very well equipped, clean and very comfortable. Highly recommend....and definitely will return!

Room Tip: The 4 bedded three story room was fantastic...we stayed in number 402 and it was absolutely perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing