We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Magnificent view from hot tub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Magnificent view from hot tub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband, 9 year old daughter and I stayed here for about 4 nights in July 2012. The accomodation was okay. Very nice kitchen area fully stocked with pots, pans, cutlery, etc. The "living room" was not great. Uncomfortable couch made it hard to relax and watch tv. Also, the smell of the wood fireplace took a bit getting used to. The positives: a magnificent view of the Rockies from the very nice funky shaped hot tub and pool area. Free DVDs from the front desk. Helpful staff. Grills to cook outside. Some wild singles showed up towards the end of our visit. I would have hated to be stuck next to them. Maybe ask to make sure no bachelor or bachelorette parties will be there.

Room Tip: We stayed on bottom floor. Maybe top floor is sunnier. Don't really know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murrantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    578
    221
    103
    41
See reviews for
796
600
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for only one night in the king suite with private hot tub - booked it as a surprise for my boyfriend and he loved it! It was amazing. Really great. We could cook in, a luxury when you are travelling through hotels, we could relax as long as we wanted in the hot tub without disturbance. We had a beautiful bed. We had a beautiful big wondow which we thought in the evening would be a pain because there were no blinds for it, but in the morning realised it was there to give you a spectacular view of the Rockies as soon as you opened your eyes. The staff were very courteous and helpful and friendly. They had board games and dvds we could borrow from front desk adn on check out i discovered that they had complimentary tickets for a band playing in the local bar Wild Bills. Very very nice stay. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: If you can afford the King Suite with hot tub, go for it. Well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hidden Ridge is a very nice place to stay and relax in the Rockies. Staff and housekeeping are very pleasant and helpful. The room that we stayed in has a very nice wood burning fireplace, a nice kitchenette size and a nice outdoor hot tub out on the balcony with a nice snow covered Mountain view and wildlife. They also have nice steamy warm hotpools to sit in the cold weather. This is a nice place to get away for a weekend for couples and families.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, NB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days. When the check-in they took the time to explain all we had to know about the resort and Banff in general. We had a cosy basement unit, it was not 5 star hotel but a nice ''Chalet'' for 2. Very calm. We had a fridge, oven and dishwasher in our unit. So we where able to make our own food. The unit as also a fire place and the hotel give us firewood and fire kit to start the fire. The Hot pool is wonderful with a nice view. The employes are ready to help us at any time during our stay. We like that they have free movie rental. The only think that we do not like is the parking. You have to take a place anywhere. No parking assigned. So if you don't have a parking near your room, you have to park in the underground parking. - it's not that bad but it's sad that each unit do not have at least one parking for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort and booked the king suite with the private outdoor hot tub and all I can say is WOW! I booked this as a get away for my husband and I for his 40th birthday and although it was pricy it was well worth every penny. The condo itself and the outdoor balcony space was extremely clean and well taken care of. There is a free shuttle that runs every 30 min to and from the hotel to Banff city centre which was very convenient. We stayed here in mid September and it was pretty warm outside and when we arrived we found that the air conditioning didn't work; we notified the front desk and within 10 min maintenance was there to fix it. The condo itself has two flat screen tv's, a kitchenette (the table was set for us), two bathrooms, a wood burning fireplace which we didn't use as it was too hot, and an amazing outdoor space where the hot hub is overlooking the mountains. The balcony has two nice chairs as well to enjoy the views. My favourite part was very early in the morning sitting in the hot tub enjoying our coffee overlooking the mountains taking in that cool mountain air. It was amazing and a memory I will cherish for a very long time. We stayed in room 504 which is the closest suite to the outdoor hot tub/pool facilities for the other guests staying at the resort. Although our space was private I would recommend asking for one of the other private outdoor jacuzzi suites as they would probably be less noisy from the other guests using the general pool facility. I would highly recommend staying here as I know we are are eager to return ourselves.

Room Tip: For the king private hot tub suites I would recommend the ones further away from the general pool fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank traveltime1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am a mother of two small children and rarely get the time away I need. My friend and I were looking for a one night escape but wanted something affordable but with all the modern amenities. We were so blown away from what Hidden Ridge Resort in Banff, Alberta had to offer. It was spacious and clean and they even remembered the little details by having the kitchen table set up for us for any meal we may have made. Our unit was lovely, complete with a balcony (with stunning mountain views), a wood burning fireplace (complimentary wood) and it even had a dishwasher... what Mom want's to do dishes while relaxing? They have two amazing hot pools complete with even more amazing scenery which were very much appreciated after a night on the town. The staff were friendly and accomodating and I love that they give you complimentary bus tickets to get you downtownso you don't have to pay for a taxi. It was an amazingly fun night and as I feel asleep in their super cozy queen bed I said " Were coming here again next week"!!!!

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the main lodge so your close to the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tafline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We are happy that you found the relaxation you were looking for while you were with u and, as noted, we'll hope to see you next week!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkirk, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our family has stayed at Hidden Ridge twice now and had a fantastic experience each time. The wood fireplaces with free firewood provide a cozy atmosphere that goes great with the amazing views. The staff has always been wonderful and very accomodating to the kids going to the lobby repeatedly for hot chocolate. The prices are unbeatable for all you get and the stocked kitchens are great for cooking a few meals rather than eating out always. The beds are very comfy. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing